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NOTICE TO DEFENDANT

CAREFULLY AND COMPLETELY READ ALL NOTICES ON BOTH THE RETURN TO
COURT AND DEFENDANT’S COPIES OF THE CITATION INCLUDING THE
“IMPORTANT INFORMATION” SECTION ON THE BLUE COPY. THE DEFENDANT'S
COPY IS FOR YOUR RECORDS.

IF THIS CITATION IS MARKED “THIS IS A PAYABLE CITATION” YOU MUST
COMPLY WITH ONE OF THE FOLLOWING OPTIONS WITHIN 30 DAYS AFTER
RECEIPT OF THE CITATION:

(If you pay the fine (Option 1) or enter into a payment plan (Option 2), you agree
to a guilty disposition for the charge.)

1) PAY THE FULL AMOUNT OF THE PRESET FINE, INSTEAD OF APPEARING IN

COURT.

Pay the full amount of the fine at any District Court of Maryland location, or with a credit card

at the Maryland Judiciary Website or by phone (see information at the top of the blue copy of

the citation), or by mail as shown below.

To pay by mail:

o Make your check or money order payable to the DISTRICT COURT OF MARYLAND
within 30 days. Write each citation number on the front of the check or money order.

e Mail your check and the RETURN TO COURT (white) copy of the citation to
the court. If you received more than one citation you may place all citations in
the same envelope. An additional $10 service fee will be imposed for each
dishonored check.

2) REQUEST TO ENTER INTO A PAYMENT PLAN UNDER § 7-504.1 OF THE COURTS
ARTICLE - IF YOU HAVE AT LEAST $150 IN TOTAL OUTSTANDING FINES AND
ARE OTHERWISE QUALIFIED TO ENTER INTO A PAYMENT PLAN.

e Check the “Request to enter into a Payment Plan” box, sign and date below. If
you received more than one citation, sign the statement on each citation.

¢ Return this copy of the citation to the court within 30 days. If you received more
than one citation, you may place all citations in the same envelope.

e DO NOT SEND PAYMENT with your request.

3) REQUEST A WAIVER HEARING REGARDING SENTENCING AND DISPOSITION
INSTEAD OF TRIAL — PLEAD GUILTY WITH AN EXPLANATION.
e Check the “Request a Waiver Hearing” box, sign and date below. If you
received more than one citation, sign the statement on each citation.
o Retum this copy of the citation to the court within 30 days. If you received more than one
citation, you may place all citations in the same envelope.
e DO NOT SEND PAYMENT with your request.
4) REQUEST A TRIAL DATE AT THE DATE, TIME, AND PLACE ESTABLISHED
BY THE DISTRICT COURT BY WRIT OR TRIAL NOTICE.
¢ Check the “Request a Trial” box, sign and date below. You will be mailed a
notice of trial date.
¢ Retum this copy of the citation to the court within 30 days. If you received more than one
citation, you may place all citations in the same envelope.
e DO NOT SEND PAYMENT with your request.
IF YOU FAIL TO COMPLY WITHIN 30 DAYS AFTER RECEIPT OF THIS CITATION,
THE MOTOR VEHICLE ADMINISTRATION WILL BE NOTIFIED AND MAY TAKE
ACTION TO SUSPEND YOUR DRIVER’S LICENSE.
DRIVING ON A SUSPENDED LICENSE IS A CRIMINAL OFFENSE FOR WHICH YOU
COULD BE INCARCERATED.
[0 Request to enter into a Payment Plan (see #2 above): | admit that | committed the
violation charged in this citation and understand | will receive a guilty disposition.
I have at least $150 in total outstanding fines. | am requesting to enter into a payment
plan to satisfy the violation charged in this citation.
If you are qualified, the court will mail the agreement to you or notify you otherwise.
DO NOT SEND PAYMENT with your request.

[0 Request a Waiver Hearing as to disposition (see #3 above): | admit | committed
the violation in this citation and | request a waiver hearing to explain the
circumstances to a judge. | understand this is not a trial, the officer and witnesses
will not be present, and my appearance in court is for sentencing only.

[0 Request a Trial (see #4 above): | request a trial date for the violation charged.
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