# YOUR EMPLOYEES AND JURY SERVICE Maryland Laws Protecting Employees Called to Jury Service

Employees who are called to jury service are protected by the law.

## Maryland Code, Court and Judicial Proceedings Article, Sections 8-501 and 8-502

### Section 8-501. Employment loss.

- (a) Prohibited act. -- An employer may not deprive an individual of employment or coerce, intimidate, or threaten to discharge an individual because the individual:
  - (1) Loses employment time in responding to a summons under this title or attending, or being in proximity to, a circuit court for jury service under this title; or
  - (2) Exercises a right to refrain from work under subsection (b) of this section.
- (b) Employer may not require employee to work at certain times on days of jury service. -- An employer may not require an individual who is summoned and appears for jury service for 4 or more hours, including traveling time, to work an employment shift that begins:
  - (1) On or after 5 p.m. on the day of the individual's appearance for jury service; or
  - (2) Before 3 a.m. on the day following the individual's appearance for jury service.
- (c) Penalty. -- A person who violates any provision of this section is subject to a fine not exceeding \$1,000.

#### Section 8-502. Leave

- (a) Prohibited act. -- An employer may not require an employee to use the employee's annual, sick, or vacation leave to respond to a summons under this title for jury service.
- (b) Penalty. -- A person who violates any provision of this section is subject to a fine not exceeding \$1,000.

#### For more information about jury service:

- Read our fact sheet about employees and jury service www.mdcourts.gov/juryservice/pdfs/employersandjuryservice.pdf
- Contact your local Jury Office <a href="https://www.mdcourts.gov/juryservice/juryoffices.html">www.mdcourts.gov/juryservice/juryoffices.html</a>
- Visit the Maryland Judiciary Jury Service website www.mdcourts.gov/juryservice/index.html