Page D-1

1	Maryland Declaration of Rights	
2	Article 25.	
3	That excessive bail ought not to be required, nor excessive fines imposed, nor cruel	
4	or unusual punishment inflicted, by the Courts of Law.	
5	Maryland Constitution	
6	Article IV Judiciary Department	
7	§ 41G.	
8	****	
9	(b) Commissioners may exercise power only with respect to and only as prescribed	
10	by law or rule as to:	
11	(1) Warrants of arrest, or bail or collateral or other terms of pre-trial release	
12	pending hearing, or incarceration pending hearing; and ****	
13	****	
14	Maryland Rules	
15	Title 1. General Provisions	
16	Chapter 100. Applicability and Citation	
17	Rule 1-102.	
18	Unless inconsistent with these rules, circuit and local rules regulating and (5)	
19	appointment of bail bond commissioners and licensing and regulation of bail bondsmen, are	
20	not repealed. No circuit and local rules, other than ones regulating the matters and subjects	
21	listed in this Rule, shall be adopted.	
22	Title 4. Criminal Causes	
23	Chapter 200. Pretrial Procedures	
24	Rule 4-212.	
25	****	
26	(d)	
27	(2) Upon the request to the State's Attorney, the court may order issuance	
	(Compiled: 11/3/03)	

of a warrant for the arrest of the defendant, other than a corporation, if an information has been filed against the defendant and the circuit court or the District Court has made a finding that there is probable cause to believe that the defendant committed the offense charged in the charging document or if an indictment has been filed against the defendant; and (A) the defendant has not been processed and released pursuant to Rule 4-216, or (B) the court finds there is a substantial likelihood that the defendant will not respond to a summons. A copy of the charging document shall be attached to the warrant. Unless the court finds that there is a substantial likelihood that the defendant will not respond to a criminal summons, the court shall not order issuance of a warrant for a defendant who has been processed and released pursuant to Rule 4-216 if the circuit court charging document is based on the same alleged acts or transactions. When the defendant has been processed and released pursuant to Rule 4-216, the issuance of a warrant for violation of conditions of release is governed by Rule 4-217.

(e) Unless the defendant is in custody, a warrant shall be executed by the arrest of the defendant. Unless the warrant and charging document are served at the time of the arrest, the officer shall inform the defendant of the nature of the offense charged and of the fact that a warrant has been issued. A copy of the warrant and charging document shall be served on the defendant promptly after the arrest. The defendant shall be taken before a judicial officer of the District Court without unnecessary delay and in no event later than 24 hours after arrest or, if the warrant so specifies, before a judicial officer of the circuit court without unnecessary delay and in no event later than the next session of court after the date of arrest. The court shall process the defendant pursuant to Rule 4-216 and may make provision for the appearance or waiver of counsel pursuant to Rule 4-215.

- (f) (1) When a defendant is arrested without a warrant, the defendant shall be taken before a judicial officer of the District Court without unnecessary delay and in no event later than 24 hours after arrest. When a charging document is filed in the District Court for the offense for which the defendant is already in custody a warrant or summons need not issue. A copy of the charging document shall be served on the defendant promptly after it is filed, and a return shall be made as for a warrant. When a charging document is filed in the circuit court for an offense for which the defendant is already in custody, a warrant issued pursuant to subsection (d)(2) of this Rule may be lodged as a detainer for the continued detention of the defendant under the jurisdiction of the court in which the charging document is filed. Unless otherwise ordered pursuant to Rule 4-216, the defendant remains subject to conditions of pretrial release imposed by the District Court.
- (2) A warrant issued pursuant to section (d) of this Rule for the arrest of a defendant in custody for another offense may be lodged as a detainer for the continued

8

10

detention of the defendant for the offense charged in the charging document. When the defendant is served with a copy of the charging document and warrant, the defendant shall be taken before a judicial officer of the District Court, or of the circuit court if the warrant so specifies, without unnecessary delay. In the District Court the defendant's appearance shall be no later than 24 hours after service of the warrant, and in the circuit court it shall be no later than the next session of court after the date of service of the warrant.

Rule 4-213.*

(a) When a defendant appears before a judicial officer of the District Court pursuant to an arrest, the judicial officer shall proceed as follows:

- (a) In District Court Following Arrest. When a defendant appears before a judicial officer of the District Court pursuant to an arrest, the judicial officer shall proceed as follows:
- (1) Advice of Charges. The judicial officer shall inform the defendant of each offense with which the defendant is charged and of the allowable penalties, including mandatory penalties, if any, and shall provide the defendant with a copy of the charging document if the defendant does not already have one and one is then available. If one is not then available, the defendant shall be furnished with a copy as soon as possible.
- (2) Advice of Right to Counsel. The judicial officer shall require the defendant to read the notice to defendant required to be printed on charging documents in accordance with Rule 4-202 (a), or shall read the notice to a defendant who is unable for any reason to do so. A copy of the notice shall be furnished to a defendant who has not received a copy of the charging document. The judicial officer shall advise the defendant that if the defendant appears for trial without counsel, the court could determine that the defendant waived counsel and proceed to trial with the defendant unrepresented by counsel.
- (3) Advice of Preliminary Hearing. When a defendant has been charged with a felony that is not within the jurisdiction of the District Court and has not been indicted, the judicial officer shall advise the defendant of the right to have a preliminary hearing by a request made then or within ten days thereafter and that failure to make a timely request will result in the waiver of a preliminary hearing. If the defendant then requests a preliminary hearing, the judicial officer may either set its date and time or notify the defendant that the clerk will do so.
- (4) Pretrial Release. The judicial officer shall comply with Rule 4-216 governing pretrial release.
- (5) Certification by Judicial Officer. The judicial officer shall certify compliance with this section in writing.
- (6) Transfer of Papers by Clerk. As soon as practicable after the initial appearance by the defendant, the judicial officer shall file all papers with the clerk of the District Court or shall direct that they be forwarded to the clerk of the circuit court if the charging document is filed there.

Cross reference: Code, Courts Article, § 10-912. See Rule 4-231 (d) concerning the appearance of a defendant by video conferencing.

- (b) In District Court Following Summons. When a defendant appears before the District Court pursuant to a summons, the court shall proceed in accordance with Rule 4-301.
- (c) In Circuit Court Following Arrest or Summons. The initial appearance of the defendant in circuit court occurs when the defendant (1) is brought before the court by reason of execution of a warrant pursuant to Rule 4-212 (e) or (f) (2), or (2) appears in person or by written notice of counsel in response to a summons. In either case, if the defendant appears without counsel the court shall proceed in accordance with Rule 4-215. If the appearance is by reason of execution of a warrant, the court shall inform the defendant of each offense with which the defendant is charged, ensure that the defendant has a copy of the charging document, and determine eligibility for pretrial release pursuant to Rule 4-216.

^{*}By Order dated November 12, 2003, the Court of Appeals has amended Rule 4-213 to read, effective January 1, 2004, as follows:

- (1) The judicial officer shall inform the defendant of each offense with which the defendant is charged and of the allowable penalties, including mandatory penalties, if any, and shall provide the defendant with a copy of the charging document if the defendant does not already have one and one is then available. If one is not then available, the defendant shall be furnished with a copy as soon as possible.
- (2) The judicial officer shall require the defendant to read the notice to defendant required to be printed on charging documents in accordance with Rule 4-202(a), or shall read the notice to a defendant who is unable for any reason to do so. A copy of the notice shall be furnished to a defendant who has not received a copy of the charging document. The judicial officer shall advise the defendant that if the defendant appears for trial without counsel, the court could determine that the defendant waived counsel and proceed to trial with the defendant unrepresented by counsel.
- (3) The judicial officer shall determine the defendant's eligibility for pretrial release pursuant to Rule 4-216.
- (4) When a defendant has been charged with a felony that is not within the jurisdiction of the District Court and has not been indicted, the judicial officer shall advise the defendant of the right to have a preliminary hearing by a request made then or within ten days thereafter and that failure to make a timely request will result in the waiver of a preliminary hearing. If the defendant then requests a preliminary hearing, the judicial officer may either set its date and time or notify the defendant that the clerk will do so.
 - (5) The judicial officer shall certify compliance with this section in writing.
- (6) As soon as practicable after the initial appearance by the defendant, the judicial officer shall file all papers with the clerk of the District Court or shall direct that they be forwarded to the clerk of the circuit court if the charging document is filed there.
- **Cross references.** Code (1957, 1989 Repl. Vol.), Courts Art., § 10-912. See Rule 4-231(d) concerning the appearance of a defendant by video conferencing.
- (b) When a defendant appears before the District Court pursuant to a summons, the court shall proceed in accordance with Rule 4-301.
- (c) The initial appearance of the defendant in circuit court occurs when the defendant (1) is brought before the court by reason of execution of a warrant pursuant to Rule 4-212(e) or (f)(2), or (2) appears in person or by written notice of counsel in response to a summons. In either case, if the defendant appears without counsel the court shall proceed in accordance with Rule 4-215. If the appearance is by reason of execution of a warrant, the court shall inform the defendant of each offense with which the defendant is charged, ensure that the defendant has a copy of the charging document, and determine eligibility for pretrial release pursuant to Rule 4-216.

Rule 4-214.

1 ****

(b) When counsel is appointed by the Public Defender or by the court, representation extends to all stages in the proceedings, including but not limited to custody, interrogations, preliminary hearing, pretrial motions and hearings, trial, motions for modification or review of sentence or new trial, and appeal. The Public Defender may relieve appointed counsel and substitute new counsel for the defendant without order of court by giving notice of the substitution to the clerk of the court. Representation by the Public Defender's office may not be withdrawn until the appearance of that office has been stricken pursuant to section (c) of this Rule. The representation of appointed counsel does not extend to the filing of subsequent discretionary proceedings including petition for writ of certiorari, petition to expunge records, and petition for post conviction relief.

12 ***

Rule 4-216.*

2

3

4 5

6

7

8

9

10

11

13

*By Order dated November 12, 2003, the Court of Appeals has amended Rule 4-216 to read, effective January 1, 2004, as follows:

Cross reference: See Rule 4-213(a)(4).

- (b) Defendants Eligible for Release by Commissioner or Judge. In accordance with this Rule and Code, Criminal Procedure Article, §§ 5-101 and 5-201 and except as otherwise provided in section (c) of this Rule or by Code, Criminal Procedure Article, §§ 5-201 and 5-202, a defendant is entitled to be released before verdict on personal recognizance or on bail, in either case with or without conditions imposed, unless the judicial officer determines that no condition of release will reasonably ensure (1) the appearance of the defendant as required and (2) the safety of the alleged victim, another person, and the community.
- (c) Defendants Eligible for Release Only by a Judge. A defendant charged with an offense for which the maximum penalty is death or life imprisonment or with an offense listed under Code, Criminal Procedure Article, § 5-202(a), (b), (c), (d), or (e) may not be released by a District Court Commissioner, but may be released before verdict or pending a new trial, if a new trial has been ordered, if a judge determines that all requirements imposed by law have been satisfied and that one or more conditions of release will reasonably ensure (1) the appearance of the defendant as required and (2) the safety of the alleged victim, another person, and the community.
 - (d) Duties of Judicial Officer.
- (1) Consideration of Factors. In determining whether a defendant should be released and the conditions of release, the judicial officer shall take into account the following information, to the extent available:
- (A) the nature and circumstances of the offense charged, the nature of the evidence against the defendant, and the potential sentence upon conviction;
- (B) the defendant's prior record of appearance at court proceedings or flight to avoid prosecution or failure to appear at court proceedings;
- (C) the defendant's family ties, employment status and history, financial resources, reputation, character and mental condition, length of residence in the community, and length of residence in this State;
 - (D) any recommendation of an agency that conducts pretrial release

⁽a) Arrest Without Warrant. If a defendant was arrested without a warrant, the judicial officer shall determine whether there was probable cause for the arrest. If there was probable cause, the judicial officer shall implement the remaining sections of this Rule. If there was no probable cause, the judicial officer shall release the defendant on personal recognizance, with no other conditions of release, and the remaining sections of this Rule are inapplicable.

investigations; (E) any recommendation of the State's Attorney; (F) any information presented by the defendant or defendant's counsel; the danger of the defendant to the alleged victim, another person, or the (G) community; (H) the danger of the defendant to himself or herself; and (I) any other factor bearing on the risk of a wilful failure to appear and the safety of the alleged victim, another person, or the community, including all prior convictions and any prior adjudications of delinquency that occurred within three years of the date the defendant is charged as an adult. Statement of Reasons - When Required. Upon determining to release a defendant to whom section (c) of this Rule applies or to refuse to release a defendant to whom section (b) of this Rule applies, the judicial officer shall state the reasons in writing or on the record. Imposition of Conditions of Release. If the judicial officer determines that the defendant should be released other than on personal recognizance without any additional conditions imposed, the judicial officer shall impose on the defendant the least onerous condition or combination of conditions of release set out in section (e) of this Rule that will reasonably: ensure the appearance of the defendant as required, (A) (B) protect the safety of the alleged victim by ordering the defendant to have no contact with the alleged victim or the alleged victim's premises or place of employment or by other appropriate order, and (C) ensure that the defendant will not pose a danger to another person or to the community. Advice of Conditions; Consequences of Violation; Amount and Terms of Bail. The judicial officer shall advise the defendant in writing or on the record of the conditions of release imposed and of the consequences of a violation of any condition. When bail is required, the judicial officer shall state in writing or on the record the amount and any terms of the bail. Conditions of Release. The conditions of release imposed by a judicial officer under this Rule may include: committing the defendant to the custody of a designated person or organization that agrees to supervise the defendant and assist in ensuring the defendant's appearance in court; placing the defendant under the supervision of a probation officer or other appropriate public official; subjecting the defendant to reasonable restrictions with respect to travel, association, or residence during the period of release; requiring the defendant to post a bail bond complying with Rule 4-217 in an amount and on conditions specified by the judicial officer, including any of the following: without collateral security; with collateral security of the kind specified in Rule 4-217(e)(1)(A) equal (B) in value to the greater of \$100.00 or 10% of the full penalty amount, and if the judicial officer sets bail at \$2500 or less, the judicial officer shall advise the defendant that the defendant may post a bail bond secured by either a corporate surety or a cash deposit of 10% of the full penalty amount; with collateral security of the kind specified in Rule 4-217(e)(1)(A) equal in value to a percentage greater than 10% but less than the full penalty amount; with collateral security of the kind specified in Rule 4-217(e)(1) equal in value to the full penalty amount; or with the obligation of a corporation that is an insurer or other surety in the full penalty amount; subjecting the defendant to any other condition reasonably necessary to: (A) ensure the appearance of the defendant as required,

protect the safety of the alleged victim, and

ensure that the defendant will not pose a danger to another person or to

imposing upon the defendant, for good cause shown, one or more of the conditions

(Compiled: 11/3/03)

the community; and

(B)

(C)

- (a) Pending an initial appearance by the defendant before a judicial officer pursuant to Rule 4-213(a), the defendant may be released upon execution of a bond in an amount and subject to conditions specified in a schedule that may be adopted by the Chief Judge of the District Court for certain offenses. The Chief Judge may authorize designated court personnel or peace officers to release a defendant by reference to the schedule.
- (b) A defendant arrested without a warrant shall be released on personal recognizance under terms that do not significantly restrain the defendant's liberty unless the judicial officer determines that there is probable cause to believe that the defendant committed an offense.

authorized under Code, Criminal Law Article, § 9-304 reasonably necessary to stop or prevent the intimidation of a victim or witness or a violation of Code, Criminal Law Article, § 9-302, 9-303, or 9-305.

Cross reference: See Code, Criminal Procedure Article, § 5-201(b), and Code, Business Occupations and Professions Article, Title 20, concerning private home detention monitoring as a condition of release.

(f) Review of Commissioner's Pretrial Release Order.

(1) Generally. A defendant who is denied pretrial release by a commissioner or who for any reason remains in custody for 24 hours after a commissioner has determined conditions of release pursuant to this Rule shall be presented immediately to the District Court if the court is then in session, or if not, at the next session of the court. The District Court shall review the commissioner's pretrial release determination and take appropriate action. If the defendant will remain in custody after the review, the District Court shall set forth in writing or on the record the reasons for the continued detention.

Cross reference: See Rule 4-231(d) concerning the presence of a defendant by video conferencing.

- (2) Juvenile Defendant. If the defendant is a child whose case is eligible for transfer to the juvenile court pursuant to Code, Criminal Procedure Article, § 4-202(b), the District Court, regardless of whether it has jurisdiction over the offense charged, may order that a study be made of the child, the child's family, or other appropriate matters. The court also may order that the child be held in a secure juvenile facility.
- (g) Continuance of Previous Conditions. When conditions of pretrial release have been previously imposed in the District Court, the conditions continue in the circuit court unless amended or revoked pursuant to section (h) of this Rule.
- (h) Amendment of Pretrial Release Order. After a charging document has been filed, the court, on motion of any party or on its own initiative and after notice and opportunity for hearing, may revoke an order of pretrial release or amend it to impose additional or different conditions of release. If its decision results in the detention of the defendant, the court shall state the reasons for its action in writing or on the record. A judge may alter conditions set by a commissioner or another judge.
- (i) Supervision of Detention Pending Trial. In order to eliminate unnecessary detention, the court shall exercise supervision over the detention of defendants pending trial. It shall require from the sheriff, warden, or other custodial officer a weekly report listing each defendant within its jurisdiction who has been held in custody in excess of seven days pending preliminary hearing, trial, sentencing, or appeal. The report shall give the reason for the detention of each defendant.
- (j) Violation of Condition of Release. A court may issue a bench warrant for the arrest of a defendant charged with a criminal offense who is alleged to have violated a condition of pretrial release. After the defendant is presented before a court, the court may (1) revoke the defendant's pretrial release or (2) continue the defendant's pretrial release with or without conditions.

Cross reference: See Rule 1-361, Execution of Warrants and Body Attachments. See also, Rule 4-347, Proceedings for Revocation of Probation, which preserves the authority of a judge issuing a warrant to set the conditions of release on an alleged violation of probation.

(k) Title 5 Not Applicable. Title 5 of these rules does not apply to proceedings conducted under this Rule.

(c) Except as otherwise provided in section (d) of this Rule or by law, a defendant is entitled to be released before verdict in conformity with this Rule on personal recognizance or with one or more conditions imposed unless the judicial officer determines that no condition of release will reasonably assure (1) the appearance of the defendant as required and (2) the safety of the alleged victim.

Cross references. — See Code, Criminal Procedure Article, § 5-101(c) concerning defendants who may not be released on personal recognizance.

- (d) A defendant charged with an offense for which the maximum penalty is death or life imprisonment or with an offense listed under Code, Criminal Procedure Article, § 5-202(a), (b), (c), (d), or (e) may not be released by a District Court Commissioner, but may be released before verdict or pending a new trial, if a new trial has been ordered, if a judge determines that all requirements imposed by law have been satisfied and that one or more conditions of release will reasonably assure (1) the appearance of the defendant as required and (2) if the defendant is charged with an offense listed under Code, Criminal Procedure Article, § 5-202(b), (c), (d), or (e), that the defendant will not pose a danger to another person or the community while released.
- (e) (1) In determining whether a defendant should be released and the conditions of release, the judicial officer, on the basis of information available or developed in a pretrial release inquiry, may take into account:
- (A) The nature and circumstances of the offense charged, the nature of the evidence against the defendant, and the potential sentence upon conviction, insofar as these factors are relevant to the risk of nonappearance;
- (B) The defendant's prior record of appearance at court proceedings or flight to avoid prosecution or failure to appear at court proceedings;
- (C) The defendant's family ties, employment status and history, financial resources, reputation, character and mental condition, length of residence in the community, and length of residence in this State;
- (D) The recommendation of an agency which conducts pretrial release investigations;
 - (E) The recommendation of the State's Attorney;
 - (F) Information presented by defendant's counsel;
 - (G) The danger of the defendant to another person or to the
- community;
- (H) The danger of the defendant to himself or herself; and
- (I) Any other factor bearing on the risk of a wilful failure to appear, including prior adjudications of delinquency that occurred within three years of the date the defendant is charged as an adult and prior convictions.
 - (2) Upon determining to release a defendant to whom section (d) of this

Rule applies or to refuse to release a defendant to whom section (c) of this Rule applies, the judicial officer shall state the reasons in writing or on the record.

- (3) If the judicial officer determines that the defendant should be released other than on personal recognizance without any additional conditions imposed, the judicial officer shall impose on the defendant the least onerous condition or combination of conditions of release set out in section (f) of this Rule that will reasonably:
 - (A) Assure the appearance of the defendant as required,
- (B) Protect the safety of the alleged victim by ordering the defendant to have no contact with the alleged victim or the alleged victim's premises or place of employment or by other appropriate order, and
- (C) Assure that the defendant will not pose a danger to another person or to the community if the charge against the defendant is an offense listed under Code, Criminal Procedure Article, § 5-202(b), (c), (d), or (e).
- (4) The judicial officer shall advise the defendant in writing or on the record of the conditions of release imposed and of the consequences of a violation of any condition.
- (f) The conditions of release imposed by a judicial officer under this Rule may include:
- (1) Committing the defendant to the custody of a designated person or organization that agrees to supervise the defendant and assist in assuring the defendant's appearance in court;
- (2) Placing the defendant under the supervision of a probation officer or other appropriate public official;
- (3) Subjecting the defendant to reasonable restrictions with respect to travel, association, or residence during the period of release;
- (4) Requiring the defendant to post a bail bond complying with Rule 4-217 in an amount and on conditions specified by the judicial officer including any of the following:
 - (A) without collateral security,
- (B) with collateral security of the kind specified in Rule 4-217(e)(1)(A) equal in value to the greater of \$25.00 or 10% of the full penalty amount, or a larger percentage as may be fixed by the judicial officer,
- (C) with collateral security of the kind specified in Rule 4-217(e)(1) equal in value to the full penalty amount,
- (D) with the obligation of a corporation that is an insurer or other surety in the full penalty amount;
- (5) Subjecting the defendant to any other condition reasonably necessary to:
 - (A) assure the appearance of the defendant as required,

- 1 (B) protect the safety of the alleged victim, and
 - (C) assure that the defendant will not pose a danger to another person or to the community if the charge against the defendant is an offense listed under Code, Criminal Procedure Article, § 5-202(b), (c), (d), or (e);
 - (6) Imposing upon the defendant, for good cause shown, one or more of the conditions authorized under Code, Article 27, § 763 reasonably necessary to stop or prevent the intimidation of a victim or witness or a violation of Code, Article 27 § 26, § 761, or § 762.

Cross references. — See Code, Criminal Procedure Article, § 5-202(b), and Code, Business Occupations and Professions Article, Title 20, concerning private home detention monitoring as a condition of release.

- (g) (1) A defendant who is denied pretrial release by a commissioner or who for any reason remains in custody for 24 hours after a commissioner has determined conditions of release pursuant to this Rule shall be presented immediately to the District Court if the court is then in session, or if not, at the next session of the court. The District Court shall review the commissioner's pretrial release determination and take appropriate action. If the defendant will remain in custody after the review, the District Court shall set forth in writing or on the record the reasons for the continued detention.
- **Cross references.** See Rule 4-231(d) concerning the presence of a defendant by video conferencing.
- (2) If the defendant is a child whose case is eligible for transfer to the juvenile court pursuant to Code, Criminal Procedure Article, § 4-202(b), the District Court, regardless of whether it has jurisdiction over the offense charged, may order that a study be made of the child, the child's family, or other appropriate matters. The court also may order that the child be held in a secure juvenile facility.
- (h) When conditions of pretrial release have been previously imposed in the District Court, the conditions continue in the circuit court unless amended or revoked pursuant to section (i) of this Rule.
- (i) After a charging document has been filed, the court, on motion of any party or on its own initiative and after notice and opportunity for hearing, may revoke an order of pretrial release or amend it to impose additional or different conditions of release. If its decision results in the detention of the defendant, the court shall state the reasons for its action in writing or on the record.
- (j) In order to eliminate unnecessary detention, the court shall exercise supervision over the detention of defendants pending trial. It shall require from the sheriff, warden, or other custodial officer a weekly report listing each defendant within its jurisdiction who has been held in custody in excess of seven days pending preliminary hearing, trial, sentencing, or appeal. The report shall give the reason for the detention of each defendant.
- (k) A court may issue a bench warrant for the arrest of a defendant charged with a criminal offense who violates a condition of pretrial release. After the defendant is presented before a court, the court may (1) revoke the defendant's pretrial release or (2)

continue the defendant's pretrial release with or without conditions.

(l) Title 5 of these rules does not apply to proceedings conducted under this Rule.

Rule 4-217.*

1 2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13 14

15

16

17

18

19 20

21

22

23

24

25

2627

- (a) This Rule applies to all bail bonds taken pursuant to Rule 4-216, and to bonds taken pursuant to Rules 4-267, 4-348, and 4-349 to the extent consistent with those rules.
 - (b) As used in this Rule, the following words have the following meanings:
- (1) "Bail bond" means a written obligation of a defendant, with or without a surety or collateral security, conditioned on the appearance of the defendant as required and providing for the payment of a penalty sum according to its terms.
 - (2) "Bail bondsman" means an authorized agent of a surety insurer.
- (3) "Bail bond commissioner" means any person appointed to administer rules adopted pursuant to Maryland Rule 16-817.

Cross references. — Code, Criminal Procedure Article, § 5-203.

- (4) "Clerk" means the clerk of the court and any deputy or administrative clerk.
- (5) "Collateral security" means any property deposited, pledged, or encumbered to secure the performance of a bail bond.
- (6) "Surety" means a person other than the defendant who, by executing a bail bond, guarantees the appearance of the defendant, and includes an uncompensated or accommodation surety.
- (7) "Surety insurer" means any person in the business of becoming, either directly or through an authorized agent, a surety on a bail bond for compensation.
- (c) Any clerk, District Court commissioner, or other person authorized by law may take a bail bond. The person who takes a bail bond shall deliver it to the court in which the charges are pending, together with all money or other collateral security deposited or pledged and all documents pertaining to the bail bond.

Cross references. — Code, Criminal Procedure Article, §§ 5-204 and 5-205 and Code (1957, 1991 Repl.

By Order dated November 12, 2003, the Court of Appeals has amended Rule 4-217(e)(3) and the cross-reference following (c), to read, effective January 1, 2004, as follows:

⁽c) Authorization to Take Bail Bond. Any clerk, District Court commissioner, or other person authorized by law may take a bail bond. The person who takes a bail bond shall deliver it to the court in which the charges are pending, together with all money or other collateral security deposited or pledged and all documents pertaining to the bail bond.

Cross reference: Code, Criminal Procedure Article, §§ 5-204 and 5-205.

⁽e) Collateral Security.

⁽³⁾ Additional or Different Collateral Security. Upon a finding that the collateral security originally deposited, pledged, or encumbered is insufficient to ensure collection of the penalty sum of the bond, the court, on motion by the State or on its own initiative and after notice and opportunity for hearing, may require additional or different collateral security.

Vol.), Article 87, § 6.

1 2

- (d) (1) The Chief Clerk of the District Court shall maintain a list containing: (A) the names of all surety insurers who are in default, and have been for a period of 60 days or more, in the payment of any bail bond forfeited in any court in the State, (B) the names of all bail bondsmen authorized to write bail bonds in this State, and (C) the limit for any one bond specified in the bail bondsman's general power of attorney on file with the Chief Clerk of the District Court.
- (2) No bail bond shall be accepted if the surety on the bond is on the current list maintained by the Chief Clerk of the District Court of those in default. No bail bond executed by a surety insurer directly may be accepted unless accompanied by an affidavit reciting that the surety insurer is authorized by the Insurance Commissioner of Maryland to write bail bonds in this State.
- (3) No bail bond executed by a bail bondsman may be accepted unless the bondman's name appears on the most recent list maintained by the Chief Clerk of the District Court, the bail bond is within the limit specified in the bondsman's general power of attorney as shown on the list or in a special power of attorney filed with the bond, and the bail bond is accompanied by an affidavit reciting that the bail bondsman:
- (A) is duly licensed in the jurisdiction in which the charges are pending, if that jurisdiction licenses bail bondsmen;
- (B) is authorized to engage the surety insurer as surety on the bail bond pursuant to a valid general or special power of attorney; and
- (C) holds a valid license as an insurance broker or agent in this State, and that the surety insurer is authorized by the Insurance Commissioner of Maryland to write bail bonds in this State.
- **Cross references.** Code, Criminal Procedure Article, § 5-203 and Rule 16-817 (Appointment of Bail Bond Commissioner Licensing and Regulation of Bail Bondsmen).
- (e) (1) A defendant or surety required to give collateral security may satisfy the requirement by:
- (A) depositing with the person who takes the bond the required amount in cash or certified check, or pledging intangible property approved by the court; or
- (B) encumbering one or more parcels of real estate situated in the State of Maryland, owned by the defendant or surety in fee simple absolute, or as chattel real subject to ground rent. No bail bond to be secured by real estate may be taken unless (1) a Declaration of Trust of a specified parcel of real estate, in the form set forth at the end of this Title as Form 4-217.1, is executed before the person who takes the bond and is filed with the bond, or (2) the bond is secured by a Deed of Trust to the State or its agent and the defendant or surety furnishes a verified list of all encumbrances on each parcel of real estate subject to the Deed of Trust in the form required for listing encumbrances in a Declaration of Trust.
 - (2) Collateral security shall be accepted only if the person who takes the bail

bond is satisfied that it is worth the required amount.

- (3) Upon a finding that the collateral security originally deposited, pledged, or encumbered is insufficient to insure collection of the penalty sum of the bond, the court, on motion by the State or on its own initiative and after notice and opportunity for hearing, may require additional or different collateral security.
- (f) The condition of any bail bond taken pursuant to this Rule shall be that the defendant personally appear as required in any court in which the charges are pending, or in which a charging document may be filed based on the same acts or transactions, or to which the action may be transferred, removed, or if from the District Court, appealed, and that the bail bond shall continue in effect until discharged pursuant to section (j) of this Rule.
- (g) Every pretrial bail bond taken shall be in the form of the bail bond set forth at the end of this Title as Form 4-217.2, and shall be executed and acknowledged by the defendant and any surety before the person who takes the bond.
- (h) A surety on a bail bond who has custody of a defendant may procure the discharge of the bail bond at any time before forfeiture by:
- (1) delivery of a copy of the bond and the amount of any premium or fee received for the bond to the court in which the charges are pending or to a commissioner in the county in which the charges are pending who shall thereupon issue an order committing the defendant to the custodian of the jail or detention center; and
- (2) delivery of the defendant and the commitment order to the custodian of the jail or detention center, who shall thereupon issue a receipt for the defendant to the surety.

Unless released on a new bond, the defendant shall be taken forthwith before a judge of the court in which the charges are pending.

On motion of the surety or any person who paid the premium or fee, and after notice and opportunity to be heard, the court may by order award to the surety an allowance for expenses in locating and surrendering the defendant, and refund the balance to the person who paid it.

- (i) (1) If a defendant fails to appear as required, the court shall order forfeiture of the bail bond and issuance of a warrant for the defendant's arrest. The clerk shall promptly notify any surety on the defendant's bond, and the State's Attorney, of the forfeiture of the bond and the issuance of the warrant.
- **Cross references.** Code, Criminal Procedure Article, § 5-211.
- (2) If the defendant or surety can show reasonable grounds for the defendant's failure to appear, notwithstanding Rule 2-535, the court shall (A) strike out the forfeiture in whole or in part; and (B) set aside any judgement entered thereon pursuant to subsection (4)(A) of this section, and (C) order the remission in whole or in part of the penalty sum paid pursuant to subsection (3) of this section.

Cross references. — Code, Criminal Procedure Article, § 5-208(b)(1) and (2) and *Allegany Mut. Cas. Co. v. State*, 234 Md. 278, 199 A.2d 201 (1964).

- (3) Within 90 days from the date the defendant fails to appear, which time the court may extend to 180 days upon good cause shown, a surety shall satisfy any order of forfeiture, either by producing the defendant in court or by paying the penalty sum of the bond. If the defendant is produced within such time by the State, the court shall require the surety to pay the expenses of the State in producing the defendant and shall treat the order of forfeiture satisfied with respect to the remainder of the penalty sum.
- (4) If an order of forfeiture has not been stricken or satisfied within 90 days after the defendant's failure to appear, or within 180 days if the time has been extended, the clerk shall forthwith:
- (A) enter the order of forfeiture as a judgment in favor of the governmental entity that is entitled by statute to receive the forfeiture and against the defendant and surety, if any, for the amount of the penalty sum of the bail bond, with interest from the date of forfeiture and costs including any costs of recording, less any amount that may have been deposited as collateral security; and
- (B) cause the judgment to be recorded and indexed among the civil judgment records of the circuit court of the county; and
- (C) prepare, attest, and deliver or forward to any bail bond commissioner appointed pursuant to Rule 16-817, to the State's Attorney, to the Chief Clerk of the District Court, and to the surety, if any, a true copy of the docket entries in the cause, showing the entry and recording of the judgment against the defendant and surety, if any.

Enforcement of the judgment shall be by the State's Attorney in accordance with those provisions of the rules relating to the enforcement of judgments.

- (5) When the defendant is produced in court after the period allowed under subsection (3) of this section, the surety may apply for the refund of any penalty sum paid in satisfaction of the forfeiture less any expenses permitted by law. If the penalty sum has not been paid, the court, on application of the surety and payment of any expenses permitted by law, shall strike the judgment against the surety entered as a result of the forfeiture.
- (6) (A) If, within the period allowed under subsection (3) of this section, the surety produces evidence and the court finds that the defendant is incarcerated in a penal institution outside this State and that the State's Attorney is unwilling to issue a detainer and subsequently extradite the defendant, the court shall strike out the forfeiture and shall return the bond or collateral security to the surety.
- (B) If, after the expiration of the period allowed under subsection (3) of this section, but within 10 years from the date the bond or collateral was posted, the surety produces evidence and the court finds that the defendant is incarcerated in a penal institution outside this State and that the State's Attorney is unwilling to issue a detainer and

3

4 5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

1516

17 18

19

2021

22

23

24

subsequently extradite the defendant, the court shall (i) strike out the forfeiture; (ii) set aside any judgment thereon; and (iii) order the return of the forfeited bond or collateral or the remission of any penalty sum paid pursuant to subsection (3) of this section.

- (j) (1) The bail bond shall be discharged when:
- (A) all charges to which the bail bond applies have been stetted, unless the bond has been forfeited and 10 years have elapsed since the bond or other security was posted; or
- (B) all charges to which the bail bond applies have been disposed of by a nolle prosequi, dismissal, acquittal, or probation before judgment; or
- (C) the defendant has been sentenced in the District Court and no timely appeal has been taken, or in the circuit court exercising original jurisdiction, or on appeal or transfer from the District Court; or
- (D) the court has revoked the bail bond pursuant to Rule 4-216 or the defendant has been convicted and denied bail pending sentencing; or
- (E) the defendant has been surrendered by the surety pursuant to section (h) of this Rule.

Cross references. — See Code Criminal Procedure Article, § 5-208(d) relating to discharge of a bail bond when the charges are stetted. See also Rule 4-349 pursuant to which the District Court judge may deny release on bond pending appeal or may impose different or greater conditions for release after conviction than were imposed for the pretrial release of the defendant pursuant to Rule 4-216.

(2) Upon the discharge of a bail bond and surrender of the receipt, the clerk shall return any collateral security to the person who deposited or pledged it and shall release any Declaration of Trust that was taken.

Form 4-217.1.*

By Order dated November 12, 2003, the Court of Appeals has amended Form 4-217.1 to read, effective January 1, 2003, as follows: DECLARATION OF TRUST OF REAL ESTATE TO SECURE PERFORMANCE OF A BAIL BOND STATE OF MARYLAND, The undersigned [] Defendant, [] Surety, (Name) of, (Address) in order to secure the performance of the bail bond annexed hereto, being first sworn (or, if Surety is a corporation, its undersigned officer being first sworn), acknowledges and declares under oath as follows: That the undersigned is the sole owner of [] a fee simple absolute, or [] a leasehold subject to an annual ground rent of \$....., in certain land and premises situate in (County) That the undersigned is competent to execute a conveyance of said land and premises; and That the undersigned hereby holds the same in trust to the use and subject to the demand of the State of Maryland as collateral security for the performance of that bond; That the property is assessed for $\dots x.8 = \dots$ from which the following encumbrances should be deducted: Ground rent capitalized at ____% \$..... Mortgages/Deeds of Trust totaling \$.....

(Compiled: 11/3/03)

Federal/State Tax Liens

1	DECLARATION OF TRUST OF REAL ESTATE TO SECURE PERFORMANCE OF		
2	A BAIL BOND		
3	STATE OF MARYLAND,		
4	The undersigned □ Defendant, □Surety, (name)		
5	of (address),		
6	in order to secure the performance of the bail bond annexed hereto, being first sworn (or, if		
7	Surety is a corporation, its undersigned officer being first sworn), acknowledges and declares		
8	under oath as follows:		
9	That the undersigned is the sole owner of \square a fee simple absolute, or \square a leasehold		
10	subject to an annual ground rent of \$, in		
11	certain land and premises situate in (county), Maryland		
12	and described as (lot, block, and subdivision or other legal description).		
13	That the undersigned is competent to execute a conveyance of said land and premises;		
14	and		
15	That the undersigned hereby holds the same in trust to the use and subject to the		
16	demand of the State of Maryland as collateral security for the performance of that bond;		
			
	Mechanics Liens \$		
	Judgment & Other Liens \$		
	Other outstanding Bail Bonds \$ Total Encumbrances \$ \$		
	and that the present net equity in the property is \$		
	*The capitalization rates for ground leases are: (1) 4% for leases executed from April 9, 1884 to April 5, 1888,		
	inclusive; (2) 12% for leases created after July 1, 1982; and (3) 6% for leases created at any other time. See Code, Real Property Article, §8-110.		
	That, if the undersigned is a body corporate, this Declaration of Trust is its act and deed and that its undersigned officer is fully authorized to execute this Declaration of Trust on its behalf.		
	And the undersigned further declares, covenants, and undertakes not to sell, transfer, convey, assign,		
	or encumber the land and premises or any interest therein, so long as the bail bond hereby secured remains		
	undischarged and in full force and effect, without the consent of the court in which the bail bond is filed, it being		
	understood that upon discharge of the bail bond the clerk of the court will execute a release in writing endorsed on the foot of this document (or by a separate Deed of Release), which may be recorded in the same manner and		
	with like effect of a release of mortgage if this Declaration of Trust is recorded among the Land Records.		
	(Seal)		
	(Defendant) or		
	(Seal)		
	(Surety)		
	by		
	SWORN to, signed, sealed, and acknowledged before me this day of (month),		
	(year).		
	Commissioner/Clerk/Judge		
	of the Court for County/City		

1	That said property is assessed for $\$x.8 = 1$	\$ from wh	ich the following
2	encumbrances should be deducted:		
3	Ground rent capitalized at 6%	\$	
4	Mortgages/Deeds of Trust totalling	\$	
5	Federal/State Tax Liens	\$	
6	Mechanics Liens	\$	
7	Judgment & Other Liens	\$	
8	Other outstanding Bail Bonds		
9	Total Encumbrances	\$	\$
10	and that the present net equity in the property is \$		
11	That, if the undersigned is a body corporate, this	Declaration of T	rust is its act and
12	deed and that its undersigned officer is fully authorized to	o execute this De	claration of Trust
13	on its behalf.		
14	And the undersigned further declares, covenants, a	and undertakes no	ot to sell, transfer,
15	convey, assign, or encumber the land and premises or any	interest therein,	so long as the bail
16	bond hereby secured remains undischarged and in full for	rce and effect, wi	thout the consent
17	of the court in which the bail bond is filed, it being underst	tood that upon dis	charge of the bail
18	bond the clerk of the court will execute a release in wr	riting endorsed or	n the foot of this
19	document (or by a separate Deed of Release), which may be	be recorded in the	same manner and
20	with like effect of a release of mortgage if this Declarati	on of Trust is rec	orded among the
21	Land Records.		
22		(D-f11)	(C1)
22		(Derendant)	(Seal)
23	or		
24		(Surety)	(Seal)
		•	,
25	by		
26	CWODN 4	. C	1 C
26	SWORN to, signed, sealed, and acknowledged be		•
27		(montn),	(year).
20		C : : /C	U 1/T 1 C.1
28			~
29	£0.m		
30	for		County/City

1	Form 4-217.2.
2	(Caption)
3	BAIL BOND
4	KNOW ALL PERSONS BY THESE PRESENTS:
5	That I/we, the undersigned, jointly and severally acknowledge that I/we, our personal
6	representatives, successors, and assigns are held and firmly bound unto the State of Maryland
7	in the penalty sum of Dollars (\$)
8	☐ without collateral security;
9	\square with collateral security equal in value to the greater of \$25.00 or % of
10	the penalty sum;
11	□ with collateral security equal in value to the full penalty amount;
12	with the obligation of the corporation which is an insurer or other
13	surety in the full penalty amount.
14	To secure payment the \square defendant \square surety has
15	\square deposited \square in cash or \square by certified check the amount of \$
16	□ pledged the following intangible personal property:
17	
18	encumbered the real estate described in the Declaration of Trust filed
19	herewith, or in a Deed of Trust dated the day of (month), (year),
20	from the undersigned surety to, to the use of the State of Maryland.
21	THE CONDITION OF THIS BOND IS that the defendant personally appear, as
22	required, in any court in which the charges are pending, or in which a charging document
23	may be filed based on the same acts or transactions, or to which the action may be
24	transferred, removed, or, if from the District Court, appealed.
25	IF, however, the defendant fails to perform the foregoing condition, this bond shall
26	be forfeited forthwith for payment of the above penalty sum in accordance with law.
27	IT IS AGREED AND UNDERSTOOD that this bond shall continue in full force
28	and effect until discharged pursuant to Rule 4-217.
29	AND the undersigned surety covenants that the only compensation chargeable in
30	connection with the execution of this bond consisted of a \square fee, \square premium, \square service
31	charge for the loan of money, or other (describe), in
32	the amount of \$
33	AND the undersigned surety covenants that no collateral was or will be deposited,
34	pledged, or encumbered directly or indirectly in favor of the surety in connection with the
35	execution of this bond except:
36	IN WITNESS WHEREOF, these presents have been executed under seal this
37	day of (month), (year).

	Maryland Laws on Bail		Page D-19
1 2	Defendant	(SEAL)	Address of Defendant
3 4	Personal Surety	(SEAL)	Address of Surety
5 6	Surety-Insurer	(SEAL)	Address of Surety-Insurer
7 8	By:	(SEAL) Pow	ver of Attorney No.
9	SIGNED, sealed, and	acknowledged b	efore me:
10 11 12	of the		
13	Rule 4-221.		
4		**:	
15			he preliminary hearing that there is probable
6			an offense, the conditions of pretrial release
17			anged by the court. Promptly after the finding
8	of probable cause by the court, the clerk shall forward to the State's Attorney a written notice of the finding or a copy of the docket entries showing the finding. If the District Court does		
19 20			
21	not find that there is probable cause to believe that the defendant committed an offense, it shall dismiss the charging document and release the defendant. A dismissal pursuant to this		
22	section is without prejudice.		
23		**:	**
24	Rule 4-222.*		

^{*} By order dated November 1,2 2003, the Court of Appeals has amended Rule 4-222b to read, effective January 1, 2004, as follows:

⁽b) Probable Cause Determination. A minor or adult defendant shall be released on personal recognizance, with no other conditions of release, unless the judicial officer determines that there is probable cause to believe that the minor or adult defendant committed the offense described in the juvenile petition.

(a)

10

- 11 12 13 14 15 16
- 202122

18

19

23 24

25

26

27

jurisdiction by a juvenile court shall be taken before a judicial officer of the District Court for a pretrial release hearing pursuant to Rule 4-216 without unnecessary delay and in no event later than 24 hours after the waiver order is entered. The petition alleging delinquency shall serve as the charging document for the purpose of detaining the minor or adult defendant pending the filing of a charging document pursuant to section (d) of this Rule. Cross references. — Code (1957, 1989 Repl. Vol.), Courts Art., § 10-912.

(b) A minor or adult defendant shall be released on personal recognizance under

A minor or an adult defendant who is detained after entry of an order waiving

- (b) A minor or adult defendant shall be released on personal recognizance under terms and conditions that do not significantly restrain the defendant's liberty unless the judicial officer determines that there is probable cause to believe that the minor or adult defendant committed the offense described in the juvenile petition.
- (c) A defendant who is denied pretrial release by a commissioner or who for any reason remains in custody for 24 hours after a commissioner has determined conditions of release pursuant to this Rule shall be presented immediately to the District Court if the court is then in session or, if not, at the next session of the court. The District Court shall review the commissioner's pretrial release determination and shall take appropriate action thereon. If the minor or adult defendant will remain in custody after the review, the District Court shall set forth in writing or on the record the reasons for the continued detention.
- (d) Within ten days after the entry of the waiver order, a charging document shall be filed in the District Court or in the circuit court charging the minor or adult defendant with the offense described in the juvenile petition. If not so filed, the minor or adult defendant shall be released without prejudice from all conditions of pretrial release.

Rule 4-231.*

(d) In the District Court, if the Chief Judge of the District Court has approved the use of video conferencing in the county, a judicial officer may conduct an initial appearance under Rule 4-213(a) or a review of the commissioner's pretrial release determination under

^{*}By order dated November 1,2 2003, the Court of Appeals has amended Rule 4-231(d) to read, effective January 1, 2004, as follows:

⁽d) Video Conferencing in District Court. In the District Court, if the Chief Judge of the District Court has approved the use of video conferencing in the county, a judicial officer may conduct an initial appearance under Rule 4-213 (a) or a review of the commissioner's pretrial release determination under Rule 4-216(f) with the defendant and the judicial officer at different locations, provided that:

⁽¹⁾ the video conferencing procedure and technology are approved by the Chief Judge of the District Court for use in the county;

⁽²⁾ immediately after the proceeding, all documents that are not a part of the District Court file and that would be a part of the file if the proceeding had been conducted face-to-face shall be electronically transmitted or hand-delivered to the District Court; and

⁽³⁾ if the initial appearance under Rule 4-213 is conducted by video conferencing, the review under Rule 4-216(f) shall not be conducted by video conferencing.

- Rule 4-216(g) with the defendant and the judicial officer at different locations. provided that:
 - the video conferencing procedure and technology are approved by the (1) Chief Judge of the District Court for use in the county;
 - immediately after the proceeding, all documents that are not a part of the District Court file and that would be a part of the file if the proceeding had been conducted face-to-face shall be electronically transmitted or hand-delivered to the District Court; and
 - (3) if the initial appearance under Rule 4-213 is conducted by video conferencing, the review under Rule 4-216(g) shall not be conducted by video conferencing.

Rule 4-247.

10 11

1 2

3

4

5 6

7

8

9

12

13

14

15 16

17

20

21

22

23

24 25

26

27

28 29

30

32

33

34

35

When nolle prosequi has been entered on a charge, any conditions of pretrial release on that charge are terminated, and any bail bond posted for the defendant on that charge shall be released. The clerk shall take the action necessary to recall or revoke any outstanding warrant or detainer that could lead to the arrest or detention of the defendant because of that charge.

Rule 4-251.

18

19 (c)

> If the court grants a motion to transfer jurisdiction of an action to the (2) juvenile court, the court shall enter a written order waiving its jurisdiction and ordering that the defendant be subject to the jurisdiction and procedures of the juvenile court. In its order the court shall (A) release or continue the pretrial release of the defendant, subject to appropriate conditions reasonably necessary to ensure the appearance of the defendant in the juvenile court or (B) place the defendant in detention or shelter care pursuant to Code, Courts Article, § 3-815. Until a juvenile petition is filed, the charged document shall be considered a juvenile petition for the purpose of imposition and enforcement of conditions of release or placement of the defendant in detention or shelter care.

Rule 4-252.

31 ***

Cross references. – Code, Criminal Procedure Article, § 4-202.

If the court granted a motion based on a defect in the institution of the (h) (1) prosecution or in the charging document, it may order that the defendant be held in custody or that the conditions of pretrial release continue for a specified time, not to exceed ten days, pending the filing of a new charging document.

1 ****

(3) If the court grants a motion to transfer jurisdiction of an action to the juvenile court, the court shall enter a written order waiving its jurisdiction and ordering that the defendant be subject to the jurisdiction and procedures of the juvenile court. In its order the court shall (A) release or continue the pretrial release of the defendant, subject to appropriate conditions reasonably necessary to ensure the appearance of the defendant in the juvenile court or (B) place the defendant in detention or shelter care pursuant to Code, Court Article, § 3-815. Until a juvenile petition is filed, the charging document shall have the effect of a juvenile petition for the purpose of imposition and enforcement of conditions of release or placement of the defendant in detention or shelter care.

Cross references. — Code, Criminal Procedure Article, § 4-202.

Rule 4-267.

- (a) When a peace officer takes a person into custody as a material witness without an order of court for attachment, the person shall be taken promptly before a judicial officer in the county in which the action is pending or where the witness is taken into custody. If the judicial officer determines, after a hearing, that (1) the testimony of the witness is material in a criminal proceeding, and (2) it may become impracticable to secure the witness' attendance by subpoena, the judicial officer shall set a reasonable bond to ensure the attendance of the witness at the hearing or trial when required. A witness who is unable to post the prescribed bond shall be committed to jail. After seven days a detained witness shall be released unless, prior thereto, the court, after hearing, orders further detention pursuant to an application filed in accordance with this Rule.
- (b) Upon application filed by a party in accordance with this Rule, the court may order the issuance of a body attachment of a witness and require the witness to post a bond in an amount fixed by the court to ensure attendance if the court is satisfied that (1) the testimony of the witness is material in a criminal proceeding, and (2) it may become impracticable to secure the witness' attendance by subpoena. The sheriff or peace officer shall execute a body attachment by taking the witness into custody and forthwith before a judicial officer in the county where the action is pending or where the witness is taken into custody to post bond. A witness who is unable to post the prescribed bond shall be committed to jail. Within three days after the witness is taken into custody, the court shall hold a hearing with respect to any matter contained in the application or to the conditions of release imposed on the witness.
- (c) The court may order that the testimony of a material witness who is in custody be taken by deposition and may release the witness after its completion.
- (d) The condition of a bond posted pursuant to this Rule shall be that the witness personally appear as required to give evidence in any court (1) in which charges are pending

- against a named defendant in a particular criminal action, or (2) in which a charging document may be filed based on the same acts or transactions, or (3) to which the action may be transferred or removed; and that the bond shall continue in effect until discharged by the court having jurisdiction of the action.
- An application for continued detention under section (a) of this Rule or for a body attachment under section (b) of this Rule shall be verified and shall contain the following:
 - The name and present address of the witness; (1)
- The designation of the action for which the testimony of the witness is (2) required;
- A summary of the information or testimony of which the moving party (3) believes the witness has knowledge;
 - The materiality of the expected testimony of the witness; **(4)**
- The reason for requiring a bond or incarceration to ensure the attendance (5) of the witness.
- **Cross references.** Code (1957, 1989 Repl. Vol.), Courts Art., § 9-203.

Chapter 300. Trial and Sentencing

Rule 4-347.

18 19

1

2

3

4 5

6 7

8

9

10 11

12

13

14

15 16

17

20

21

22

23

24

26

27

28

29

30

31

32

33

34

(c) Unless the judge who issues the warrant sets conditions of release or expressly denies bail, a defendant arrested upon a warrant shall be taken before a judicial officer of the District Court without unnecessary delay or, if the warrant so specifies, before a judge of the District Court or circuit court for the purpose of determining the defendant's eligibility for release.

**** 25

Chapter 400. Post Conviction Procedure

Rule 4-407.

- (a) The judge shall prepare and file or dictate into the record a statement setting forth separately each ground upon which the petition is based, the federal and state rights involved, the court's ruling with respect to each ground, and the reasons for the action taken thereon. If dictated into the record, the statement shall be promptly transcribed.
- The statement shall include or be accompanied by an order either granting or denying relief. If the order is in favor of the petitioner, the court may provide for rearraignment, retrial, custody, bail, discharge, correction of sentence, or other matters that

Page D-24

1	may be necessary and proper.
2	****
3	Title 5. Evidence
4	Chapter 100. General Provisions
5	Rule 5-101.
6	(a) Except as otherwise provided by statute or rule, the rules in this Title apply to
7	all actions and proceedings in the courts of this State.
8	(b) The rules in this Title other than those relating to the competency of witnesses
9	do not apply to the following proceedings:
10	****
11	(6) Pretrial release under Rule 4-216 or release after conviction under Rule
12	4-349;
13	****
14	(11) Detention and shelter care hearings under Rule 11-112; and
15	(12) Any other proceeding in which, prior to the adoption of the rules in this
16	Title, the court was traditionally not bound by the common-law rules of evidence.
17	****
18	Title 8. Appellate Review in the Court of Appeals and Court of Special Appeals
19	Chapter 200. Obtaining Review in Court of Special Appeals
20	Rule 8-204.
21	(a) This Rule applies to applications for leave to appeal to the Court of Special
22	Appeals.
23	Cross references. — For Code provisions governing applications for leave to appeal, see Courts Article, §
24	3-707 concerning bail; Courts Article, § 12-302(e) concerning guilty plea cases; Courts Article, § 12-302(g)
25	concerning revocation of probation cases; Criminal Procedure Article, § 11-103 concerning victims of violent
26	crimes; Criminal Procedure Article, § 7-109 concerning post conviction cases; Correctional Services Article,
27	§ 10-206 et seq. concerning inmate grievances; and Health-General Article, §§ 12-117(e)(2), 12-118(d)(2),
28 29	and 12-120(k)(2) concerning continued commitment, conditional release, or discharge of an individual committed as not criminally responsible by reason of insanity or incompetent to stand trial.
30	(b) (1) An application for leave to appeal to the Court of Special Appeals shall
31	be filed in duplicate with the clerk of the lower court. The application shall be filed within
32	30 days after entry of the judgment or order from which the appeal is sought, except that an
33	application for leave to appeal with regard to bail pursuant to Code. Courts Article. § 3-707
.) .)	- annivation for tease to annear with regard to Dall Durstall to Code, Cours Millele, 9 3-707

 shall be filed within ten days after entry of the order from which the appeal is sought.

- (2) The application shall contain a concise statement of the reasons why the judgment should be reversed or modified and shall specify the errors allegedly committed by the lower court.
- (3) If the applicant is the State of Maryland, it shall serve a copy of the application on the adverse party in compliance with Rule 1-321. Any other applicant shall serve a copy of the application on the Attorney General in compliance with Rule 1-321. If the applicant is not represented by an attorney, the clerk of the lower court shall promptly mail a copy of the application to the Attorney General.
- (c) Within 30 days after the filing of an application for leave to appeal or within such shorter time as the appellate court may direct, the clerk of the lower court shall transmit the record, together with the application, to the Court of Special Appeals. On application for leave to appeal from a post conviction proceeding, the record shall contain the petition, the State's Attorney's response, any subsequent papers filed in the proceeding, and the statement and order required by Rule 4-407. On application for leave to appeal from a habeas corpus proceeding in regard to bail, the record shall contain the petition, any response filed by the State's Attorney, the order of the court, and the judge's memorandum of reasons. On any other application for leave to appeal, the record shall contain all of the original papers and exhibits filed in the proceeding.

Cross references. — Code, Courts Article § 3-707.

(d) Within 15 days after service of the application, any other party may file a response in the Court of Special Appeals stating why leave to appeal should be denied, except that any response to an application for leave to appeal with regard to bail pursuant to Code, Courts Article, § 3-707 shall be filed within five days after service of the application.

Title 11. Juvenile Causes

Rule 11-102A.

- a. This Rule applies to actions for which a court exercising criminal jurisdiction has entered an order transferring jurisdiction pursuant to Rule 4-251(c)(2) or 4-252(h)(3). **Cross references.** Code, Criminal Procedure Article, § 4-202.
- b. Within 10 days after a court exercising criminal jurisdiction enters an order transferring jurisdiction over a defendant to the juvenile court, the State's Attorney shall file a juvenile petition pursuant to Rule 11-103 and shall attach to the petition a copy of (1) the charging document that was filed in the court exercising criminal jurisdiction and (2) the order of the court transferring jurisdiction. If the petition is not so filed, the respondent shall be released from detention, shelter care, or all conditions of pretrial release, without prejudice

to the right of the State's Attorney to file a petition thereafter.

c. Except as provided in section b of this Rule and subject to Rules 11-112 and 11-114, any conditions of release of the respondent or any placement of the respondent in detention or shelter care set forth in the order transferring jurisdiction shall remain in effect and be enforceable by the juvenile court pending the adjudicatory hearing unless modified or abrogated by the juvenile court.

Rule 11-113.

a. 1. Upon the filing of a juvenile petition alleging delinquency the court may on its own motion waive its exclusive original jurisdiction so that the respondent may be tried in the criminal court.

- g. 1. If the court concludes that its jurisdiction should be waived, it shall:
- (a) state the grounds for its decision on the record or in a written memorandum filed with the clerk.
 - (b) enter an order:
- (i) waiving its jurisdiction and ordering the respondent held for trial under the appropriate criminal procedure;
- (ii) placing the respondent in the custody of the sheriff or other appropriate officer in an adult detention facility pending a pretrial release hearing pursuant to Rule 4-222.
- 2. The juvenile petition shall be considered a charging document for the purpose of detaining the respondent pending a bail hearing.
- 3. A true copy of the juvenile petition and of the court's signed order shall be furnished forthwith by the clerk to the appropriate officer pending a bail hearing.

Title 15. Other Special Proceedings

Chapter 300. Habeas Corpus

Rule 15-303.

- (a) Upon receiving a petition for a writ of habeas corpus, the judge immediately shall refer it as provided in section (c) of this Rule or act on the petition as provided in section (d) or (e) or this Rule, except that if the petition seeks a writ of habeas corpus for the purpose of determining admission to bail or the appropriateness of any bail set, the judge may proceed in accordance with section (b) of this Rule.
- (b) (1) If a petition by or on behalf of an individual who is confined prior to or during trial seeks a writ of habeas corpus for the purpose of determining admission to bail

or the appropriateness of any bail set, the judge to whom the petition is directed, may deny the petition without a hearing if a judge has previously determined the individual's eligibility for pretrial release or the conditions for such release pursuant to Rule 4-216 and the petition raises no grounds sufficient to warrant issuance of the writ other than grounds that were or could have been raised when the earlier pretrial release determination was made.

Cross references. — Rule 4-213(c).

- (2) (A) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (2)(B) of this section, if a petition by or on behalf of an individual confined as a result of a conviction pending sentencing or exhaustion of appellate review seeks a writ of habeas corpus for the purpose of determining admission to bail or the appropriateness of any bail set, the judge to whom the petition is directed may deny the writ and order that the petition be treated as a motion for release or for amendment of an order of release pursuant to Rule 4-349. Upon entry of the order, the judge shall transmit the petition, a certified copy of the order, and any other pertinent papers to the trial judge who presided at the proceeding as a result of which the individual was confined. Upon receiving of the transmittal, the trial judge shall proceed in accordance with Rule 4-349.
- (B) A circuit court judge to whom a petition for a writ of habeas corpus is directed shall not enter an order under subsection (2)(A) of this section if the petition is by or on behalf of an individual confined as a result of a conviction in the District Court that has been appealed to a circuit court.
- (c) If the petition is made by or on behalf of an individual confined or restrained as the result of a prior judicial proceeding, a judge to whom the petition has been made may refer the petition, without taking other action, to the administrative judge of the court in which the prior proceeding was held. In exercising the discretion to refer the petition, the judge to whom the petition has been directed shall consider the interests and convenience of the parties and the State. Upon receiving the referral, the administrative judge shall assign the petition to a judge in accordance with the assignment procedures of that court, except that, without the written consent of the individual confined or restrained, the petition shall not be assigned to any judge who sat at the proceeding as a result of which the individual was confined or restrained. The judge to whom the petition has been assigned may not further refer the petition and shall act on it immediately pursuant to section (d) or (e) of this Rule.
- (d) (1) If the individual is confined as a result of a sentence in a criminal case, including a proceeding for criminal contempt other than a direct criminal contempt summarily punished, or as a result of a disposition or post-dispositional order following an adjudication of delinquency in a juvenile proceeding, the judge, prior to taking any further action, may enter an order directed to the person having custody of the individual to show cause why the writ should not issue. The show cause order may be entered regardless of whether the petition complies with Rule 15-302. The show cause order shall:

(A)

state a date by which the order must be served upon the person

2	having custody of the individual;
3	(B) state a date by which the person having custody may file a
4	response and a date by which a copy of any response must be served on the petitioner in
5	accordance with subsection (4) of this section;
6	(C) state that the petitioner may file a reply to the response within 30
7	days after service of the response; and
8	(D) require the petitioner to serve a copy of any reply on the person
9	having custody by first class mail, postage prepaid.
10	(2) The show cause order, together with a copy of the petition, shall be
11	served by certified mail on the person having custody of the individual confined. The show
12	cause order shall be served by first class mail, postage prepaid, on the petitioner.
13	(3) A response to the show cause order shall include notice to the petitioner
14	in substantially the following form:
15	NOTICE TO(Name of Petitioner), PETITIONER
16	This response alleges your petition for a writ of habeas corpus should be denied
17	because (check all that apply):
18	[] There is no good reason why new grounds now raised by the petition were not
19	raised in previous proceedings.
20	[] There has been unjustified delay in filing the petition and that delay has
21	prejudiced the ability of to
22	respond to the petition. (Name of person having custody of the individual confined)
23	[] Other reasons for denial (specify):
24	
25	-
26	-
27	You may file a reply to this response. Any reply must be filed with the court by
28	(Calendar Date) and you must mail a copy of your reply to
29	
30	(Name of person having custody)
31	If you do not file a reply by that date or if your reply does not show the court a good
32 33	reason why the allegations in this response are wrong, the court may deny your petition. Committee note. The calendar date for a reply shall be 30 days after personal service is made or 33 days
34	after service by mail is mailed.
35	(4) The person having custody shall serve a copy of the response on the
36	petitioner or the petitioner's attorney by first class mail, postage prepaid, or by hand-delivery.
37	The response shall be accompanied by a certificate of service showing the date and manner

of making service and, if service is by hand-delivery, the name of the individual making

service.

38

39

- (5) If (A) the show cause order was not timely served upon the person having custody and the person having custody has not filed a response or (B) the response was not timely served upon the petitioner and the petitioner has not filed a reply, the judge shall either reissue the show cause order or set the matter in for a hearing.
 - (e) (1) Unless the judge refers the petition pursuant to section (c) of this Rule, the judge shall first determine whether the petition complies with the provisions of Rule 15-302, except that if a show cause order was entered in accordance with section (d) of this Rule, the judge may defer making this determination until the time for a reply has expired. In determining whether the writ should be granted or denied, a judge shall consider any response or reply filed pursuant to a show cause order entered under section (d) of this Rule and may examine public records.
 - (2) If the petition fails to comply with the provisions of Rule 15-302, the judge may (A) deny the petition; (B) permit the petition to be amended or supplemented; or (C) grant the writ if there is a sufficient showing of probable illegal confinement or restraint.
 - (3) If the petition complies with the provisions of Rule 15-302, the judge shall grant the writ unless:
 - (A) the judge finds from the petition, any response, reply, document filed with the petition or with a response or reply, or public record that the individual confined or restrained is not entitled to any relief;
 - (B) the petition is made by or on behalf of an individual confined as a result of a sentence for a criminal offense, of an order in a juvenile proceeding, or of a judgment of contempt of court, the legality of the confinement was determined in a prior habeas corpus or other post conviction proceeding, and no new ground is shown sufficient to warrant issuance of the writ:
 - (C) there is no good reason why new grounds now raised by the petitioner were not raised in previous proceedings; or
 - (D) there has been an unjustified delay in filing the petition that has prejudiced the ability of the person having custody of the individual confined or restrained to respond to the petition.
 - (4) The judge may not deny the writ on a ground set forth in subsection (e)(3)(C) or (e)(3)(D) of this Rule unless the petitioner has been given notice of that ground and has had an opportunity to reply, either in accordance with section (d) of this Rule or as otherwise directed by the court.

Rule 15-310.

(a) If the judge determines that the individual is confined or restrained without legal warrant or authority, the judge shall order that the individual be released or discharged immediately, or shall enter such other order as justice may require. If the judge determines

that the confinement or restraint is lawful and proper, the individual shall be remanded to custody or admitted to bail pending trial or retrial.

(b) The judge to whom the writ is returned shall not discharge the individual confined or restrained merely because of errors, omissions, or irregularities on the face of the warrant or other written authority for commitment. The judge may direct that the warrant or other written authority be sent for correction to the court or judicial officer who issued it and that, after correction, it be redelivered to the person having custody of the individual.

Cross references. — See Rule 4-102(f) for the definition of "judicial officer".

Title 16. Courts, Judges, and Attorneys

Chapter 300. Circuit Court Clerks' Offices

Rule 16-308.

- a. The clerk shall promptly transmit to the Administrative Office of the Courts in a manner prescribed by the State Court Administrator the data elements concerning the docketing and disposition of criminal, juvenile and civil cases as may be designated by the State Court Administrator.
- b. 1. The Administrative Office of the Courts shall transmit to the Central Repository of Criminal History Record Information of the Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services the data elements of criminal history record information on offenses agreed to by the Secretary of the Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services and the Chief Judge of the Court of Appeals or his designee for purposes of completing a criminal history record maintained by the Central Repository of Criminal History Record Information.
- 2. (a) Within 15 days after the conviction, forfeiture of bail, dismissal of an appeal or an acquittal in any case involving a violation of the Maryland Vehicle Law or other traffic law or ordinance, or any conviction for manslaughter or assault committed by means of an automobile, or of any felony involving the use of an automobile, the clerk of the court shall forward to the State Motor Vehicle Administration a certified abstract of the record on a form furnished by the State Motor Vehicle Administration.
- (b) When a defendant has been charged by citation and a conviction is entered by reason of his payment of a fine or forfeiture of collateral or bond before trial, the conviction is not a reportable event under Code, Criminal Procedure Article, § 10-215(a)(10).
- c. Unless expunged, sealed, marked confidential or otherwise prohibited by statute, court rule or order, criminal history record information contained in court records of public judicial proceedings is subject to inspection by any person at the times and under conditions as the clerk of a court reasonably determines necessary for the protection of the

records and the prevention of unnecessary interference with the regular discharge of the duties of his office.

Chapter 800. Miscellaneous

Rule 16-817.

3

4 5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

21

A majority of the judges of the circuit courts in any appellate judicial circuit may appoint a bail bond commissioner and license and regulate bail bondsmen and acceptance of bail bonds. Each bail bond commissioner appointed pursuant to this Rule shall prepare, maintain, and periodically distribute to all District Court commissioners and clerks within the jurisdiction of the appellate judicial circuit for posting in their respective offices, to the State Court Administrator, and to the Chief Clerk of the District Court, an alphabetical list of bail bondsmen licensed to write bail bonds within the appellate judicial circuit, showing the bail bondsman's name, business address and telephone number, and any limit on the amount of any one bond, and the aggregate limit on all bonds, each bail bondsman is authorized to write.

CIRCUIT RULES

- 16 **1**st Circuit (Dorchester, Somerset, Wicomico & Worcester Counties): Per Circuit Administrative Judge and Court Administrator, no local rules in Circuit, although at least one
- of the counties has policy to set hearing on pre-set bails within 24 hours.
- 19 2nd Circuit (Caroline, Cecil, Kent, Queen Anne's & Talbot Counties): Per Court
- 20 Administrator, no local rules in Circuit.
- 3rd Circuit (Baltimore & Harford Counties): Per Criminal Division in Harford County, no
- local rules; Baltimore County has the following:
- 8/22/96: Bail review hearings will no longer be coordinated by the chamber's judge. All
- 25 requests for bail reviews will be automatically set by the criminal assignment office before
- one of the judges who has a criminal docket for the date scheduled. All requests to review
- 27 "pre-set" bails (placed on a bench warrant or a body attachment) by individual Circuit Court
- judges will continue to be set for hearing by that judge's chambers.
- 29 9/21/99 Memo from Judge Turnbull, on scheduling bail hearings: Any Petitions received on
- 30 Monday or Tuesday, will be scheduled for the following Thursday. Any Petitions received
- on Wednesday or Thursday, will be scheduled for the following Monday. Any Petitions

Maryland Laws on Bail

Page D-32

- 1 received on Friday, will be scheduled for the following Tuesday.
- 2 The criminal bail hearing request form appears on the next page.

Maryland Laws on Bail Page D-33 DATE 1 DATE REQUESTED FOR HEARING: 2 3 DOCKET: TRIAL DATE: 4 CASE NAME: 5 CASE NUMBER: 6 REQUESTED BY: 7 DEFENDANT IN PROPER PERSON **DEFENDANT BY ATTORNEY** 8 9 STATE BY ATTORNEY 10 LOCATION OF THE DEFENDANT **STREET BCBC** DOC **OTHER** 11 12 ANY COMMENTS: **NOTIFIED:** 13 14 STATE'S ATTORNEYS OFFICE **SHERIFF** 15 16 PRETRIAL RELEASE PUBLIC DEFENDER'S OFFICE 17 FILEROOM 18 **COURT CLERKS** 19 20 **OTHER** CIRCUIT COURT FOR BALTIMORE COUNTY 21 CRIMINAL ASSIGNMENT OFFICE 22 23 DOTTIE DOVEL — SUPERVISOR (410)887-2694 24 25 PREPARED BY:

- 4th Circuit (Allegany, Garrett & Washington Counties): Per County Administrative Judges, no local rules in Circuit.
- 5th Circuit (Anne Arundel, Carroll & Howard Counties): Per Circuit Administrative Judge, the following rules pertain to the 5th Circuit:

RULE 707. BAIL BONDS

- a. CONDITION OF BOND. Every bail bond taken by an authorized person shall be conditioned on the continued personal appearance of the defendant before any justice of the peace, Trial Magistrate, grand jury, or court when required. The bond so taken shall secure the appearance of the defendant to any indictment which may later be filed against him based on the alleged criminal act which gave rise to the criminal cause in which the accused or witness is held to bail when the bond is executed, although such indictment charges a different offense, or accuses more or fewer persons. A court, Trial Magistrate, or Justice of the Peace may require additional conditions of bond.
- b. AUTHORITY AND DUTY OF STATE'S ATTORNEY. The State's Attorney is authorized and directed by appropriate motion to call the attention of the court any bond he deems to be deficient in any manner or insufficient to assure the presence of the defendant in court when required, or fully to protect the interests of the State of Maryland in the collection thereof in the event of default
- c. DUTY OF CLERKS TO NOTIFY BONDSMEN AND SURETIES. The court or the State's Attorney shall notify the clerk of the times, dates, and places which have been assigned for arraignments, hearings, trials and sentencings in criminal cases and criminal appeals. Immediately upon being so informed, the clerk shall notify the bondsman and all who have signed as sureties on the bond of any accused whose case or appeal has been so assigned. Ordinarily, such notice shall be given by a pre-paid postal card mailed by the clerk through first-class United States mail and addressed to each bondsman and surety to the address listed upon the bond for each said bondsman and surety where such postal card will ordinarily be received and delivered to said address before the day so assigned. In all other cases such notice shall be given by telephone message from the clerk to any office or residence listed with said clerk for said bondsman or surety. The clerk is not required to notify an accused who is at liberty under bond of any times, dates, and places which have been so assigned, inasmuch as it is the responsibility of each bondsman and surety who have been notified as above to notify the accused and produce said accused on the time and dates and places which have been so assigned without notice from the clerk.
- d. FAILURE TO APPEAR. When an accused fails to appear, the State's Attorney shall in open court move to have the bail of said accused forfeited and, in addition thereto, shall have the right and discretion to request the court to issue its bench warrant for the

immediate arrest of said accused. In addition to the accused, the bondsman and all who have signed a surety on his bond shall appear on all of the times and dates and at the places which have been so assigned for the said accused to appear. Upon the failure of the accused to appear as aforesaid after his bondsman and sureties have been notified of the place, time, and date for him so to appear, the court shall forfeit his bail nisi, which said forfeiture shall become absolute without further action of the court at the explanation of seven additional days (three days in criminal appeal cases), unless within that time the defendant either appears in this court or is surrendered by his bondsman or surety to the sheriff, jail, or detention center.

e. FAILURE OF BONDSMAN OR SURETY TO SATISFY FORFEITURE.

- 1. DUTIES OF CLERK. Whenever any bondsman or surety for any reason has failed to satisfy and pay the amount of his bail as forfeited at the time of the forfeiture of said bail becomes absolute, the clerk shall immediately and without further action of the court cause the said forfeiture absolute to be recorded and indexed among the judgment records of the court as a judgment absolute in favor of the State of Maryland against each said bondsman and surety for the amount of his bail as forfeited with interest thereon from the date said forfeiture becomes absolute and costs accruing thereon and shall, at the same time, prepare and deliver to the State's Attorney two copies of the docket entries of the court showing said forfeiture absolute attested to by the clerk under his seal, together with two complete photostatic copies of all of the bond instruments furnished him by said bondsman or surety in connection with said bail. Thereafter, the clerk shall not approve or accept any bail, collateral, or bond offered by any accused or by any bondsman or surety who has failed to satisfy and pay any forfeiture absolute of bail which said accused, bondsman, or surety has suffered or allowed to become absolute until the same has been fully paid and satisfied.
- 2. DUTIES OF THE STATE'S ATTORNEY. Whenever any bondsman or surety for any reason has failed to satisfy and pay the amount of his bail as forfeited at the time the forfeiture of said bail becomes absolute, the State's Attorney shall immediately order execution to be issued for the recovery of said unsatisfied forfeiture, together with interest and costs accruing thereon, and he shall also, on behalf of the court and State, seek the revocation and suspension by the Insurance Commissioner of the State of Maryland of the right of any corporate surety which has failed to satisfy and pay any said forfeiture at the time said forfeiture becomes absolute, to do business in this State and to seek the revocation of its charter. In addition, whenever any bondsman or surety for any reason has failed to satisfy and pay the amount of his bail as forfeited at the time the forfeiture of said bail becomes absolute, the State's Attorney shall immediately inform the licensing agency for bondsmen, if any, within the county, as well as each committing magistrate, and each Trial Magistrate or People's Court within the county that said bondsman or surety has not satisfied and paid the said forfeiture absolute.

- f. RIGHT OF COURT TO STRIKE OUT FORFEITURE. Nothing herein contained shall be construed to abridge or limit the right of the court for proper cause and upon motion timely made in court by an accused or by his bondsman or surety to fully or partially strike out any forfeiture nisi or forfeiture absolute of bail if the accused be produced in the court or surrendered to the sheriff, jail, or detention center after said forfeiture upon such terms and conditions as the court shall determine are just and reasonable.
- 6th Circuit (Frederick & Montgomery Counties): Per Circuit Administrative Judge's
 office, no local rules for Circuit.
 - 7th Circuit (Calvert, Charles, Prince George's & St. Mary's Counties): Provided to the Pretrial Release Project Advisory Committee by the Bail Bond Commissioner's office, as applicable to the 7th Circuit although the following appear never to have been promulgated:

Rule 714 — Bail Bonds — Generally

- (a) **Applicability of Rule -** This Rule applies to all bail bonds taken pursuant to:
 - (1) Maryland Rule 4-216 Pretrial release pending verdict or new trial.
 - (2) Maryland Rule 4-267 Body Attachment of Material Witness.
 - (3) Maryland Rule 4-348 Stay of Execution of Sentence.
 - (4) Maryland Rule 4-349 Release After Conviction.
- (b) **Scope** The provisions of this Rule shall apply in all Circuit and District Courts in the Seventh Judicial Circuit of Maryland. The Clerk of any Court and the District Court Commissioner are authorized to accept any bail bond tendered in accordance with this Rule, if authorized by law or the Maryland Rules, for the appearance of any person located in the county where the authorized person holds office.
- (c) Condition of Bail Bond The condition of every bail bond taken pursuant to this Rule shall be that the defendant personally appear as required in any court in which the charges are pending, or in which a charging document may be filed based on the same acts or transactions, or to which the action may be transferred, removed, or if from the District Court, appealed, and that the bail bond shall remain in effect until discharged pursuant to Maryland Rule 4-217(j).

(d) **Definitions** -

- (1) <u>Authorized Agent</u> means a person authorized by this Rule to be designated by a surety insurer to act on behalf of the surety insurer.
- (2) <u>Bail Bond</u> means a written obligation of a defendant, with or without a surety or collateral security, conditioned on the appearance of the defendant as required and providing for the payment of a penalty sum according to its terms.
 - (3) <u>Bail Bond Commissioner</u> means any person appointed to administer

3

4

5

6 7

8

9

10

11 12

13

14

15

1617

18

19

20

21

22

2324

25

2627

28

2930

31

32

33

34

35

36

37

38

- 1 rules adopted pursuant to Maryland Rule 1285.
 - (4) <u>Clerk</u> means the clerk of the circuit or of the District Court, and any deputy or administrative clerk.
 - (5) <u>Collateral</u> means anything accepted by a surety insurer from a principal, which is intended to indemnify the surety insurer in the event of the defendant's default.
 - (6) <u>Collateral Security</u> means any property deposited, pledged, or encumbered to secure the performance of a bail bond.
 - (7) Commissioner means a commissioner of the District Court.
 - (8) <u>Expenses</u> are the costs incurred by the Court in the proper administration of the duties of the Bail Bond Commissioner as established by statute and these rules.
 - (9) <u>Fee</u> the premium charged by a surety insurer to a defendant or principal for becoming a surety on a bail bond.
 - (10) <u>License Fee</u> a fee, charged by the court, as authorized by statute, to be levied and collected by the Bail Bond Commissioner, for the authority and privilege of doing business as a surety insurer.
 - (11) <u>Principal</u> a person who contracts with a surety insurer for the execution of a bail bond and who may be the defendant or a third party.
 - (12) <u>Statute</u> means Article 27 Section 616-1/2 of the Annotated Code of Maryland.
 - (13) <u>Surety</u> means a person, other than the defendant, who, by executing a bail bond, guarantees the appearance of the defendant, and includes an uncompensated or accommodation surety.
 - (14) <u>Surety Insurer</u> means any person in the business of becoming, either directly or through an authorized agent, a surety on a bail bond for compensation.

(e) **Procedure -**

- (1) <u>Execution of Bonds</u> every surety shall make oath before the persons authorized to accept a bond that:
- (A) The surety insurer's license issued pursuant to these rules and the statute is in full force and effect and has not been suspended or revoked;
- (B) The total outstanding bonds secured by the surety are within the aggregate amount authorized by this Rule:
- (C) No bond secured by the surety remains forfeited absolute and unsatisfied for a period of over ninety (90) days.
- (D) Every bail bond taken pursuant to this rule shall be in the form of the bail bond as set forth in the Maryland Rules of Procedure as Form 4-217.2.
 - (2) <u>Transmittal of Records</u> The Clerks of the District and Circuit Courts

- and all District Court Commissioners shall transmit to the Bail Bond Commissioner:
 - (A) A copy of any bail bonds filed in their respective offices within ten (10) days of the filing;
 - (B) A record of any absolute bail bond forfeitures within (10) days of the date of forfeiture;
 - (C) A record of any absolute bail bond forfeitures stricken within ten (10) days of the date of the order striking the absolute forfeiture; and,
 - (D) A record of any bond premiums remitted by surety insurers to any District Court Commissioner or clerk of the court, upon premature surrender of any defendant.
 - (f) **Qualification of Surety Insurer -** A surety insurer may execute a bond in this Circuit if the surety insurer pays the licensing fee as required by the statute, and;
 - (1) The surety insurer's name appears on the list of authorized bail bondsmen maintained by the Chief Clerk of the District Court and is not in default; or
 - (2) The surety insurer has been licensed by the Bail Bond Commissioner pursuant to Local Rule 714A(b) and is not in default.

(g) Collateral Security -

- (1) A defendant or surety required to give collateral security may satisfy the requirement as provided in Maryland Rule 4-217.
- (2) Any uncompensated surety, or defendant, who shall secure the performance of a bail bond with real property, shall execute a "Consent to Lien" instead of a Declaration or Deed of Trust. The surety or defendant shall pay all necessary recordation and release fees to the Clerk of the Circuit Court before the lien will be released by the Clerk of the Court.
- (3) In the event a surety, who is licensed outside this Circuit and/or whose performance is secured by real property located outside this Circuit, executes a bond within this Circuit, the Bail Bond Commissioner shall transmit within ten (10) days, a copy of the bail bond form and any declaration of trust or deed of trust to the State's Attorney or Bail Bond Commissioner in the county where the property is located.
- (h) **Discharge of Bond -** The bail bond shall be discharged as provided in Maryland Rule 4-217.
- (i) **Refund of Collateral Security Release of Lien -** Upon the discharge of a bail bond, the clerk shall:
- (1) Return any cash to the person who deposited the cash, upon surrender of the receipt;
- (2) Release any Declaration of Trust, Deed of Trust, or Consent to lien against any real property used as security for the bail bond.
 - (j) Forfeiture of Bond -

- (1) Forfeiture of bail bonds, striking out of forfeitures, enforcement of forfeitures, and the satisfaction of forfeitures shall be as provided in Maryland Rule 4-217(i) and the statute.
 - (2) <u>Satisfaction of a forfeiture by payment of the penalty sum</u> A surety may avoid suspension of any license or enforcement of the forfeiture by payment of the full penalty sum due within the time allowed in Maryland Rule 4-217(1)(3).

(3) Foreclosure

- (A) Procedure In the event an order of forfeiture remains unsatisfied after the time allowed in Maryland Rule 4-217(i)(3), and the bail bond was secured by the defendant or surety by real property, the declaration of trust or deed of trust shall be foreclosed in proceedings conducted by the State's Attorney in the manner as provided in the Maryland Rules Subtitle W (Foreclosure of Mortgages and Other Security Devices).
- (B) Distribution of Proceeds In the event of such foreclosure, the proceeds derived form the sale shall be applied as follows:
 - (1) The expense of foreclosure;
 - (2) To satisfy the amount of penalty of every bond forfeited

absolute;

1 2

- (3) Retain in the Registry of the Court such amount as deemed necessary to secure the penalty on all outstanding bonds filed by the surety until all are discharged; and
 - (4) Payment of any license fee due.
- (k) **Reinstatement of Bond After Forfeiture -** The Court may not reinstate a forfeited bond without the explicit written consent of the surety. The Bail Bond Commissioner shall, upon the Court's request, ascertain the surety's written consent or refusal to reinstatement.

(1) Voluntary Surrender of the Defendant by Surety -

- (1) The procedure for the voluntary surrender of a defendant before forfeiture shall be as set forth in Maryland Rule 4-217(h).
- (2) Any and all premiums received by the District Court from a surety under this rule shall be transmitted to the Bail Bond Commissioner.
- (3) Any and all premiums received by a clerk of the circuit court shall be transmitted to the Bail Bond Commissioner.
- (4) A person seeking a refund of premiums paid, as authorized by Maryland Rule 4-217(h), shall present the motion to the Bail Bond Commissioner, who shall cause the motion to be filed in the criminal case and refer the matter to the County Administrative Judge or designee for a ruling.
 - (m) This Rule shall take effect January 1, 1992.

RULE 714A - REGULATION OF SURETIES

- (a) **Application for License -**
 - (1) <u>In General</u> An applicant for a non-corporate bail bond license shall:
 - (A) Be a natural person of at least 21 years of age;
- (B) Be a citizen of the United States who has resided in the State of Maryland for at least one year prior to the filing of the application, and domiciled and a resident of this Circuit for at least six months prior to the filing of the application; and
- (C) Maintain a bail bond business located in this Circuit which shall be accessible to the public.
 - (2) In addition, the applicant shall file with the Bail Bond Commissioner:
- (A) A complete set of applicant's fingerprints, certified by an authorized law enforcement officer;
- (B) An authorization permitting the Bail Bond Commissioner to conduct a criminal history record check, or to request one conducted by an authorized law enforcement agency;
 - (C) A recent credential sized full face photograph of the applicant;
- (D) Proof that the applicant has been in the bail bonding business for a minimum of two (2) years either as a corporate bondsman, or as an agent for a non-corporate bondsman;
- (E) A copy of the recorded Deed of Trust conveying a fee simple interest to real property located in this Circuit to the Clerk of the Circuit Court, and successors in office, of the county in which the real property is located. Said conveyance shall be in trust, authorizing the Clerk to sell and convey said land or so much thereof as may be necessary to recover any and all outstanding sums due on absolute bond forfeitures and license fees. The Deed of Trust shall provide that the State of Maryland, through it's authorized agent, the State's Attorney, and at its option, may remove the Trustee and appoint a successor trustee to any Trustee appointed hereunder, by instrument recorded in the city or county in which the deed of trust is recorded, and further providing that without conveyance of the property, the successor trustee shall succeed to all the title, power and duties conferred upon the original Trustee and by applicable law.
- (F) A certificate or opinion of title, prepared by an attorney admitted to practice law by the Court of Appeals of Maryland. Said opinion shall certify that the applicant has title to the property and that the property is free and clear of any and all mortgages, liens, and encumbrances of any kind.
- (G) A certificate from the county assessor's office certifying that the property conveyed has a minimum assessed value of \$25,000.00.
 - (b) Issuance of Bail Bond License -
 - (1) If an applicant has never been convicted of an offense which carries a

penalty of incarceration of more than eighteen (18) months, and has otherwise satisfied the requirements of Section (1) of this rule, the Bail Bond Commissioner shall issue a bail bond license to the applicant.

(2) If the Bail Bond Commissioner refuses to issue a license, the applicant has the right to appeal to the circuit court as provided in Section(i) of this rule.

(c) Renewal of License -

- (1) Each surety insurer licensed pursuant to Section (b) of this Rule shall submit to the Bail Bond Commissioner by July First of each year the most recent state tax assessment for the property.
- (2) A certificate or opinion of title, containing the same information as in Section (a)(2)(F) of this Rule, shall be submitted to the Bail Bond Commissioner every three years.

(d) Agents - Qualifications -

- (1) A surety insurer licensed under this Rule may designate no more than three persons at any one time as an agent.
- (2) Each agent must be approved by the Bail Bond Commissioner, and must meet the qualifications of Section (a)(1), (a)(2)(A), (B), and (C) of this Rule.
- (3) Each agent designated and approved under this rule shall comply with all provisions of the statute and this rule.
 - (4) A surety insurer is liable for the conduct and acts of his or her agents.
- (e) **Fees Charged by Surety Insurers -** The premium charged to any defendant or principal shall not exceed twenty dollars (\$20.00) for the first hundred dollars of the face value of the bond, and ten percent of any face value exceeding the first hundred dollars.

(f) Value of Bonds to be Written -

- (1) A surety insurer licensed under this rule shall be permitted to write bonds in a gross value or penalty of ten (10) times the assessed value of the real property conveyed in trust.
- (2) The value or penalty of any one bond shall not exceed an amount of more than twice the assessed value of the property conveyed in trust.
- (3) The Bail Bond Commissioner shall determine the aggregate amount of bonds that any surety insurer licensed under this rule may write.

(g) List of Licensed Surety Insurers -

- (1) The Bail Bond Commissioner shall provide every official authorized to receive bonds an alphabetical list of only the names of all qualified surety insurers who are licensed under this Rule.
- (2) This list, or any other list of qualified surety insurers, shall not be made available to the public.
 - (3) No Clerk of the Court, District Court Commissioner or any other court

employee shall make any recommendations or representations on behalf of any surety insurer.

(h) Bail Bond Commissioner Authority -

- (1) The Bail Bond Commissioner may deny, suspend, revoke or refuse to renew any license for any of the following reasons:
- (A) For any cause for which issuance of the license could have been refused had it then existed and been known to the Commissioner;
- (B) Violation of any of the laws of this state or violation of any rule of court relating to bail bonds;
- (C) Material misstatement, misrepresentation or fraud in obtaining the license or renewal of the license;
- (D) Misappropriation, conversion or unlawful withholding of collateral belonging to the defendant, principal or other person, which is received in the conduct of business under the license;
- (E) Conviction of a crime which carries a penalty of incarceration of more than eighteen (18) months; except, this provision shall not prevent the renewal of, or cause the suspension or revocation of any license in effect on July 1, 1991, for a conviction occurring prior to July 1, 1991.
- (F) Fraudulent or dishonest practices in the conduct of business under the license:
- (G) Willful failure to comply with, or willful violation of any court order or rule;
- (H) Demonstrated incompetency, untrustworthiness, or other conduct which renders the licensee unfit to carry on the bail bond business, or which renders the continuance of the business a detriment to the public interest;
 - (I) Violation of Section (j) of this Rule;
 - (J) Failure to pay license fees as assessed under the statute;
- (K) Failure to satisfy in full a forfeited bond within the time allowed by Maryland Rule 4-217;
- (L) Failure to provide a receipt for anything of value received from a defendant or principal, including, but not limited to bond premiums and collateral.
- (2) In the event of suspension or revocation of the license of a surety insurer, any agents employed by the surety insurer are also prohibited from writing bonds during the suspension or revocation period.
- (i) **Appeal -** Any applicant whose license is denied, or any licensee whose license is suspended, revoked or denied renewal by the Bail Bond commissioner may appeal to the Circuit Court for review.
- (1) The applicant or licensee shall file a copy of the notice of denial, suspension or revocation with the Clerk of the Circuit Court, civil section, along with a

1	Notice of Appeal, and payment of the required Clerk's fees;
2	(2) The Clerk of the Court shall file the matter under the miscellaneous
3	docket, and refer the case to the Assignment Office immediately;
4	(3) The Assignment Office shall set the matter in for a hearing within five
5	(5) days before the Bail Bond Liaison Judge, or that judge's designee.
6	(4) The decision of the Circuit Court is final.
7	(j) Prohibitions -
8	(1) No person or corporation shall act as a surety insurer, agent for a surety
9	insurer or perform any of the functions, powers or duties of a surety insurer unless they have
10	been qualified or licensed under these rules.
11	(2) No person licensed or qualified under these rules shall:
12	(A) Suggest, advise or recommend in any manner any attorney to
13	represent the surety insurer's principal;
14	(B) Solicit business or loiter in any place where prisoners are
15	confined, in any court house, or in any building where any District Court Commissioner is
16	sitting;
17	(C) Pay a fee or rebate, or give or promise to give anything of value
18	to a jailer, policeman, peace officer, constable, District Court Commissioner, judge or any
19	other person who has the power to arrest or hold in custody, or to any public official or public
20	employee, in order to secure the settlement, compromise, remission or reduction or increase
21	in the amount of a bail bond;
22	(D) Pay a fee, rebate or give, or promise to give anything of value to
23	an attorney in bail bond matters, except in defense of any action on the bond;
24	(E) Participate in the capacity of an attorney at a trial or hearing of
25	one whose bond he is a surety, unless it be a member of his immediate family;
26	(F) Accept anything of value from a defendant or principal except
27	the premium, except that the surety insurer may accept collateral from the defendant or
28	principal, provided:
29	(1) the amount of collateral charged is reasonable in relation
30	to the amount of the bond, and in no event valued at more than the bond;
31	(2) the surety insurer provides a written receipt to the
32	principal or defendant which shall set forth the nature of the collateral and its value;
33	(3) the surety insurer indicates on the bail bond form that
34	collateral was accepted;
35	(4) the surety insurer returns the collateral to the principal or
36	defendant within ten (10) days of the discharge of the bond, less any premium or forfeitures

Sign a bail bond in blank.

(G)

due.

37

1	(3) The following persons shall not be surety insurers, or have any interest					
2	in any amount in any such business:					
3	(A) Correctional officers, jailers or any employee of a jail of					
4	detention facility, or any person having the power to control federal, state, county or					
5	municipal prisoners;					
6	(B) Police officers, peace officers, constables, sheriff, deputy sheriff					
7	or any person with the power to arrest;					
8	(C) District Court Commissioners;					
9	(D) Judges					
10	(E) Any members of the bar licensed or authorized to practice law					
11	in the State of Maryland.					
12	(k) Records, Reports and Duties Required of Surety Insurers - Every surety					
13	insurer licensed or qualified to write bail bonds under this rule shall:					
14	(1) Maintain a current record of all bail bonds executed and filed in this					
15	Circuit. The record shall be available for inspection by the Bail Bond Commissioner, or					
16	designee, at any time. All such records shall be maintained in the surety insurer's place of					
17	business for period of one year after the liability on the bond has been terminated. The record					
18	shall disclose:					
19	(A) The name, address, and telephone number of the defendant;					
20	(B) Date bond was executed;					
21	(C) Amount of the bond;					
22	(D) Premium charged to the defendant or principal;					
23	(E) Name of person who paid the premium;					
24	(F) Date(s) of pending hearings and trials;					
25	(G) Date defendant was surrendered and name of District Cour					
26	Commissioner to whom any premium was paid;					
27	(H) Date bond was discharged and which court;					
28	(I) Date bond was forfeited absolute and which court;					
29	(J) Date bond forfeiture absolute was stricken and which court;					
30	(K) Date any petition for premium refund was filed, which court, and					
31	disposition of petition;					
32	(L) Date any premium was returned to defendant or principal; and					
33	(M) Date that absolute forfeiture was paid to Bail Bond					
34	Commissioner.					
35	(2) On or before the first day of January and the first day of July of each					
36	year, every surety insurer licensed under this rule shall furnish to the Bail Bond					
37	commissioner a sworn record and statement listing all outstanding bonds, bond forfeitures					

and judgements anywhere in this State, together with the name of the court in which the

1	bond, forfeiture or judgement is recorded.								
2	(l) Discontinuance of Business -								
3	(1) Any surety insurer who shall discontinue writing bail bonds during the								
4	period for which the license is in effect, shall notify the Bail Bond Commissioner and return								
5	the license for cancellation within thirty (30) days from the cessation of business.								
6	(2) A surety insurer shall notify the Bail Bond Commissioner upon the								
7	revocation of the authority granted in a power of attorney to any agent, and shall be liable on								
8	any bond executed by that agent until such notification is received by the Bail Bond								
9	Commissioner.								
10	(m) This Rule shall take effect January 1, 1992.								
11	8 th Circuit (Baltimore City): Per Circuit Administrative Judge and Court Administrator, no								
12	local rules for Circuit.								
13	Maryland Public General Laws								
14	Article 2B Alcoholic Beverages								
15	Title 12. Restrictions upon Licensees.								
16	Subtitle 1. Generally.								
17	§ 12-108.								
18	(a) (1) A licensee licensed under this article, or any employee of the licensee,								
19	may not sell or furnish any alcoholic beverages at any time to a person under 21 years of age:								
20	(i) For the underage person's own use or for the use of any other								
21	person; or								
22	(ii) To any person who, at the time of the sale, or delivery, is visibly								
23	under the influence of any alcoholic beverage.								
24	(2) Any licensee or any employee of the licensee who is charged with a								
25	violation of this subsection shall receive a summons to appear in court on a certain day to								
26	answer the charges placed against that person. The person charged may not be required to								
27	post bail bond pending trial in any court of this State.								
28	****								
29	Title 16. Appeals, Consumers, Regulatory Powers, Enforcement, and Penalties.								
30	Subtitle 5. Penalties.								

§ 16-502.

1 2

(a) All fines imposed or recognizances forfeited for any violation of any provision of this article shall be payable to the county in which the offense was committed, or to Baltimore City if the offense was committed in said city.

**

Article 38 Fines and Forfeitures

§ 5.

(a) One half of the fines imposed and recognizances forfeited to the circuit court for the several counties of the State shall be paid to the clerks of the respective courts, to be expended under the direction of the judge or judges of said courts, for the augmentation of the libraries of said courts. This section does not apply to Anne Arundel, Somerset, and Howard Counties. The clerk shall retain a 5 percent commission on the fines and forfeitures collected. In Baltimore County, this section shall not apply to fines imposed in gambling cases.

(c) (1) In Cecil County, if in any year the payment to the court library of one half the fines imposed and recognizances forfeited plus attorney appearance fees as provided in § 7-204 of the Courts and Judicial Proceedings Article is less than \$10,000 the County Commissioners shall pay to the clerk of the court, for the use of the library, whatever amount may be necessary to bring to \$10,000 in the aggregate, the total amount to be paid to the library during that year under the provisions of this section, and in addition to the amount to be paid as aforesaid, the County Commissioners may, in their discretion, pay such sums over and above the \$10,000 hereinabove provided for, as they consider reasonable for the proper maintenance of the library.

(d) In Charles County, if in any fiscal year, commencing July 1, 1962, the said payments to the court library of one half the fines imposed and recognizances forfeited are less than three thousand dollars (\$3,000.00), the County Commissioners thereof shall pay the clerk of the court, for the use of said library, whatever amount may be necessary to bring to three thousand dollars (\$3,000.00) in the aggregate, the total amount to be paid to said library during that year under the provisions of this section, and in addition to the amount to be paid as aforesaid, said County Commissioners may, in their discretion, pay such sums over and above the three thousand dollars (\$3,000.00) hereinabove provided for, as they consider reasonable for the proper maintenance of said library. All sums paid under the provisions of this section shall be expended under the direction of the judge of the Circuit Court for

Page D-47

1 2	Charles County who resides in Charles County. ****
3 4 5 6 7 8	(h) (1) Each month the Clerk of the Circuit Court for St. Mary's County shall transmit one-half of the fines and recognizances forfeited that month to the county to be used for the general purposes of the Circuit Court Law Library of the county. The county shall maintain the fines and forfeitures in a special account to be known as the St. Mary's County Law Library Fund. ****
9	Business Occupations and Professions Article
10	Title 13. Private Detectives.
11	§ 13-101.
12	****
13	(j) (1) "Provide private detective services" means to provide, for compensation,
14	the service of:
15	(iv) conducting an investigation to locate or apprehend a fugitive
16	from justice, unless the person:
17	1. conducting the investigation is a property bail bondsman
18	or licensed by the Insurance Commissioner of the State or a similar licensing body of another
19	state as a bail bondsman;
20	2. is an employee of a property bail bondsman or a licensed
21	bail bondsman for the purpose of locating or apprehending fugitives from justice; or
22	3. is authorized as an agent by a property bail bondsman or
23	licensed bail bondsman in advance of the apprehension of a fugitive from justice.
24	Title 20. Private Home Detention
25	Subtitle 4. Responsibilities of Private Home Detention Monitoring Agency.
26	§ 20-401.
27	****
28	(b) (1) Upon determining that a defendant subject to private home detention
29	monitoring under the provisions of § 5-201(b) of the Criminal Procedure Article has been
30	missing for 24 hours, the private home detention monitoring agency responsible for
31	monitoring the defendant shall, on the next business day, notify the court that ordered private
32	home detention monitoring as a condition of the defendant's pretrial release.

1 2 3 4 5 6	(2) If the court that ordered private detention monitoring as a condition of a defendant's pretrial release under the provisions of § 5-201(b) of the Criminal Procedure Article requests that it be notified if the defendant violates any other conditions of pretrial release, the private home detention monitoring agency responsible for monitoring the defendant shall provide the court with the requested notice. ****
7	Correctional Services Article
8	Title 4. Patuxent Institution.
9	Subtitle 2. General Provisions.
10	§ 4-209.
11	****
12	(e) To the extent that any record, report, or information compiled under this section
13	is legally confidential, it shall remain confidential and may not be disclosed to any person or
14	unit except to:
15	****
16	(11) a judge of a circuit court or the District Court when required in
17 18	connection with a pretrial release, presentence, or postsentence investigation; and ****
19	Title 5. Division of Pretrial Detention and Services.
20	Subtitle 1. Definitions; General Provisions.
21	§ 5-101.
22	(a) In this title the following words have the meanings indicated.
23	(b) "Commissioner" means the Commissioner of Pretrial Detention and Services.
24	(c) "Division" means the Division of Pretrial Detention and Services.
25	§ 5-102.
26	(a) The creation of the Division is based on the findings and policies set forth in
27	this section.
28	(b) (1) Each year a large number of individuals have criminal charges placed
29 30	against them in Baltimore City and remain on pretrial status until these charges are adjudicated.

(2) Many of the individuals on pretrial status were formerly committed to 1 the Baltimore City Jail. 2 There is an important public need to centralize and coordinate the provision of 3 services to individuals on a pretrial status in Baltimore City. 4 Baltimore City does not have the financial resources to fund a local 5 correctional facility at a level sufficient to meet the needs of those incarcerated. 6 The State recognizes the need to provide effective and efficient services to the 7 public through management of the pretrial population in Baltimore City. 8 Subtitle 2. Division of Pretrial Detention and Services. 9 10 **§ 5-201.** There is a Division of Pretrial Detention and Services in the Department. 11 (a) 12 (b) The Division consists of: a Pretrial Release Services Program; 13 (1) a Baltimore City Detention Center; and 14 (2) a centralized booking facility for Baltimore City. 15 The Division has the same authority with regard to the custody of its inmates 16 and the operation of the Baltimore City Detention Center as: 17 the Division of Correction has under this Code with regard to the 18 custody of its inmates and the operation of the Division of Correction; and 19 the sheriffs have under this Code with regard to the detention of inmates 20 committed to their custody and the operation of local correctional facilities. 21 This title does not limit or supersede the authority of a court to determine the 22 23 conditions of pretrial release. 24 **§ 5-202.** With the approval of the Governor, the Secretary shall appoint a Commissioner 25 of Pretrial Detention and Services. 26 The Commissioner serves at the pleasure of the Secretary. 27 (b) 28 (c) The Commissioner: has the same authority over the Division as this Code vests in the 29 Commissioner of Correction over the Division of Correction; 30 shall keep safely any inmate committed or transferred to the custody of 31 32 the Commissioner until the inmate is discharged in accordance with law; is in charge of the Division, subject to the authority of the Secretary; 33 (3) is the appointing authority for all employees of the Division; 34 (4)

shall establish a home detention program under terms and conditions

(5)

1	that the Secretary provides;
2	(6) may enter agreements with the Commissioner of Correction and
3	governmental units for the housing of any inmate held in the Baltimore City Detention
4	Center;
5	(7) may enter agreements for the housing of any inmate committed to
6	federal or local governmental units in the Baltimore City Detention Center; and
7	(8) may enter other agreements necessary to carry out the purposes of this
8	title.
9	(d) (1) Subject to paragraph (2) of this subsection and notwithstanding any
10	other provision of law, the Commissioner shall establish by regulation the terms and
11	conditions of the home detention program required under subsection (c)(5) of this section.
12	(2) The authority of a court to determine the conditions of pretrial release
13	or to find that a defendant awaiting trial may not be placed on a home detention program may
14	not be limited or superseded by:
15	(i) a regulation of the Division or Department; or
16	(ii) the Division or the Commissioner.
17	Subtitle 3. Pretrial Release Services Program.
18	§ 5-301.
19	(a) There is a Pretrial Release Services Program in the Division.
20	(b) Subject to the authority of the Commissioner and in addition to any other duties
21	established by law, the Pretrial Release Services Program shall perform the pretrial release
22	duties formerly performed by the Pretrial Release Services Division of the Department of
23	Public Safety and Correctional Services, the Pretrial Release Committee, and the Division
24	of Parole and Probation.
21	of Larole and Libration.
25	Subtitle 4. Baltimore City Detention Center.
26	§ 5-404.
27	(a) The Division shall operate a centralized booking facility for Baltimore City.
28	(b) The centralized booking facility shall include:
29	(1) pretrial release services;
	(2) District Court Commissioners;
30	(3) an Office of the State's Attorney for Baltimore City; and
31	·
32	(4) Baltimore City Police Services. (5) The controllined backing facility or the Politimore City Detention Center shall
33	(c) The centralized booking facility or the Baltimore City Detention Center shall

be equipped for video bail review.

1	Title 6. Parole and Probation.							
2			Sub	otitle 1. Division of Parole and Probation.				
3	§ 6-112.							
4	(a)	•••						
5		(2)	Exce	pt on court order, a presentence investigation report is confidential				
6	and is not av	ailable	for pu	blic inspection.				
7		(3)	On re	equest, a presentence investigation report shall be made available				
8	to:							
9				***				
10			(v)	a parole, probation, or pretrial release official of this State, any				
11	other state, o	or the U	Jnited S	States;				
12				***				
13			,	Title 11. Local Correctional Facilities.				
14			S	ubtitle 7. Individual County Provisions.				
15	§ 11-702.							
16	(a)	This	section	applies only in Allegany County.				
17	(b)	(1)	The S	Sheriff may:				
18			(i)	establish a pretrial release program that offers alternatives to				
19	pretrial deter	ntion; a	and					
20	•		(ii)	adopt regulations to administer the program.				
21		(2)	A co	urt may order an individual to participate in the pretrial release				
22	program if th	he indi						
23			(i)	appears before the court after being charged and detained on				
24	bond; and							
25			(ii)	meets the eligibility requirements of paragraph (4) of this				
26	subsection.							
27		(3)	The c	court may make the order at the imposition of bond, on review of				
28	bond, or any	other		ring the individual's pretrial detention.				
29	·	(4)		ndividual is eligible for the pretrial release program if the				
30	individual:							
31			(i)	is recommended to the court for placement in the program by the				
32	program staf	ff;	. /					
33			(ii)	has no other charges pending in any jurisdiction; and				

1			(iii) i	s not i	in detention for:
2			1		a crime of violence; or
3			2	: (•	the crime of escape under § 9-404 of the Criminal Law
4	Article.				
5					***
6	§ 11- 7 11.				
7	(a)	In th	is section	ı, "Wa	arden" means the warden of the Dorchester County
8	Department	of Corr	rections.		
9	(b)	This s	section ap	plies	only in Dorchester County.
10	(c)	The C	County Co	ommi	ssioners may establish under the County Department of
11	Corrections	prograi	ns for:		
12					***
13		(3)	pretrial	releas	se; and
14					***
15	(d)	The C	County Co	ommi	ssioners shall adopt regulations necessary to implement
16	each progran	n estab	lished un	der th	is section.
17	(e)	At the	e time of s	entend	cing or at any time during an individual's confinement, the
18	court may al	low the	e individu	al to j	participate in a program established under this section if
19	the individua	al:			
20		(1)	is senter	nced t	to the custody of the warden; and
21		(2)	has no o	other c	charges pending in any jurisdiction.
22	(f)	An in	mate desi	gnate	d to participate in a program under this section may leave
23	the detention	n center	to:		
24		(1)	continue	eregu	ılar employment; or
25		(2)	seek nev	<i>x</i> emp	ployment.
26	(g)	(1)		_	r warden's designee shall collect the earnings of an inmate
27	designated to	o partic	ipate in a	work	release program, less any payroll deduction required by
28	law.				
29		(2)	From th	e earn	nings of the inmate, the warden shall deduct and disburse
30	an amount th	nat:			
31			(i) t	ne wai	rden determines to be a reasonable cost for providing food,
32	lodging, and	clothir			
33			(ii) t	ne Co	ounty actually incurs for necessary food, travel, and other
34	expenses inc	idental	to the in	nate's	s participation in the program;
35	•				t imposes for a fine, cost, or restitution;
36					nate is legally obligated to pay, or reasonably wants to pay,
37	for support of	of a dep			

1			(v)	a court orders the inmate to repay to the State or the County for		
2	the services of an attorney appointed by the court.					
3	(3) The warden shall:					
4			(i)	credit to the inmate's account any remaining balance; and		
5			(ii)	dispose of the balance in the inmate's account as the individual		
6	reasonably re	equests	and as	the warden approves.		
7	(h)	(1)	If an	inmate violates a trust or a condition that a court or the County		
8	Department of	of Corr	ections	establishes for participation in a program under this section, the		
9	inmate is sub	ject to:	:			
10			(i)	removal from the program; and		
11			(ii)	cancellation of any earned diminution of the inmate's term of		
12	confinement.					
13		(2)	If a co	ondition that a court imposes on an inmate is inconsistent with a		
14	regulation ad	lopted ı	ınder tl	his section, the condition imposed by the court controls as to that		
15	inmate.					
16		(3)	If an i	nmate violates a trust or a condition that the court or the County		
17	Department of	of Corr	ections	s establishes, the County Department of Corrections shall notify		
18	the sentencin	g court	t in wri	ting of the violation.		
19	(i)	(1)	The w	varden or warden's designee may authorize compassionate leave		
20	under this su	bsectio	n for a	ny inmate committed to the County Department of Corrections:		
21			(i)	to visit a seriously ill member of the inmate's immediate family;		
22	or					
23			(ii)	to attend the viewing or funeral of a member of the inmate's		
24	immediate fa	mily.				
25		(2)	An in	mate who violates the terms of an authorization for compassionate		
26	leave is subje	ect to th	ne sanc	tions specified in subsection (h)(1) and (2) of this section.		
27		(3)	An in	mate who is granted compassionate leave under this subsection		
28	may be requi	red to	reimbu	rse the County Department of Corrections for any expenses that		
29	the Departme	ent incu	ırs in g	ranting the leave.		
30		(4)	The	warden shall adopt regulations necessary to carry out this		
31	subsection.					
32	§ 11-712.					
33	(a)	This s	ection	applies only in Frederick County.		
34	(b)	(1)		heriff shall:		
35			(i)	establish a pretrial release program that offers alternatives to		
36	pretrial deten	ition; a	nd			
37	_		(ii)	adopt regulations to administer the program.		

1		(2)	A cou	art may order an individual to participate in the pretrial release			
2	program, if the individual:						
3			(i)	appears before the court after being charged and detained on			
4	bond; and						
5			(ii)	meets the eligibility requirements of paragraph (4) of this			
6	subsection.						
7		(3)	The c	ourt may make the order at the imposition of bond, on review of			
8	bond, or any	other t	time du	ring the individual's pretrial detention.			
9		(4)	An in	ndividual is eligible for the pretrial release program if the			
10	individual:						
11			(i)	is recommended to the court for placement in the program by the			
12	program staf	f;					
13			(ii)	has no other charges pending in any jurisdiction; and			
14			(iii)	is not in detention for:			
15				1. a crime of violence; or			
16				2. the crime of escape under § 9-404 of the Criminal Law			
17	Article.						
18				****			
19	§ 11- 7 16.						
20	(a)	In thi	s section	on, "warden" means the warden of the Kent County Detention			
21	Center.						
22	(b)			applies only in Kent County.			
23	(c)		-	Commissioners may establish under the Kent County Detention			
24	Center progr	ams fo	r:				
25				****			
26		(3)	pretri	al release; and			
27				****			
28	(d)		-	Commissioners shall adopt regulations necessary to implement			
29	each program			under this section.			
30	(e)			f sentencing or at any time during an individual's confinement, the			
31			individ	ual to participate in any program established under this section if			
32	the individua	al:					
33		(1)	is sen	tenced to the custody of the warden; and			
34		(2)	has no	o other charges pending in any jurisdiction.			
35	(f) An inmate designated to participate in a program under this section may leave						
36	the Kent County Detention Center to:						
37		(1)	contir	nue regular employment;			

1		(2)	seek r	new employment; or			
2		(3)	receiv	re therapy for drug or alcohol addiction.			
3	(g)	(1)	The w	varden or warden's designee shall collect the earnings of an inmate			
4	designated to	o partic	ipate in a work release program, less any payroll deduction required by				
5	law.	-	_				
6		(2)	From	the earnings of the inmate, the warden shall deduct and disburse			
7	an amount:						
8			(i)	the warden determines to be the cost to the County for providing			
9	food, lodgin	g, and c	lothing	g for the inmate;			
10			(ii)	the County actually incurs for necessary food, travel, and other			
11	expenses inc	idental	to part	icipation by the inmate in the program;			
12	_		(iii)	a court imposes for a fine, cost, or restitution;			
13			(iv)	the inmate is legally obligated to pay, or reasonably wants to pay,			
14	for support of	of a dep	endent				
15	• •	•	(v)	a court orders the inmate to repay to the State or to the County			
16	for the services of an attorney appointed by the court.						
17		(3)		varden shall:			
18		, ,	(i)	credit to the inmate's account any remaining balance; and			
19			(ii)	dispose of the balance in the inmate's account as the inmate			
20	reasonably r	equests	and as	the warden approves.			
21	(h) (1) If an inmate violates a trust or a condition that the court or the Ken						
22	County Detention Center establishes for conduct or employment, the inmate is subject to:						
23	•		(i)	removal from a program specified in subsection (c) of this			
24	section; and						
25			(ii)	cancellation of any earned diminution of the inmate's term of			
26	confinement	- ••		·			
27		(2)	If a co	ondition that a court imposes on an inmate is inconsistent with a			
28	regulation ac	dopted i		nis section, the condition imposed by the court controls as to that			
29	inmate.	•		, ,			
30		(3)	If an i	nmate violates a trust or a condition that a court or the detention			
31	center estab	` '		nt County Detention Center shall notify the sentencing court in			
32	writing of th			, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,			
33	(i)	(1)		es of the Kent County Detention Center who are employed under			
34	§ 11-602 of	this title					
35	<u> </u>		(i)	court-ordered payments for restitution; and			
36			(ii)	the reasonable cost of the food, lodging, and clothing of the			
37	inmate.		` /	, , ,			

The County Commissioners shall:

(2)

(i)

establish a reasonable per diem rate for the food, lodging, and

2	clothing of a	n inmate; and
3		(ii) designate the warden as the agent to collect these costs.
4	(j)	(1) Subject to paragraph (2) of this subsection, the County may collect from
5	an inmate wl	no is sentenced to the Kent County Detention Center for nonconsecutive periods
6	of 48 hours	or less an amount determined to be the average cost to the county of providing
7		g, and clothing for the inmate.
8		(2) A court may waive any or all of the charge specified in paragraph (1)
9	of this subse	
10	(k)	(1) The warden or warden's designee may authorize compassionate leave
11	under this su	bsection for any inmate committed to the Kent County Detention Center:
12		(i) to visit a seriously ill member of the immediate family of the
13	inmate; or	
14		(ii) to attend a viewing or funeral of a member of the immediate
15	family of the	
16	·	(2) An inmate who is granted compassionate leave may be required to
17	reimburse th	e Kent County Detention Center for any expenses that the detention center incurs
18	in granting t	he leave.
19		(3) The warden shall adopt regulations necessary to carry out this
20	subsection.	
21	§ 11-724.	
22	(a)	In this section, "Director" means the Director of the Wicomico County
23	` '	of Corrections.
24	(b)	This section applies only in Wicomico County.
25	(c)	The County Council may establish under the County Department of Corrections
26	programs fo	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
27	1 0	****
28		(3) pretrial release; and
29		****
30	(d)	The County Council shall adopt regulations necessary to implement each
31	program esta	ablished under this section.
32	(e)	At the time of sentencing or at any time during an individual's confinement, the
33	court may al	low the individual to participate in any program established under this section
34	if the individ	
35		(1) is sentenced to the custody of the Director; and
36		(2) has no other charges pending in any jurisdiction.

An inmate designated to participate in a program specified under subsection

(f)

36

1	(c) of this see	ction m	ay leav	ve the detention center to:
2		(1)		nue regular employment; or
3		(2)		new employment.
4	(g)	(1)	The I	Director or Director's designee, shall collect the earnings of an
5	inmate desig	gnated 1	to parti	icipate in a work release program, less any payroll deduction
6	required by l	aw.		
7		(2)	From	the earnings of the inmate, the Director shall deduct and disburse
8	an amount:			
9			(i)	the Director determines to be a reasonable cost for providing
10	food, lodging	g, and c	clothing	g for the inmate;
11			(ii)	the County actually incurs for necessary food, travel, and other
12	expenses inc	idental	to the	inmate's participation in the program;
13			(iii)	a court imposes for a fine, cost, or restitution;
14			(iv)	the inmate is legally obligated to pay, or reasonably desires to
15	pay, for supp	ort of a	a depen	ident; and
16			(v)	a court orders the inmate to repay to the State or to the County
17	for the service	ces of a	n attori	ney appointed by a court.
18		(3)	The D	Director shall:
19			(i)	credit to the inmate's account any remaining balance; and
20			(ii)	dispose of the balance in the inmate's account as the inmate
21	reasonably re	equests	and as	the Director approves.
22	(h)	(1)	If an	inmate violates a trust or a condition that a court or the County
23	Department	of Cor	rection	s has established for participation in a program specified in
24	subsection (c	c) of thi	s section	on, the inmate is subject to:
25			(i)	removal from the program; and
26			(ii)	cancellation of any earned diminution of the inmate's term of
27	confinement			
28		(2)	If a co	ondition that a court imposes on an inmate is inconsistent with a
29	regulation ac	lopted ι	ınder tl	nis section, the condition imposed by the court controls as to that
30	inmate.			
31		(3)	If an	inmate violates a trust or a condition that a court or the County
32	Department	of Corr	ections	s establishes, the County Department of Corrections shall notify
33	the sentencir	ng cour	t in wri	ting of the violation.
34	(i)	(1)	The I	Director or the Director's designee may authorize compassionate
35	leave under	this si		on for any inmate committed to the County Department of
36	Corrections:			
37			(i)	to visit a seriously ill member of the inmate's immediate family;

or

1	(ii) to attend the viewing or funeral of a member of the inmate's
2	immediate family.
3	(2) An inmate who violates the terms of an authorization for compassionate
4	leave is subject to the sanctions specified in subsection (h)(1) of this section and § 11-726
5	of this subtitle.
6	(3) An inmate who is granted compassionate leave under this subsection
7	may be required to reimburse the Department for any expenses that the County Department
8	of Corrections incurs in granting the leave.
9	(4) The Director shall adopt regulations necessary to carry out this
10	subsection.
11	Courts and Judicial Proceedings
12	Title 2. Court Personnel.
13	Subtitle 6. Officers of the District Court.
14	§ 2-607.
15	(a) (1) The administrative judge of each district, with the approval of the Chief
16	Judge of the District Court, may appoint the number of commissioners necessary to perform
17	the functions of the office within each county.
18	(2) In multicounty districts, the administrative judge shall obtain the
19	recommendation of the resident judge in each county as to the number of commissioners
20	required in the county and as to the persons to be appointed.
21	(b) (1) Commissioners shall be adult residents of the counties in which they
22	serve, but they need not be lawyers.
23	(2) Each commissioner shall hold office at the pleasure of the Chief Judge
24	of the District Court, and has the powers and duties prescribed by law.
25	(3) Except without additional compensation, unless otherwise fixed by law,
26	an employee of the District Court, who is an adult, may be granted, in the same manner,
27	commissioner powers and duties in the county where the employee is employed.
28	(c) (1) A commissioner shall receive applications and determine probable cause
29	for the issuance of charging documents.
30	(2) A commissioner shall advise arrested persons of their constitutional
31	rights, set bond or commit persons to jail in default of bond or release them on personal
32	recognizance if circumstances warrant, and conduct investigations and inquiries into the
33	circumstances of any matter presented to him in order to determine if probable cause exists
34	for the issuance of a charging document, warrant, or criminal summons and, in general,

perform all the functions of committing magistrates as exercised by the justices of the peace prior to July 5, 1971.

- (3) There shall be in each county, at all times, one or more commissioners available for the convenience of the public and police in obtaining charging documents, warrants, or criminal summonses and to advise arrested persons of their rights as required by law.
- (4) A commissioner may exercise the powers of office in any county to which the commissioner is assigned:
- (i) By the Chief Judge of the District Court, as to assignment to a county in another district that is contiguous to the county in which the commissioner resides; or
- (ii) By an administrative commissioner, as to assignment to a county within that district that is contiguous to the county in which the commissioner resides.
- (5) The Chief Judge of the District Court may authorize one or more commissioners to perform the duties of a commissioner regarding persons arrested in a county other than the county in which the commissioner resides and for which the commissioner was appointed when the arrested persons are brought before the commissioner by a peace officer of the jurisdiction in which that arrest was made.
- (d) (1) The authority under this subsection applies only to a respondent who is an adult.
- (2) A commissioner may issue an interim order for protection of a person eligible for relief in accordance with § 4-504.1 of the Family Law Article or a petitioner in accordance with § 3-1503.1 of this article.
- (e) (1) Notwithstanding the residence requirements set out in subsection (b) of this section, the Chief Judge of the District Court may assign a commissioner of the District Court to serve temporarily in a county that is contiguous to the commissioner's county of residence.
- (2) A designation made under this subsection may only be made in extraordinary circumstances and may not exceed 30 days.
- (f) Notwithstanding the residence requirement of subsection (b)(1) of this section, a commissioner who is designated by the Chief Judge of the District Court as the supervising commissioner of a multicounty district is authorized to perform the duties of a commissioner in any county of the multicounty district and to assign any other commissioner from that district to perform duties within any county of that district that is contiguous to the county in which the commissioner resides.

Title 3. Courts of General Jurisdiction - Jurisdiction/special Causes of Action.

Subtitle 7. Habeas Corpus.

§ 3-704.

- (a) On return of a writ of habeas corpus and production of a person and cause of his detention before a judge, the judge shall immediately inquire into the legality and propriety of the confinement or detention.
- (b) If it appears to the judge that the person is detained without legal warrant or authority, he shall release or discharge the person immediately.
 - (c) If the judge considers the detention lawful and proper, the person shall be:
 - (1) Remanded to custody; or
 - (2) Admitted to bail.
- (d) If the person is admitted to bail, the judge shall take a recognizance for his appearance in court and transmit it to a court having jurisdiction over the offense charged.

§ 3-707.

- (a) If a judge refuses to issue a writ of habeas corpus sought for the purpose of determining the right to bail, or if a judge sets bail claimed to be excessive prior to trial or after conviction, but prior to final judgment, a petitioner may apply to the Court of Special Appeals for leave to appeal from the refusal.
- (b) (1) A petitioner shall file the application for leave to appeal within ten days after the denial or grant of habeas corpus relief stating briefly why the order of the lower court should be reversed or modified.
- (2) The record on the application for leave to appeal shall contain a copy of the petition for habeas corpus, the State's answer, if any, the order of the court, and the memorandum of reasons issued by the judge.
- (3) If the Court grants the application, it may order the preparation of a transcript of any proceedings related to the habeas corpus petition.
- (c) (1) The Court of Special Appeals may grant or deny the application for leave to appeal. If the Court grants the application, it may affirm, reverse, or modify the order of the lower court granting or denying the relief sought by the writ.
- (2) If the Court determines that the lower court was wrong in refusing to admit to bail or that the bail set is not appropriate, it may determine the proper amount of bail. This determination is binding on the lower court, unless a change of circumstances warrants a different decision.
 - Subtitle 8A. Juvenile Causes Children Other Than CINAs and Adults.
- § 3-8A-06.

*** 1 2 If jurisdiction is waived under this section, the court shall order the child held for trial under the regular procedures of the court which would have jurisdiction over the 3 offense if committed by an adult. The petition alleging delinquency shall be considered a 4 charging document for purposes of detaining the child pending a bail hearing. 5 **** 6 7 § 3-8A-15. *** 8 9 If a child is alleged to have committed a delinquent act, the court or a (i) juvenile intake officer shall consider including, as a condition of releasing the child pending 10 an adjudicatory or disposition hearing, reasonable protections for the safety of the alleged 11 victim. 12 13 If a victim has requested reasonable protections for safety, the court or juvenile intake officer shall consider including, as a condition of releasing the child pending 14 an adjudicatory or disposition hearing, provisions regarding no contact with the alleged 15 victim or the alleged victim's premises or place of employment. 16 § 3-8A-27. 17 18 (a) (1) A police record concerning a child is confidential and shall be 19 maintained separate from those of adults. Its contents may not be divulged, by subpoena or otherwise, except by order of the court upon good cause shown or as otherwise provided in 20 § 7-303 of the Education Article. 21 22 This subsection does not prohibit: (2) Access to and confidential use of the record by the Department 23 of Juvenile Justice or in the investigation and prosecution of the child by any law 24 25 enforcement agency; or A law enforcement agency of the State or of a political 26 (ii) subdivision of the State, the Department of Juvenile Justice, or the criminal justice 27 28 information system from including in the law enforcement computer information system information about an outstanding juvenile court ordered writ of attachment, for the sole 29 purpose of apprehending a child named in the writ. 30 A court record pertaining to a child is confidential and its contents may 31 not be divulged, by subpoena or otherwise, except by order of the court upon good cause 32 shown or as provided in § 7-303 of the Education Article. 33 34 This subsection does not prohibit access to and the use of the court record or fingerprints of a child described under Title 10, Subtitle 2 of the Criminal 35 Procedure Article in a proceeding in the court involving the child, by personnel of the court, 36

the State's Attorney, counsel for the child, a court-appointed special advocate for the child, or authorized personnel of the Department of Juvenile Justice.

- (3) (i) Except as provided in subparagraph (ii) of this paragraph, this subsection does not prohibit access to and confidential use of the court record or fingerprints of a child described under Title 10, Subtitle 2 of the Criminal Procedure Article by the Department of Juvenile Justice or in an investigation and prosecution by a law enforcement agency.
- (ii) The court record or fingerprints of a child described under §§ 10-215(a) (21) and (22), 10-216, and 10-220 of the Criminal Procedure Article may not be disclosed to:
 - 1. A federal criminal justice agency or information center;

or

- 2. Any law enforcement agency other than a law enforcement agency of the State or a political subdivision of the State.
- (4) (i) This subsection does not prohibit access to and use of a court record by a judicial officer who is authorized under the Maryland Rules to determine a defendant's eligibility for pretrial release, counsel for the defendant, or the State's Attorney if:
- 1. The individual who is the subject of the court record is charged as an adult with an offense;
- 2. The access to and use of the court record is strictly limited for the purpose of determining the defendant's eligibility for pretrial release; and
- 3. The court record concerns an adjudication of delinquency that occurred within 3 years of the date the individual is charged as an adult.
- (ii) The Court of Appeals may adopt rules to implement the provisions of this paragraph.
- (c) The court, on its own motion or on petition, and for good cause shown, may order the court records of a child sealed, and, upon petition or on its own motion, shall order them sealed after the child has reached 21 years of age. If sealed, the court records of a child may not be opened, for any purpose, except by order of the court upon good cause shown.
- (d) This section does not prohibit access to or use of any juvenile record by the Maryland Division of Parole and Probation or the Maryland Parole Commission when the Division or the Commission is carrying out any of their statutory duties either at the direction of a court of competent jurisdiction, or when the Maryland Parole Commission is carrying out any of its statutory duties, if the record concerns a charge or adjudication of delinquency.
- (e) This section does not prohibit access to and use of any juvenile record by the Maryland Division of Correction when the Division is carrying out any of its statutory duties if:

1	(1) the individual to whom the record pertains is committed to the custody
2	of the Division; and
3	(2) the record concerns an adjudication of delinquency.
4	(f) Subject to the provisions of Article 83C, § 2-115 of the Code, this section does
5	not prohibit access to or use of any juvenile record for criminal justice research purposes. A
6	record used under this subsection may not contain the name of the individual to whom the
7	record pertains, or any other identifying information which could reveal the individual's
8	name.
9	(g) This section does not prohibit a victim or victim's representative who has filed
10	a notification request form from being notified of proceedings and events involving the
11	defendant or child as provided in this subtitle, the Criminal Procedure Article, the Criminal
12	Law Article, or Article 27 of the Code.
13	Title 5. Limitations, Prohibited Actions, and Immunities.
14	Subtitle 1. Limitations.
15	§ 5-102 .
16	(a) An action on one of the following specialties shall be filed within 12 years after
17	the cause of action accrues, or within 12 years from the date of the death of the last to die of
18	the principal debtor or creditor, whichever is sooner:
19	(1) Promissory note or other instrument under seal;
20	(2) Bond except a public officer's bond;
21	(3) Judgment;
22	(4) Recognizance;
23	(5) Contract under seal; or
24	(6) Any other specialty.
25	(b) A payment of principal or interest on a specialty suspends the operation of this
26	section as to the specialty for three years after the date of payment.
27	(c) This section does not apply to a specialty taken for the use of the State.
28	Subtitle 10. Prisoner Litigation Act.
29	§ 5-1001.
30	(a) In this subtitle the following words have the meanings indicated.
31	(b) (1) "Administrative remedy" means any procedure for review of a prisoner's
32	complaint or grievance, including judicial review, if available, that is provided by the
33	Department, the Division of Correction, or any county or other municipality or political

2	(2)	"Administrative remedy" includes a proceeding under Title 10, Subtit	le
3	2 of the State Gove	ment Article or Title 10, Subtitle 2 of the Correctional Services Articl	le.
4	(c) (1)	"Civil action" means a legal action seeking money damages, injunctive	ve
5	relief, declaratory	elief, or any appeal filed in any court in the State that relates to	or
6	involves a prisoner	conditions of confinement.	
7	(2)	"Civil action" includes:	
8		(i) An appeal of an administrative remedy to any court;	
9		(ii) A petition for mandamus against the prisoner's custodian, i	its
10	officers or employe	es, or any official or employee of the Department;	
11		(iii) Any tort claim against a custodian, the custodian's officers	or
12	employees, or any	mployee or official of the Department;	
13		(iv) Any action alleging a violation of civil rights against a custodia	ın,
14	the custodian's offi	ers and employees, or any official or employee of the Department; or	
15		(v) Any appeal, application for leave to appeal, or petition for	or
16	certiorari.		
17	(3)	"Civil action" does not include a postconviction petition or petition f	or
18	habeas corpus relie		
19		itions of confinement" means any circumstance, situation or event th	at
20	_	custody, transportation, incarceration, or supervision.	
21	` ,	odian" means the institution or agency that has custody of the prisone	
22		rtment" means the Department of Public Safety and Correction	ıal
23	Services.		
24	$(g) \qquad (1)$	"Prisoner" means a person who is in the custody of the Department	or
25	a local detention co		
26	(2)	"Prisoner" includes pretrial detainees.	
27		Title 7. Costs.	
28		Subtitle 2. Circuit Court.	
29	§ 7-202.*		

subdivision, and results in a written determination or disposition.

^{*}The Schedule of Circuit Court Charges, Costs, and Fees, effective since October 1, 1999, provides in pertinent part:

^{3.} Criminal Cases Other Than Appeals.

⁽A) Unless a different fee is prescribed in paragraph (B) of this subsection, a court shall include an \$80 filing fee in the costs assessed under Rule 4-353, in

(1)

(a)

1

- costs and charges for the circuit courts of the counties with the approval of the Board of Public Works. The fees and charges shall be uniform throughout the State. fees required to be collected by law.
- 8
- 9 10
- 11 12
- 13
- 14
- Subtitle 2. Attendance and Pay.

Title 9. Witnesses.

first gives its consent.

which case the clerk shall collect the assessed fee.

- (B) A clerk shall collect:
 - a \$25 filing fee for docketing: (1)
 - a petition for extension of the time for forfeiture

of a bond;

(b) a petition to strike a bond forfeiture; and

The State Court Administrator shall determine the amount of all court

The Comptroller of the State shall require clerks of court to collect all

The clerk may not charge the State, any county, municipality, or Baltimore City

If a party in a proceeding feels aggrieved by any fee permitted under this

any fee provided by this subtitle, unless the State, county, municipality, or Baltimore City

subtitle or by §§ 3-601 through 3-603 of the Real Property Article of the Code, the party may

request a judge of that circuit court to determine the reasonableness of the fee.

- a petition for remission of a bond forfeiture; and (c)
- F. Recording.
- 1. Judgments, Liens and Proceedings. A clerk shall collect a \$15 recordation fee for:

- recording a lien, other than a notice of lien under bail forfeiture in the District Court or documents in connection with a lien under Real Property Article, § 3-404;
- each entry of an assignment of, credit on, modification of, or release of a lien, other than a notice of lien under bail forfeiture in the District Court, documents in connection with a lien under Real Property Article, § 3-404, or a release of lien filed by the District Court;

Declarations of Trust. A clerk shall collect no fee for recording a declaration of trust under Rule 4-217(e)(1)(B), to secure a bail bond or for a release of such declaration.

§ 9-204.

1 2

3

4

5

6

9

10

11 12

13

14

15

16 17

18

19

20 21

22

23 24

25

26

27 28

29

30

31 32

33

34

35

- The court which issued an execution on a forfeited recognizance for a witness who failed to appear may discharge the witness from execution upon motion showing good and sufficient cause for the failure.
 - This section does not apply in a case if capital punishment may be involved. (b)

Subtitle 3. Attendance of Witnesses From Without a State.

§ 9-302.

7 8

> If a certificate recommends that the witness be taken into immediate custody and delivered to an officer of the requesting state to assure his attendance in the requesting state, the judge may, in lieu of notification of the hearing, direct that the witness be forthwith brought before him for a hearing; and the judge at the hearing being satisfied of the desirability of the custody and delivery, for which determination the certificate shall be prima facie proof of a desirability may, in lieu of issuing subpoena or summons, order that a witness be forthwith taken into custody and delivered to an officer of the requesting state, provided, however, that the witness may be admitted to bail in the amount as may be fixed by the judge upon condition that the witness will appear at the time and place specified in the subpoena or summons served upon him. ****

§ 9-303.

- If a person in any state, which by its laws has made provision for commanding persons within its borders to attend and testify in criminal prosecutions, or grand jury investigations commenced or about to commence, in this State, is a material witness in a prosecution pending in a court of record in this State, or in a grand jury investigation which has commenced or is about to commence, a judge of the court may issue a certificate under the seal of the court stating these facts and specifying the number of days the witness will be required. A certificate may include a recommendation that the witness be taken into immediate custody and delivered to an officer of this State to assure his attendance in this State, unless the witness shall be admitted to bail by the appropriate authority, upon condition that the witness will appear at the time and place specified in the subpoena or summons served upon him. This certificate shall be presented to a judge of a court of record in the county in which the witness is found.
- If the witness is summoned to attend and testify in this State he shall be tendered the sum of 10 cents a mile for each mile by the ordinary traveled route to and from the court where the prosecution is pending, and \$5 for each day that he is required to travel

and attend as a witness. A witness who has appeared in accordance with the provisions of the summons shall not be required to remain within this State a longer period of time than the period mentioned in the certificate, unless otherwise ordered by the court. If the witness, after coming into this State, fails without good cause to attend and testify as directed in the summons, he shall be punished in the manner provided for the punishment of any witness who disobeys a summons issued from a court of record in this State.

Title 11. Judgments.

Subtitle 5. Execution.

§ 11-513.

- (a) If a recognizance taken for the appearance of a person to answer or testify is forfeited, the State's Attorney may order a writ of execution to be issued for the sum due on the recognizance.
- (b) If a writ of execution is issued against a person who failed to answer or testify, on the return of the execution he may file any plea to the execution which would be good and sufficient to a scire facias if a scire facias had issued on the recognizance.
- (c) If the plea is determined in favor of the person who filed the plea, he shall be discharged from the forfeiture. However, he may not be discharged from the execution before a hearing on the plea unless he:
 - (1) Pays or satisfies the execution;
 - (2) Gives a bond payable to the State; or
- (3) Enters into a recognizance in court with security in double amount of the forfeiture and costs due on the execution with condition to appear and plead in discharge of the execution, and abide by and fulfill the judgment on the recognizance.
 - Title 12. Appeals, Certiorari, and Certification of Questions.
- Subtitle 2. Review of Cases Docketed in Court of Special Appeals.

§ 12-202.

A review by way of certiorari may not be granted by the Court of Appeals in a case or proceeding in which the Court of Special Appeals has denied or granted:

(2) Leave to appeal from a refusal to issue a writ of habeas corpus sought for the purpose of determining the right to bail or the appropriate amount of bail;

(Compiled: 11/3/03)

Subtitle 3. Review of Decisions of Trial Courts of General Jurisdiction.

2	§ 12-302.	
3		****
4	(c)	In a criminal case, the State may appeal as provided in this subsection.
5		(1) The State may appeal from a final judgment granting a motion to
6	dismiss or c	quashing or dismissing any indictment, information, presentment, or inquisition
7		(2) The State may appeal from a final judgment if the State alleges that the
8	trial judge f	failed to impose the sentence specifically mandated by the Code.
9		(3) (i) In a case involving a crime of violence as defined in § 14-101 of
10	the Crimina	al Law Article, and in cases under §§ 5-602 through 5-609 and §§ 5-612 through
11	5-614 of the	e Criminal Law Article, the State may appeal from a decision of a trial court that
12	excludes ev	idence offered by the State or requires the return of property alleged to have beer
13	seized in vi	olation of the Constitution of the United States, the Constitution of Maryland, or
14	the Marylai	nd Declaration of Rights.
15		***
16		(v) Pending the prosecution and determination of an appeal taker
17	under parag	graph (1) or (3) of this subsection, the defendant shall be released on personal
18	_	ce bail. If the defendant fails to appear as required by the terms of the
19	•	ce bail, the trial court shall subject the defendant to the penalties provided in § 5-
20	211 of the (Criminal Procedure Article.
21		****
22		Criminal Law Article
23	Title 5	5. Controlled Dangerous Substances, Prescriptions, and Other Substances.
24		Subtitle 8. Criminal Procedure.
25	§ 5-809.	
26	Noty	withstanding any other law, at a hearing relating to bail or sentencing arising our
27	of a violation	on or alleged violation of this title, hearsay evidence is admissible if:
28		(1) the hearsay is relevant to the issue; and
29		(2) the underlying circumstances on which the hearsay is based and the
30	reliability o	of the source of the information are demonstrated.
31		Title 9. Crimes Against Public Administration

Subtitle 3. Obstructing Justice. 1 § 9-304. 2 A finding of good cause under this section may be based on any relevant 3 (a) evidence including credible hearsay. 4 For good cause shown, a court with jurisdiction over a criminal matter 5 (1) 6 or juvenile delinquency case may pass an order that is reasonably necessary to stop or prevent: 7 the intimidation of a victim or witness; or 8 (i) 9 (ii) a violation of this subtitle. The order may: 10 (2) prohibit a person from violating this subtitle; 11 (i) require an individual to maintain a certain physical distance from 12 (ii) 13 another person specified by the court; prohibit a person from communicating with another individual 14 (iii) specified by the court, except through an attorney or other individual specified by the court; 15 16 and 17 (iv) impose other reasonable conditions to ensure the safety of a victim or witness. 18 19 The court may hold a hearing to determine if an order should be issued (3) under this subsection. 20 The court may use its contempt power to enforce an order issued under 21 (c) (1) this section. 22 23 The court may revoke the pretrial release of a defendant or child (2) 24 respondent to ensure the safety of a victim or witness or the integrity of the judicial process if the defendant or child respondent violates an order passed under this section. 25 A District Court commissioner or an intake officer, as defined in § 3-8A-01 of 26 (d) the Courts Article, may impose for good cause shown a condition described in subsection 27 (b)(2) of this section as a condition of the pretrial release of a defendant or child respondent. 28 29 Subtitle 4. Harboring, Escape, and Contraband. 30 Part I. Harboring and Escape. § 9-404. 31 *** 32 This subsection applies to a person who is: 33 (c) (1) 34

1 2 3	 (ii) committed to home detention under the terms of pretrial release or by the Division of Correction under Title 3, Subtitle 4 of the Correctional Services Article. (2) A person may not knowingly:
4	(i) violate any restriction on movement imposed under the terms of
5	a temporary release or a home detention order or agreement; or
6	(ii) fail to return to a place of confinement under the terms of a
7	temporary release or a home detention order or agreement.
8	(d) Except as provided in § 9-405 of this subtitle, a person who violates this
9 10	section is guilty of the felony of escape in the first degree and on conviction is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 10 years or a fine not exceeding \$20,000 or both.
11	Criminal Procedure Article
12	Title 1. Definitions; General Provisions
13	Subtitle 2. General Provisions.
14	§ 1-207.
15	(a) The Governor may remit all or part of a fine or forfeiture.
16	(b) A defendant or surety applying for the remission of all or part of a
17	recognizance that has been forfeited:
18	(1) may apply to a court to order the remission in accordance with Title 4
19	of the Maryland Rules; and
20	(2) need not apply to the Governor to order the remission.
21	Title 3. Incompetency and Criminal Responsibility in Criminal Cases.
22	§ 3-105.
23	(a) (1) For good cause and after giving the defendant an opportunity to be
24	heard, the court may order the Health Department to examine the defendant to determine
25	whether the defendant is incompetent to stand trial.
26	(2) The court shall set and may change the conditions under which the
27	examination is to be made.
28	(b) Except in a capital case, on consideration of the nature of the charge, the court:
29	(1) may require or allow the examination to be done on an outpatient basis;
30	and (2) if an autmatiant assemination is authorized shall set beil for the
31	(2) if an outpatient examination is authorized, shall set bail for the
32	defendant or authorize release of the defendant on recognizance.

1	***
2	§ 3-106.
3	(a) Except in a capital case, if, after a hearing, the court finds that the defendant
4	is incompetent to stand trial but is not dangerous, as a result of a mental disorder or mental
5	retardation, to self or the person or property of others, the court may set bail for the defendant
6	or authorize release of the defendant on recognizance.
7	****
8	Title 4. Pretrial Procedures.
9	Subtitle 2. Venue And Other Procedural Matters.
10	§ 4-201.
11	(a) In the District Court, a prosecution for a crime shall be brought in the district
12	that includes the county where the crime was committed, and the trial shall be held in that
13	county unless the case is lawfully removed.
14	(b) If a person is feloniously stricken or poisoned in a county and dies in another
15	county of the same stroke or poison, a prosecution for the felony shall be brought in the
16	county where the stroke or poison was given.
17	(c) A prosecution may be brought in the county in which the defendant is arrested
18	or first brought if the prosecution is for:
19	(1) a crime committed on the waters of the Chesapeake Bay and not in a
20	county;
21	(2) aiding, abetting, or comforting the perpetrator of such a crime; or
22	(3) being an accessory to such a crime.
23	(d) If a person is feloniously stricken or poisoned on the waters of the Chesapeake

- (d) If a person is feloniously stricken or poisoned on the waters of the Chesapeake Bay and not in a county, and dies of the same stroke or poison in a county, a prosecution for the felony, or for being an accessory to the felony, shall be brought in the county where the person died.
- (e) If a person is feloniously stricken or poisoned in a county, and dies of the same stroke or poison on the waters of the Chesapeake Bay and not in a county, a prosecution for the felony, or for being an accessory to the felony, shall be brought in the county where the stroke or poison was given.
- (f) (1) In this subsection, "common carrier" means a steamboat, railroad train, motor bus, airplane, or other means of intercity or interstate public transportation.
- (2) Subject to paragraph (3) of this subsection, a prosecution for an indictable crime committed on a common carrier may be brought, and a District Court

25

2627

28

29

30 31

32

3

4

5

6 7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18 19

20

21

2223

24

25

26

2728

29

30

31

32

33

34

35

3637

- commissioner may hold the defendant to bail if the crime is bailable, in any county from, to, or through which the common carrier runs.
- (3) If the accused is held to bail under this subsection by a District Court commissioner, prosecution for the crime shall be in the county where the defendant is held.
- (g) (1) A prosecution for a crime may be brought in the county in which process for the arrest and prosecution of the defendant is first issued if:
 - (i) the crime was committed at the boundary between counties; or
- (ii) the boundary is so uncertain or the site of the crime is so near to the boundary that it is doubtful in which county the crime was committed.
- (2) To establish the venue alleged in the charging document, the State need only prove that a set of facts in paragraph (1)(i) or (ii) of this subsection is true.
- (h) Except as otherwise provided by law, a prosecution of a person for being an accessory after the fact to murder or other felony shall be brought in the county in which the person became an accessory.

§ 4-202.1.

- (a) In this section, "child" means a defendant who is under the age of 18 years and whose case is eligible for transfer under the provisions of § 4-202(b)(1) and (2) and (c) of this subtitle.
 - (b) If a child remains in custody for any reason after a bail review hearing:
- (1) in the case of a child charged with a felony that is not within the jurisdiction of the District Court, the District Court shall:
- (i) clearly indicate on the case file and in computer records that the case involves a detained child; and
- (ii) set a preliminary hearing to be held within 15 days after the bail review hearing; or
- (2) in the case of a child charged with a crime in the District Court, the District Court:
- (i) shall clearly indicate on the case file and in computer records that the case involves a detained child;
- (ii) shall set a transfer hearing under § 4-202 of this subtitle to be held within 30 days after the filing of the charging document;
 - (iii) may order that a study be made under § 4-202 of this subtitle; and
- (iv) shall require that prompt notice be given to counsel for the child, or, if the child is not represented by counsel, to the Office of the Public Defender.
- (c) On receipt of a District Court case file that indicates that the case involves a child who was detained after a bail review hearing under subsection (b) of this section, a circuit court:

(Compiled: 11/3/03)

1	(1) unless previously set by the District Court under subsection (b)(2) of this
2	section, shall set a transfer hearing under § 4-202 of this subtitle to be held within 30 days
3	after the filing of the charging document in the circuit court;
4	(2) unless previously ordered by the District Court under subsection (b)(2)
5	of this section, may order that a study be made under § 4-202 of this subtitle; and
6	(3) shall require that prompt notice be given to counsel for the child, or, if
7	the child is not represented by counsel, to the Office of the Public Defender.
8	Title 5. Release.
9	Subtitle 1. In General.
10	§ 5-101.
11	(a) This section shall be liberally construed to carry out the purpose of relying on
12	criminal sanctions instead of financial loss to ensure the appearance of a defendant in a
13	criminal case before verdict or pending a new trial.
14	(b) (1) Except as provided in subsection (c) of this section, if, from all the
15	circumstances, the court believes that a minor or adult defendant in a criminal case will
16	appear as required for trial before verdict or pending trial, the defendant may be released on
17	personal recognizance.
18	(2) A failure to appear as required by personal recognizance is subject to
19	the penalties provided in § 5-211 of this title.
20	(c) A defendant may not be released on personal recognizance if the defendant is
21	charged with:
22	(1) a crime listed in § 5-202(d) of this title after having been convicted of
23	a crime listed in § 5-202(d) of this title; or
24	(2) a crime punishable by death or life imprisonment without parole.
25	§ 5-102.
26	A defendant charged with a crime punishable by life imprisonment may be released
27	on bail or other conditions of release before conviction.
28	Subtitle 2. Pretrial Release.
29	§ 5-201.
30	(a) (1) The court or a District Court commissioner shall consider including, as
31	a condition of pretrial release for a defendant, reasonable protections for the safety of the
32	alleged victim.

- (2) If a victim has requested reasonable protections for safety, the court or a District Court commissioner shall consider including, as a condition of pretrial release, provisions regarding no contact with the alleged victim or the alleged victim's premises or place of employment.
- (b) (1) In accordance with eligibility criteria, conditions, and procedures required under the Maryland Rules, the court may require, as a condition of a defendant's pretrial release, that the defendant be monitored by a private home detention monitoring agency licensed under Title 20 of the Business Occupations and Professions Article.
- (2) A defendant placed in private home detention under paragraph (1) of this subsection shall pay directly to the private home detention monitoring agency the agency's monitoring fee.

§ 5-202.

- (a) A District Court commissioner may not authorize pretrial release for a defendant charged with escaping from a correctional facility or any other place of confinement in the State.
- (b) (1) A District Court commissioner may not authorize the pretrial release of a defendant charged as a drug kingpin under § 5-613 of the Criminal Law Article.
- (2) A judge may authorize the pretrial release of a defendant charged as a drug kingpin on suitable bail and on any other conditions that will reasonably ensure that the defendant will not flee or pose a danger to another person or the community.
- (3) There is a rebuttable presumption that, if released, a defendant charged as a drug kingpin will flee and pose a danger to another person or the community.
- (c) (1) A District Court commissioner may not authorize the pretrial release of a defendant charged with a crime of violence if the defendant has been previously convicted:
 - (i) in this State of a crime of violence; or
- (ii) in any other jurisdiction of a crime that would be a crime of violence if committed in this State.
- (2) (i) A judge may authorize the pretrial release of a defendant described in paragraph (1) of this subsection on:
 - 1. suitable bail;
- 2. any other conditions that will reasonably ensure that the defendant will not flee or pose a danger to another person or the community; or
- 3. both bail and other conditions described under item 2 of this subparagraph.
- (ii) When a defendant described in paragraph (1) of this subsection is presented to the court under Maryland Rule 4-216(g), the judge shall order the continued detention of the defendant if the judge determines that neither suitable bail nor any condition

or combination of conditions will reasonably ensure that the defendant will not flee or pose a danger to another person or the community before the trial.

- (3) There is a rebuttable presumption that a defendant described in paragraph (1) of this subsection will flee and pose a danger to another person or the community.
- (d) (1) A District Court commissioner may not authorize the pretrial release of a defendant charged with committing one of the following crimes while the defendant was released on bail or personal recognizance for a pending prior charge of committing one of the following crimes:
- (i) aiding, counseling, or procuring arson in the first degree under § 6-102 of the Criminal Law Article;
- (ii) arson in the second degree or attempting, aiding, counseling, or procuring arson in the second degree under § 6-103 of the Criminal Law Article
 - (iii) burglary in the first degree under § 6-202 of the Criminal Law

Article;

1 2

3

4

5 6

7

8

9

10

11 12

13

1415

16

17

18

19

20

21 22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

31

32

33

3435

36

37

38

(iv) burglary in the second degree under § 6-203 of the Criminal Law

Article;

(v) burglary in the third degree under § 6-204 of the Criminal Law

Article;

(vi) causing abuse to a child under § 3-601 or § 3-602 of the Criminal

Law Article:

- (vii) a crime that relates to a destructive device under § 4-503 of the Criminal Law Article;
- (viii) a crime that relates to a controlled dangerous substance under §\$ 5-602 through 5-609 or § 5-612 or § 5-613 of the Criminal Law Article;
- (ix) manslaughter by vehicle or vessel under § 2-209 of the Criminal Law Article; and
 - (x) a crime of violence.
- (2) A defendant under this subsection remains ineligible to give bail or be released on recognizance on the subsequent charge until all prior charges have finally been determined by the courts.
- (3) A judge may authorize the pretrial release of a defendant described in paragraph (1) of this subsection on suitable bail and on any other conditions that will reasonably ensure that the defendant will not flee or pose a danger to another person or the community.
- (4) There is a rebuttable presumption that a defendant described in paragraph (1) of this subsection will flee and pose a danger to another person or the community if released before final determination of the prior charge.

- (e) (1) A District Court commissioner may not authorize the pretrial release of a defendant charged with violating:
 - (i) the provisions of an ex parte order described in § 4-505(a)(2)(i) of the Family Law Article or the provisions of a protective order described in § 4-506(d)(1) of the Family Law Article that order the defendant to refrain from abusing or threatening to abuse a person eligible for relief; or
 - (ii) the provisions of an order for protection, as defined in § 4-508.1 of the Family Law Article, issued by a court of another state or of a Native American tribe that order the defendant to refrain from abusing or threatening to abuse a person eligible for relief, if the order is enforceable under § 4-508.1 of the Family Law Article.
 - (2) A judge may allow the pretrial release of a defendant described in paragraph (1) of this subsection on:
 - (i) suitable bail;
 - (ii) any other conditions that will reasonably ensure that the defendant will not flee or pose a danger to another person or the community; or
 - (iii) both bail and other conditions described under subparagraph (ii) of this paragraph.
 - (3) When a defendant described in paragraph (1) of this subsection is presented to the court under Maryland Rule 4-216(g), the judge shall order the continued detention of the defendant if the judge determines that neither suitable bail nor any condition or combination of conditions will reasonably ensure that the defendant will not flee or pose a danger to another person or the community before the trial.

§ 5-203.

- (a) (1) A circuit court may adopt rules setting the terms and conditions of bail bonds filed in that court and rules on the qualifications of and fees charged by bail bondsmen.
- (2) A bail bond commissioner may be appointed to carry out rules adopted under this section.
- (3) A violation of a rule adopted under this section is contempt of court and shall be punished in accordance with Title 15, Chapter 200 of the Maryland Rules.
- (4) A person may not engage in the business of becoming a surety for compensation on bail bonds in criminal cases unless the person is:
- (i) approved in accordance with any rules adopted under this section; and
- (ii) if required under the Insurance Article, licensed in accordance with the Insurance Article.
 - (b) (1) In the circuit courts in the Seventh Judicial Circuit, a bail bondsman

- approved under subsection (a) of this section shall pay a license fee of 1% of the gross value of all bail bonds written in all courts of the circuit, if the fee is approved by the court of the county in which it applies.
 - (2) The fee shall be paid to the court as required by the rules of court and shall be used to pay the expenses of carrying out this section.
 - (3) Any absolute bail bond forfeitures collected may be used to pay the expenses of carrying out this section.

§ 5-204.

- (a) In a criminal case in a circuit court in which the defendant is allowed to give bail, the clerk of the court may take the bail if:
 - (1) the court adjourns before the defendant has secured the bail; and
- (2) the court before adjournment, or any judge of the court after adjournment, issues an order that sets the amount of the bail and directs the clerk to take the bail.
- (b) If a defendant is arrested on indictment in a bailable case in a circuit court and is confined during the recess of the court, any judge of the court, by written order, may set the amount of the bail and direct the clerk to take the bail with security.
 - (c) The clerk may not accept security for bail unless:
- (1) the person offering the security states under oath that the person owns real or personal property worth the amount of the bail, exclusive of the person's right to exemption from execution; and
 - (2) the clerk is satisfied that the statement is true.

§ 5-205.

- (a) A District Court judge may:
 - (1) set bond or bail;
- (2) release a defendant on personal recognizance or on a personal or other bail bond;
 - (3) commit a defendant to a correctional facility in default of a bail bond;
- (4) order a bail bond forfeited if the defendant fails to meet the conditions of the bond; and
- (5) exercise all of the powers of a justice of the peace under the Constitution of 1867.
- (b) (1) This subsection does not apply to a defendant who has been arrested for failure to appear in court or for contempt of court.
- (2) (i) In a criminal or traffic case in the District Court in which a bail bond has been set, the defendant or a private surety acting for the defendant may post the bail

bond by: 1

2

1. executing it in the full penalty amount; and

depositing with the clerk of the court or a commissioner

3 4

the greater of 10% of the penalty amount or \$25.

2.

5 6

A judge may increase the percentage of cash surety required in a particular case but may not authorize a cash deposit of less than \$25.

7 8 9

On depositing the amount required under paragraph (2) of this subsection and executing the recognizance, the defendant shall be released from custody subject to the conditions of the bail bond.

10 11

12

13

When all conditions of the bail bond have been performed without (1) default and the defendant has been discharged from all obligations in the cause for which the recognizance was posted, the clerk of the court shall return the deposit to the person or private surety who deposited it.

14 15

If the defendant fails to perform any condition of the bail bond, (2)the bail bond shall be forfeited.

16 17

(ii) If the bail bond is forfeited, the liability of the bail bond shall extend to the full amount of the bail bond set and the amount posted as a deposit shall be applied to reduce the liability incurred by the forfeiture.

18

§ 5-206.

19 20

In a criminal case, a judge may reinstate any bail, bond, or recognizance for criminal charges discharged at a preliminary hearing in the District Court, if a new charging document arises out of the substantially same set of facts.

23

21

22

§ 5-207.

(a)

24 25

If a defendant is found guilty in a circuit court and sentenced to imprisonment, a bond on which the defendant was released before the sentencing is terminated. If the defendant files a notice of appeal and the sentencing court requires a

26 27

bond to be posted, the defendant shall post a new bond.

28

§ 5-208.

29 30 31

In this section, "return" means to place in the custody of a police officer, sheriff, or other commissioned law enforcement officer who is authorized to make arrests within the jurisdiction of the court.

32 33

34

35

(b) Subject to paragraph (2) of this subsection, a court that exercises criminal jurisdiction shall strike out a forfeiture of bail or collateral and discharge the underlying bail bond if the defendant can show reasonable grounds for the defendant's failure to appear.

(2) The court shall:
(i) allow a surety 90 days after the date of the defendant's failure to
appear or, for good cause shown, 180 days to return the defendant before requiring the
payment of any forfeiture of bail or collateral; and
(ii) strike out a forfeiture of bail or collateral and deduct only the
actual expense incurred for the defendant's arrest, apprehension, or surrender, if:
1. the defendant is returned; and
2. the arrest, apprehension, or surrender occurs more than
90 days after the defendant's failure to appear or at the end of the period that the court allows
to return the defendant.
(c) Evidence of confinement of a fugitive defendant in a correctional facility in the
United States is a wholly sufficient ground to strike out a forfeiture, if assurance is given that
the defendant will come back to the jurisdiction of the court on expiration of the sentence at
no expense to the State, county, or municipal corporation.
(d) (1) Except as provided in paragraph (2) of this subsection, if the court
indefinitely postpones trial of a criminal charge by marking the criminal charge "stet" on the
docket:
(i) the defendant or other person who gave collateral for bail or
recognizance is entitled to a refund; and
(ii) if a bail bond or other security was given, the bail bond or other
security shall be discharged.
(2) If the bail bond or other security has been declared forfeited and 10
years have passed since the bail bond or other security was posted, the defendant or other
person may not receive a refund or discharge.
(e) (1) A court exercising criminal jurisdiction may not order a forfeiture of the
bail bond or collateral posted by a surety and shall give back the bail bond or collateral to the
surety if:
(i) the defendant fails to appear in court; and
(ii) the surety produces evidence, within the time limits established
under subsection (b) of this section, that:
1. the defendant is confined in a correctional facility outside
the State;
2. the State's Attorney is unwilling to issue a detainer and
later extradite the defendant; and
3. the surety agrees in writing to defray the
expense of returning the defendant to the jurisdiction in accordance with subsection (c) of
this section.

A court exercising criminal jurisdiction that has ordered forfeiture of

(2)

- a bail bond or collateral after expiration of the time limits established under subsection (b) of this section for a surety to return a defendant shall give back the forfeited bail bond or collateral if, within 10 years after the date the bail bond or collateral was posted, the surety produces evidence that:
- (i) the defendant is confined in a correctional facility outside the State;
- (ii) the State's Attorney is unwilling to issue a detainer and later extradite the defendant; and
- (iii) the surety agrees in writing to defray the expense of returning the defendant to the jurisdiction in accordance with subsection (c) of this section.

§ 5-209.

1

2

3

4 5

6

7

8

10

11 12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

2324

25

26

27

28

29

30

31 32

3334

35

36

- (a) In this section, "property bondsman" means a person other than a defendant who executes a bail bond secured by real estate in the State.
 - (b) This section does not apply in the Seventh Judicial Circuit.
- (c) A property bondsman may authorize an agent in writing to execute on behalf of the property bondsman:
 - (1) a bail bond; and
 - (2) a declaration of trust or deed of trust to secure a bail bond by real estate.
- (d) If all other requirements of law are met, a person authorized by law to take a bail bond shall take a bail bond secured by declaration of trust or deed of trust on real estate properly executed by an authorized agent of a property bondsman.
- (e) (1) A person who acts as a property bondsman for compensation shall provide to the court documentation of ownership, tax status, and liens against the property posted.
- (2) A person described under paragraph (1) of this subsection who willfully provides false documentation is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 1 year or a fine not exceeding \$1,000 or both.

§ 5-210.

- (a) (1) In this section the following words have the meanings indicated.
- (2) "Agent" means a person that acts or is authorized to act as the representative of a bail bondsman.
- (3) (i) "Bail bondsman" means a licensed limited surety agent or a licensed professional bail bondsman.
- (ii) "Bail bondsman" does not include a person that contracts with a public agency to provide bail bonds to persons detained in a correctional facility.
 - (b) On the grounds of a courthouse or correctional facility, a bail bondsman or an

- agent of a bail bondsman may not:
 (1) approach, entice, or invite a person to use the serv
 - (1) approach, entice, or invite a person to use the services of a bail bondsman;
 - (2) distribute, display, or wear an item that advertises the services of a bail bondsman; or
 - (3) otherwise solicit business as a bail bondsman.
 - (c) A person who violates subsection (b) of this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to:
 - (1) a fine not exceeding \$100 for a first offense; and
 - (2) a fine not exceeding \$1,000 for a subsequent offense.
 - (d) A person convicted of a violation of subsection (b) of this section shall be referred to the Insurance Commissioner for appropriate action.

§ 5-211.

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13 14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

2223

24

25

26

27

28 29

30

31 32

33 34

35

36

- (a) If a person has been charged with a crime and admitted to bail or released on recognizance and the person forfeits the bail or recognizance and willfully fails to surrender, a bench warrant shall be issued for the person's arrest.
- (b) A person who has been admitted to bail or released on recognizance in a criminal case in the State and who willfully fails to surrender within 30 days after the date of forfeiture is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to:
- (1) a fine not exceeding \$5,000 or imprisonment not exceeding 5 years or both, if the bail or recognizance was given in connection with a charge of a felony or pending an appeal, certiorari, habeas corpus, or postconviction proceeding after conviction of any crime; or
- (2) a fine not exceeding \$1,000 or imprisonment not exceeding 1 year or both, if the bail or recognizance was given in connection with a charge of a misdemeanor, or for appearance as a witness.
 - (c) This section does not diminish the power of a court to punish for contempt.
- (d) A person who is prosecuted under subsection (b)(1) of this section is subject to § 5-106(b) of the Courts Article regarding the exemption from the statute of limitations for the institution of prosecution and the right of in banc review.

§ 5-213.

- (a) A court may issue a bench warrant for the arrest of a defendant who violates a condition of pretrial release.
 - (b) After a defendant is presented before a court, the court may:
 - (1) revoke the defendant's pretrial release; or
 - (2) continue the defendant's pretrial release with or without conditions.

1	Title 6. Trial and Sentencing
2	Subtitle 2. Sentencing.
3	Part II. Sentencing Procedures.
4	§ 6-223.
5	(a) The District Court may end the period of probation at any time.
6	(b) During the period of probation, on written charges under oath or on violation
7	of a condition of probation, the District Court may issue a warrant or notice requiring the
8	probationer or defendant to be brought or appear before the judge issuing the warrant or
9	notice:
10	(1) to answer the charge of violation of conditions of probation or of
11	suspension of sentence; and
12	(2) to be present for the setting of a hearing date for that charge.
13	(c) Pending the hearing or determination of the charge, the District Court may
14	remand the probationer or defendant to a correctional facility or release the probationer or
15	defendant with or without bail.
16	(d) If, at the hearing, the District Court finds that the probationer or defendant has
17	violated a condition of probation, the District Court may:
18	(1) revoke the probation granted or the suspension of sentence; and
19 20	(2) impose any sentence that might have originally been imposed for the crime of which the probationer or defendant was convicted or pleaded nolo contendere.
21	Title 7. Uniform Postconviction Procedure Act.
22	Subtitle 1. In General.
23	§ 7-109.
24	****
25	(b)
26	(2) If the Attorney General or a State's Attorney states an intention to file
27 28	an application for an appeal under this section, the court may: ****
29	(ii) set bail for the petitioner.
30	****
31	Title 9. Extradition

(Compiled: 11/3/03)

§ 9-103.

1 2

- (a) A demand for the extradition of a person charged with crime in another state may not be recognized by the Governor unless it is:
- (1) in writing and alleging, except in cases arising under § 9-106 of this title, that the accused was present in the demanding state at the time of the commission of the alleged crime, and that thereafter the accused fled from the state; and
 - (2) accompanied by:
- (i) a copy of an indictment found or by information supported by affidavit in the state having jurisdiction of the crime, or by a copy of an affidavit made before a justice of the peace or magistrate there, together with a copy of any warrant which was issued thereupon; or
- (ii) a copy of a judgment of conviction or of a sentence imposed in execution thereof, together with a statement by the executive authority of the demanding state that the person claimed has escaped from confinement or has broken the terms of the person's bail, probation, or parole.
- (b) (1) The indictment, information, or affidavit made before the magistrate or justice of the peace must substantially charge the person demanded with having committed a crime under the law of that state.
- (2) The copy of indictment, information, affidavit, judgment of conviction, or sentence must be authenticated by the executive authority making the demand.

§ 9-113.

- (a) This section applies whenever:
- (1) it is charged on the oath of a credible witness before a judge or District Court commissioner that a person in this State:
- (i) has committed a crime in another state and, except in cases arising under § 9-106 of this title, has fled from justice; or
- (ii) has been convicted of a crime in another state and has escaped from confinement or has broken the terms of bail, probation, or parole; or
- (2) complaint is made before a judge or District Court commissioner in this State setting forth on the affidavit of a credible person in another state that a person is believed to be in this State and:
- (i) that a crime has been committed in the other state, the person has been charged in the other state with committing the crime and, except in cases arising under § 9-106 of this title, the person has fled from justice; or
- (ii) that the person has been convicted of a crime in the other state and has escaped from confinement or has broken the terms of bail, probation, or parole.
 - (b) A judge or District Court commissioner shall issue a warrant directed to any

law enforcement officer commanding the officer to apprehend the person named therein, wherever found in this State, and to bring the person before the judge, District Court commissioner, or any other judge or court available in or convenient to the place where the arrest may be made, to answer the charge or complaint and affidavit.

(c) A certified copy of the sworn charge or complaint and affidavit upon which the warrant is issued shall be attached to the warrant.

§ 9-114.

- (a) The arrest of a person may be lawfully made also by any law enforcement officer without a warrant upon reasonable information that the accused stands charged in a court of a state with a crime punishable by death or imprisonment for a term exceeding 1 year.
 - (b) When an accused is arrested under subsection (a) of this section:
- (1) the accused must be taken before a judge or District Court commissioner with all practicable speed;
- (2) complaint must be made against the accused under oath setting forth the ground for the arrest as in § 9-113 of this title; and
- (3) thereafter, the answer of the accused shall be heard as if the accused had been arrested on a warrant.

§ 9-115.

If, from the examination before the judge or District Court commissioner, it appears that the person held is the person charged with having committed the crime alleged and, except in cases arising under § 9-106 of this title, that the person has fled from justice, the judge or District Court commissioner must, by a warrant reciting the accusation, commit the person to the local correctional facility for a term specified in the warrant but not exceeding 30 days, as will enable the arrest of the accused to be made under a warrant of the Governor on a requisition of the executive authority of the state having jurisdiction of the crime, unless the person gives bail as provided in § 9-116 of this title or until the person is legally discharged.

§ 9-116.

(a) Except as provided in subsection (b) of this section, and unless the crime with which the person arrested is charged is shown to be a crime punishable by death or life imprisonment under the laws of the state in which it was committed, a judge in this State may admit the person arrested to bail by bond, with sufficient sureties, and in the sum the judge deems proper, conditioned for the person's appearance before the judge at a time specified in the bond, and for the person's surrender, to be arrested upon the warrant of the Governor

of this State.

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16 17

18

19

2021

22

23

24

25

2627

28

29

30

31

32

33

34

- (b) A judge may not admit a person to bail by bond under subsection (a) of this section for the first 10 days following the person's:
 - (1) arrest under or service with a governor's warrant under this title; or
 - (2) signing a waiver of extradition proceedings under this title.

§ 9-117.

If the accused is not arrested under warrant of the Governor within the time specified in the warrant or bond, a judge or District Court commissioner may discharge the accused or recommit the accused for a further period not to exceed 60 days, or a judge or District Court commissioner may again take bail for the accused's appearance and surrender, as provided in § 9-116 of this title, but within a period not to exceed 60 days after the date of the new bond.

§ 9-118.

- (a) If the accused is admitted to bail and fails to appear and surrender according to the conditions of the bond, the judge or District Court commissioner by proper order shall declare the bond forfeited and order the immediate arrest of the accused without warrant if the accused is within this State.
- (b) Recovery may be had on the bond in the name of the State as in the case of other bonds given by the accused in criminal proceedings within this State.

§ 9-122.

Whenever the Governor demands a person charged with crime or with escaping from confinement or breaking the terms of bail, probation, or parole in this State from the executive authority of any other state, the Governor shall issue a warrant under the seal of this State to an agent, commanding the agent to receive the person so charged and convey the person to the proper officer of the county in which the crime was committed.

§ 9-123.

- (a) (1) When the return to this State of a person charged with a crime in this State is required, the State's Attorney shall present to the Governor a written application for a requisition for the return of the person charged.
 - (2) The application shall state:
 - (i) the name of the person charged;
 - (ii) the crime charged against the person;
 - (iii) the approximate time, place, and circumstances of its

commission; and

(iv)

the state in which the person is believed to be, including the

location of the accused therein, when the application is made. 2 The application shall certify that in the opinion of the State's Attorney, 3 the ends of justice require the arrest and return of the accused to this State for trial, and the 4 proceeding is not instituted to enforce a private claim. 5 When the return to this State is required of a person who has been 6 (1) convicted of a crime in this State and has escaped from confinement or broken the terms of 7 bail, probation, or parole, the State's Attorney of the county in which the crime was 8 committed, the parole commission, or the managing official of the correctional facility or 9 sheriff of the county from which escape was made shall present to the governor a written 10 application for a requisition for the return of the person. 11 The application shall state: 12 (2) the name of the person; 13 (i) the crime of which the person was convicted; (ii) 14 the circumstances of the escape from confinement or of the 15 (iii) breach of the terms of bail, probation, or parole; and 16 the state in which the person is believed to be, including the 17 (iv) location of the person therein when application is made. 18 The application shall be verified by affidavit, be executed in duplicate, 19 and be accompanied by two certified copies of: 20 the indictment returned; 21 (i) the information and affidavit filed; 22 (ii) the complaint made to the judge or District Court commissioner, (iii) 23 stating the crime with which the accused is charged; or 24 25 the judgment of conviction or the sentence. (iv) The applicant may also attach further affidavits and other documents in 26 (2) 27 duplicate. One copy of the application with the action of the Governor indicated 28 (3) by endorsement thereon, and one of the certified copies of the indictment, complaint, 29 information, affidavits, judgment of conviction, or sentence shall be filed in the Office of the 30 Secretary of State, to remain of record in that office. 31 The other copies of all papers shall be forwarded with the Governor's 32 (4) requisition. 33

Any person arrested in this State charged with having committed any

crime in another state or alleged to have escaped from confinement, or broken the terms of

bail, probation, or parole, may waive the issuance and service of the warrant provided for in

(1)

§ 9-124.

3435

36

37

- §§ 9-107 and 9-108 of this title, and all other procedure incidental to extradition proceedings, by executing or subscribing in the presence of a judge of any court of record within this State a writing that states that the person consents to return to the demanding state.
- (2) Before a waiver is executed or subscribed by the person, it shall be the duty of the judge to inform the person of the right to the issuance and service of a warrant of extradition and the right to obtain a writ of habeas corpus as provided in § 9-110 of this title.
- (b) (1) If and when a consent has been duly executed, it shall forthwith be forwarded to the office of the Governor of this State and filed therein.
 - (2) The judge shall:
- (i) direct the officer having the person in custody to deliver forthwith the person to a duly accredited agent of the demanding state; and
- (ii) deliver or cause to be delivered to the agent a copy of the consent.
- (c) (1) This section does not limit the rights of the accused person to return voluntarily and without formality to the demanding state.
- (2) This waiver procedure is not an exclusive procedure and does not limit the powers, rights, or duties of the officers of the demanding state or of this State.

Title 10. Criminal Records.

Subtitle 1. Expungement of Police and Court Records.

§ 10-101.

- (a) In this subtitle the following words have the meanings indicated.
- (b) "Central repository" means the Criminal Justice Information System Central Repository in the Department.
- (c) (1) "Court record" means an official record of a court about a criminal proceeding that the clerk of a court or other court personnel keeps.
 - (2) "Court record" includes:
- (i) a record of a violation of the Transportation Article for which a term of imprisonment may be imposed; and
- (ii) an index, docket entry, charging document, pleading, memorandum, transcription of proceedings, electronic recording, order, and judgment.
- (d) "Expunge" means to remove information from public inspection in accordance with this subtitle.
- (e) "Expungement" with respect to a court record or a police record means removal from public inspection:

1	(1) by obliteration;					
2	(2) by removal to a separate secure area to which persons who do not have					
3	a legitimate reason for access are denied access; or					
4	(3) if access to a court record or police record can be obtained only by					
5	reference to another court record or police record, by the expungement of it or the part of it					
6	that provides access.					
7	(f) "Law enforcement unit" means a State, county, or municipal police department					
8	or unit, the office of a sheriff, the office of a State's Attorney, the office of the State					
9	Prosecutor, or the office of the Attorney General of the State.					
10	(g) "Minor traffic violation" means a nonincarcerable violation of the Maryland					
11	Vehicle Law or any other traffic law, ordinance, or regulation.					
12	(h) "Police record" means an official record that a law enforcement unit, booking					
13	facility, or the Central Repository maintains about the arrest and detention of, or further					
14	proceeding against, a person for:					
15	(1) a criminal charge;					
16	(2) a suspected violation of a criminal law; or					
17	(3) a violation of the Transportation Article for which a term of					
18	imprisonment may be imposed.					
19	Title 10. Criminal Records					
20	Subtitle 2. Criminal Justice Information System.					
21	Part III. Criminal Justice Information System Central Repository.					
22	§ 10-215.					
23	(a) The following events are reportable events under this subtitle that must be					
24	reported to the Central Repository in accordance with § 10-214 of this subtitle:					
25	(1) the issuance or withdrawal of an arrest warrant;					
26	(2) an arrest;					
27	(3) the release of a person after arrest without the filing of a charge;					
28	(4) the filing of a charging document;					
29	(5) a release pending trial or an appeal;					
30	(6) a commitment to an institution of pretrial detention;					
31	(7) the dismissal of an indictment or criminal information;					
32	(8) a nolle prosequi;					
33	(9) the marking of a charge "stet" on the docket;					
34	(10) an acquittal, conviction, verdict of not criminally responsible, or any					

1	other disposition of a case at or following trial, including a finding of probation before
2	judgment;
3	(11) the imposition of a sentence;
4	(12) a commitment to a State correctional facility or local correctional
5	facility;
6	(13) a commitment to the Department of Health and Mental Hygiene under
7	§ 3-105 or § 3-111 of this article as incompetent to stand trial or not criminally responsible;
8	(14) a release from detention or confinement;
9	(15) a conditional release, revocation of conditional release, or discharge of
10	a person committed to the Department of Health and Mental Hygiene under § 3-105 or § 3-
11	111 of this article as incompetent to stand trial or not criminally responsible;
12	(16) an escape from confinement or commitment;
13	(17) a pardon, reprieve, commutation of a sentence, or other change in a
14	sentence, including a change in a sentence that a court orders;
15	(18) an entry of an appeal to an appellate court;
16	(19) a judgment of an appellate court;
17	(20) an order of a court in a collateral proceeding that affects a person's
18	conviction, sentence, or confinement;
19	(21) an adjudication of a child as delinquent:
20	(i) if the child is at least 14 years old, for an act described in § 3-8A-
21	03(d)(1) of the Courts Article; or
22	(ii) if the child is at least 16 years old, for an act described in § 3-8A-
23	03(d)(4) or (5) of the Courts Article;
24	(22) the issuance or withdrawal of a writ of attachment by a juvenile court;
25	and
26	(23) any other event arising out of or occurring during the course of a
27	criminal proceeding that the Secretary by regulation or the Court of Appeals by rule makes
28	a reportable event.
29	(b) To avoid duplication in the reporting of criminal history record information,
30	the Secretary by regulation and the Court of Appeals by rule may determine those reportable
31	events described under subsection (a) of this section to be reported by each criminal justice
32	unit to the Central Repository.
33	Title 11. Victims and Witnesses
34	Subtitle 1. General Provisions.
35	Part I. Definitions; Rights Available Throughout Proceedings.

§ 11-104.

1

2	(a)	(1) I	n this	section the following words have the meanings indicated.
3		(2)	'Victin	n" means a person who suffers actual or threatened physical,
4	emotional, or financial harm as a direct result of a crime or delinquent act.			
5		(3)	'Victin	n's representative" includes a family member or guardian of a
6	victim who is	s:		
7		(i)	a minor;
8		((ii)	deceased; or
9		(iii)	disabled.
10				***
11	(e)	(1)	The pro	osecuting attorney shall send a victim or victim's representative
12	prior notice o	f each co	ourt pr	oceeding in the case, of the terms of any plea agreement, and of
13	the right of th	ne victim	or vic	etim's representative to submit a victim impact statement to the
14	court under §	11-402	of this	title if:
15		(i)	prior notice is practicable; and
16		((ii)	the victim or victim's representative has filed a notification
17	request form	under su	ıbsecti	on (d) of this section.
18		(2) I	f the c	ease is in a jurisdiction in which the office of the clerk of the
19	circuit court	or juveni	le cou	rt has an automated filing system, the prosecuting attorney may
20	ask the clerk to send the notice required by paragraph (1) of this subsection.			
21		(3)	As sooi	after a proceeding as practicable, the prosecuting attorney shall
22	tell the victin	n or victi	m's rep	presentative of the terms of any plea agreement, judicial action,
23	and proceeding that affects the interests of the victim or victim's representative, including a			
24	bail hearing, change in the defendant's pretrial release order, dismissal, nolle prosequi,			
25	stetting of ch	arges, tri	ial, dis	position, and postsentencing court proceeding if:
26		(i)	the victim or victim's representative has filed a notification
27	request form under subsection (d) of this section and prior notice to the victim or victim's			
28	representative	e is not p	oractic	able; or
29		(ii)	the victim or victim's representative is not present at the
30	proceeding.			
31				***
32				Subtitle 2. Pretrial Rights.
33	§ 11-203.			
34	As pro	vided ur	nder § 5	5-201 of this article or § 3-8A-15 of the Courts Article, the court,
35	a juvenile int	ake offic	er, or	a District Court commissioner shall consider:

sufficient to provide for the individual's destitute parent or destitute adult child.

the individual's destitute parent or destitute adult child becomes

the individual becomes unable to earn or loses possession of means

(Compiled: 11/3/03)

self-supporting; or

(2)

30

31

32

33

1	Health - General Article				
2	Title 8. Alcohol and Drug Abuse Administration				
3	Subtitle 5. Alcohol and Drug Abuse /Publicly Intoxicated Individuals, Court Ordered				
4	Evaluations, and Voluntary Treatment.				
5	§ 8-505.				
6	(a) (1) Before or during a criminal trial or prior to sentencing, the court may				
7	order the Department to evaluate a defendant to determine whether, by reason of drug or				
8	alcohol abuse, the defendant is in need of and may benefit from treatment if:				
9	(i) It appears to the court that the defendant has an alcohol or drug				
10	abuse problem; or				
11	(ii) The defendant alleges an alcohol or drug dependency.				
12	(2) The court shall set and may change the conditions under which the				
13	examination is to be conducted.				
14	(b) Except in a capital case, on consideration of the nature of the charge, the court:				
15	(1) May require or permit an examination to be conducted on an outpatient				
16	basis; and				
17	(2) If an outpatient examination is authorized, shall set bail for the				
18	defendant or authorize the release of the defendant on personal recognizance.				
19	****				
20	Title 10. Mental Hygiene Law				
21	Subtitle 13. Uniform Act for the Extradition of Persons of Unsound Mind.				
22	§ 10-1301.				
23	(a) In this subtitle the following words have the meanings indicated.				
24	(b) As applied to a request to return any person within the purview of this subtitle				
25	to or from the District of Columbia, the words "executive authority", "Governor", and "chief				
26	magistrate" respectively include the chief judge of the Superior Court of the District of				
27	Columbia and other authority.				
28	(c) "Flee" means to depart:				
29	(1) Voluntarily or involuntarily from the jurisdiction of the court where the				
30	proceedings hereinafter mentioned may have been instituted and are still pending, with the				
31	effect of avoiding, impeding, or delaying the action of the court in which the proceedings				
32	may have been instituted or be pending; or				

- (2) From the state where one is if one is under detention by law as a person of unsound mind and subject to detention.
 - (d) "Flight" means the act of fleeing.
 - (e) "State" includes a state, territory, district, and insular possession or other possession of the United States.

§ 10-1302.

1 2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

1415

16

17

18

19

2021

22

2324

25

26

2728

29

30

31

32

3334

35

36

- (a) This section applies to a person alleged to be of unsound mind found in this State, who has fled from another state, in which at the time of the flight the person:
- (1) Was under detention by law in a hospital, asylum, or other institution for the insane as a person of unsound mind;
- (2) Had been theretofore determined by legal proceedings to be of unsound mind, the finding being unreversed and in full force and effect, and the control of the person having been acquired by a court of competent jurisdiction of the state from which the person fled; or
- (3) Was subject to detention in the other state, being then the person's legal domicile (personal service of process having been made) based on legal proceedings there pending to have the person declared of unsound mind.
- (b) A person subject to this section shall, on demand of the executive authority of the state from which the person fled, be delivered up to be removed thereto.

§ 10-1303.

- (a) (1) This subsection applies whenever the executive authority of any state:
- (i) Demands of the Governor, a fugitive within the purview of § 10-1302 of this subtitle; and
- (ii) Produces a copy of the commitment, decree, or other judicial process and proceedings, certified as authentic by the governor or chief magistrate of the state whence the person so charged has fled, with an affidavit made before a proper officer showing the person to be a fugitive.
 - (2) The Governor shall:
- (i) Cause a person subject to this subsection to be apprehended and secured, if found in this State;
- (ii) Cause immediate notice of the apprehension to be given to the executive authority making a demand for the person, or to the agent of the executive authority appointed to receive the fugitive; and
- (iii) Cause the fugitive to be delivered to the agent when the agent appears.
 - (b) If an agent does not appear within 30 days from the time of the apprehension,

1 the fugitive may be discharged.

- (c) All costs and expenses incurred in the apprehending, securing, maintaining, and transmitting the fugitive to the state making the demand for the fugitive shall be paid by the demanding state.
- (d) Any agent so appointed who receives the fugitive into custody shall be empowered to transmit the fugitive to the state from which the fugitive has fled.
- (e) On application of any person interested, the Governor may demand the return to this State of any fugitive within the purview of this subtitle.

§ 10-1304.

Any proceedings under this subtitle shall begin within 1 year after the flight referred to in this subtitle.

12 Insurance Article

Title 1. Definitions; General Provisions.

Subtitle 1. Definitions.

§ 1-101.

producer.

15 16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

2425

26

27

28

29

30

31

32 33

2

3

4 5

6

7

8

9

10

11

13

14

- (u) (1) "Insurance producer" means a person that, for compensation, sells, solicits, or negotiates insurance contracts, including contracts for nonprofit health services plans, dental plans organizations, and health maintenance organizations, or the renewal or continuance of these insurance contracts for:
 - (i) persons issuing the insurance contract; or
 - (ii) insureds or prospective insureds other than the insurance
 - (2) "Insurance producer" does not include:
- (i) an individual who performs clerical or similar office duties while employed by an insurance producer or insurer, including a clerical employee, other than a clerical employee of an insurer, who takes insurance information or receives premiums in the insurance producer's office, if the employee's compensation does not vary with the number of applications or amount of premiums;
- (ii) a regular salaried officer or employee of an insurer who gives help to or for a licensed insurance producer, if the officer or employee is not paid a commission or other compensation that depends directly on the amount of business obtained; or

Maryland Laws on Bail **Page D-95** if not paid a commission, a person that obtains and forwards 1 (iii) 2 information for: 3 1. group insurance coverage; 2. enrolling individuals under group insurance coverage; 4 issuing certificates under group insurance coverage; or 5 3. otherwise assisting in administering group plans. 4. 6 7 Subtitle 2. General Provisions. 8 § 1-205. 9 A county or municipal corporation of the State may not: 10 (a) require an insurer, insurance producer, adjuster, public adjuster, or 11 12 adviser to obtain a local certificate of authority or certificate of qualification to transact insurance business in that county or municipal corporation; or 13 impose a local occupational tax or fee for transacting insurance 14 (2) 15 business. This section does not preempt or prevent the taxation and regulation of persons 16 engaged in the bail bond business other than corporate sureties and their insurance 17 producers that are required to be licensed under this article. 18 19 Title 8. Entities That Act as Insurers 20 Subtitle 2. Managing General Agents. **§ 8-201.** 21 22 In this subtitle the following words have the meanings indicated. (a) **** 23 24 (c) 25 "Managing general agent" does not include: (2) 26

Title 10. Regulation of Insurance Professions.

an authorized insurance producer acting for a surety insurer that

Subtitle 3. Bail Bondsmen.

(Compiled: 11/3/03)

(iv)

engages exclusively in the business of issuing bail bonds; or

27

28

29

30

31

1	8	10	-30	11.
1		-	$ \mathbf{v}$	

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

23

25

26

27

28

29 30

31

32

33

- (a) In this subtitle the following words have the meanings indicated.
- (b) "Bail bond" means a written obligation of a defendant, with or without a surety or collateral security, that:
 - (1) is conditioned on the appearance of the defendant as required; and
 - (2) provides for the payment of a penal sum according to its terms.
 - (c) "Bail bondsman" means an authorized insurance producer of a surety insurer.
- (d) "Collateral security" means any property deposited, pledged, or encumbered to secure the performance of a bail bond.
- (e) "License" means a license issued by the Commissioner to provide bail bondsman services.
- (f) "Provide bail bondsman services" means to provide any service in the bail bondsman trade.
- (g) (1) "Surety" means a person, other than the defendant, that guarantees the appearance of the defendant by executing a bail bond.
 - (2) "Surety" includes an uncompensated or accommodation surety.
- (h) "Surety insurer" means a person that, for compensation, directly or through an authorized insurance producer, acts as a surety on a bail bond.

§ 10-302.

This subtitle does not apply to bail bondsmen that provide bail bondsman services under § 5-203 of the Criminal Procedure Article.

22 **§ 10-303.**

The Commissioner shall adopt regulations to carry out this subtitle.

§ 10-304.

- (a) An individual must obtain a license before the individual provides bail bondsman services in the State.
- (b) A license issued by the Commissioner under this subtitle is identical to a certificate of qualification issued under Subtitle 1 of this title.

§ 10-305.

An applicant for a license must be an individual who meets the requirements for acting as a property and casualty insurance producer under Subtitle 1 of this title.

§ 10-306.

The Commissioner shall set licensing fees that are sufficient to cover the expenses of

licensing bail bondsmen under this subtitle.

§ 10-307.

Each bail bondsman must comply with any continuing education requirements that the Commissioner sponsors or approves.

§ 10-308.

Each year, each bail bondsman must certify to the Commissioner, on a form that the Commissioner requires, that the majority of the bail bondsman's income is from providing bail bondsman services.

Title 21. Surety Insurance

§ 21-101.

- (a) A surety insurer qualified to act as surety or guarantor under this article may execute:
- (1) a bond, undertaking, recognizance, or other obligation that is required or allowed to be made, given, tendered, or filed with a surety by law or in the charter, ordinances, rules, or regulations of a municipal corporation, board, body, organization, court, judge, or public officer; and
- (2) a guaranty of the performance of an act, duty, or obligation, or the refraining from an act, that is required or allowed to be guaranteed.
- (b) The execution by a qualified surety insurer of a bond, undertaking, recognizance, obligation, or guaranty is in full compliance with each requirement of each law, charter, ordinance, rule, or regulation that:
- (1) the bond, undertaking, recognizance, obligation, or guaranty shall be executed by a surety; or
- (2) the surety shall be a resident, householder, or freeholder, or either or both, or shall have any other qualifications.
- (c) Each court, judge, department head, board, body, municipal corporation, and public officer shall accept a bond, undertaking, recognizance, obligation, or guaranty executed by a qualified surety insurer and treat it as conforming to and fully complying with each requirement of each applicable law, charter, ordinance, rule, or regulation.
- (d) A surety insurer may be released from its liability on a bond, undertaking, recognizance, obligation, or guaranty executed under subsection (a) of this section on the same terms and conditions provided by law for the release of an individual surety.

§ 21-102.

A certificate of authority, or certified copy of a certificate of authority, issued by the Commissioner to a surety insurer shall be accepted as evidence of qualification to become sole surety on a bond, undertaking, recognizance, or other obligation required or allowed by law, or in the charter, ordinances, rules, or regulations of a municipal corporation, board, organization, court, judge, or public officer, without further proof or qualification regarding solvency, credit, or financial sufficiency to act as a surety.

Title 26. Motor Clubs

Subtitle 1. Definitions: General Provisions.

§ 26-101.

- (a) In this title the following words have the meanings indicated.
- (b) "Emergency road service" means the adjustment, repair, or replacement of the equipment, tires, or mechanical parts of a motor vehicle so that the motor vehicle may be operated under its own power.
- (c) "License" means a license issued by the Commissioner to provide motor club service.
- (d) "Licensee" means a motor club that is licensed by the Commissioner to provide motor club service.
 - (e) "Member" means a member or subscriber of a motor club.
- (f) "Motor club" means a person engaged directly or indirectly in selling or offering for sale, furnishing, or procuring motor club service.
- (g) "Motor club service" means, in connection with the ownership, operation, use, or maintenance of a motor vehicle by a person, and in consideration of the person being or becoming a member of a motor club, affiliated with a motor club, or entitled to receive membership or other service from a motor club because of an agreement between the person and the motor club, the rendering, furnishing, or procuring of or the payment or reimbursement for, wholly or partly, any or all of the following services to the person:
 - (1) emergency road service;
- (2) bail bond service, which is the furnishing of or arranging for a cash deposit, bond, or other form of security required by law for a member accused of a violation of a motor vehicle law or traffic ordinance, to obtain the member's release from custody pending trial;
- (3) financing service, which is the arranging for a loan or other advance of money to a member in connection with providing any other motor club service;
- (4) insurance service, which is the furnishing of coverage to a member under an approved group or blanket policy, subject to the limitations of this article, issued

1	to the motor club by an authorized insurer;
2	(5) legal reimbursement service, which is the payment for or reimbursemen
3	of a member of fees charged by an attorney for services rendered to the member in defense
4	of a traffic offense;
5	(6) theft service, which is the offering of assistance in locating, identifying
6	or recovering a stolen or missing motor vehicle owned by a member, or the offering of a
7	reward for the purpose of detecting or apprehending the person guilty of the theft; and
8	(7) towing service, which is the furnishing to a member of the means to
9	move a motor vehicle, under power other than its own, from one place to another.
10	(h) "Representative" means an individual who, for compensation, solicits or sells
11	memberships, subscriptions, or franchises for a motor club.
12	Labor and Employment Article
13	Title 4. Bargaining Representatives; Labor Disputes.
14	Subtitle 3. Injunctions.
15	Part IV. Civil and Criminal Liability.
16	§ 4-322.
17	(a) A person who is charged with constructive criminal contempt for a violation
18	of injunctive relief in a case that involves or grows out of a labor dispute is entitled:
19	(1) to pretrial release as provided for defendants in criminal cases;
20	(2) to notice of the accusation;
21	(3) to a reasonable time to make a defense; and
22	(4) except for an officer of the court who is charged with disobedience
23	misbehavior, or other misconduct in respect to process of the court, on demand, to a speedy
24	and public trial by an impartial jury from the judicial district where the contempt is alleged
25	to have been committed.
26	****
27	Natural Resources Article
28	Title 10. Wildlife
29	Subtitle 12. Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact.

§ 10-1201.

1 2

3

4 5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14 15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

2627

28

29

30

31

32

33

34

35

36

3738

The General Assembly hereby approves and the Governor is authorized to enter into a compact on behalf of this State with any other state or states in a form substantially as follows:

ARTICLE I

Findings, Declaration of Policy, and Purpose

- (a) The participating states find that:
- (1) Wildlife resources are managed in trust by the respective states for the benefit of all residents and visitors;
- (2) The protection of the wildlife resources of a state is materially affected by the degree of compliance with state statutes, laws, regulations, rules, and ordinances relating to the management of those resources;
- (3) The preservation, protection, management, and restoration of wildlife resources contributes immeasurably to the aesthetic, recreational, and economic values of a state;
- (4) Wildlife resources are valuable without regard to political boundaries; therefore, every person should be required to comply with wildlife preservation, protection, management, and restoration statutes, laws, rules, regulations, and ordinances of the participating states as a condition precedent to the continuance or issuance of any license to hunt, fish, trap, or possess wildlife;
- (5) Violation of wildlife laws interferes with the management of wildlife resources and may endanger the safety of persons and property;
- (6) The mobility of many wildlife law violators necessitates the maintenance of channels of communication among the various states;
- (7) In most instances, a person who is cited for a wildlife violation in a state other than the person's home state:
- (i) Is required to post collateral or a bond to secure an appearance for a trial at a later date:
 - (ii) Is taken into custody until the collateral or bond is posted; or
 - (iii) Is taken directly to court for an immediate appearance;
- (8) The purpose of the enforcement practices set forth in paragraph (7) of this subsection is to ensure compliance with the terms of a wildlife citation by the cited person who, if allowed to continue on the person's way after receiving the citation, could return to the person's home state and disregard any duty under the terms of the citation;
- (9) In most instances, a person receiving a wildlife citation in the person's home state is allowed to accept the citation from the officer at the scene of the violation and immediately continue on the person's way after agreeing or being instructed to comply with the terms of the citation;

(Compiled: 11/3/03)

- (10) The practices described in paragraph (7) of this subsection cause unnecessary inconvenience and, at times, a hardship for the person who is unable at the time to post collateral, furnish a bond, stand trial, or pay a fine, and thus is compelled to remain in custody until some alternative arrangement is made; and
- (11) The enforcement practices described in paragraph (7) of this subsection consume an undue amount of law enforcement time.
 - (b) It is the policy of the participating states to:
- (1) Promote compliance with the statutes, laws, regulations, rules, and ordinances relating to management of wildlife resources in their respective states;
- (2) Recognize the suspension of wildlife license privileges of a person whose license privileges have been suspended by a participating state and treat that suspension as if it had occurred in their state;
- (3) Allow a violator, except as provided in Article III, subsection (b) of this Compact, to accept a wildlife citation and, without delay, proceed on the person's way, regardless of the violator's home state, if that state is a party to this Compact;
- (4) Report to the appropriate participating state, as provided in the Compact manual, a conviction recorded against a person whose home state was not the issuing state;
- (5) Allow the home state to recognize and treat convictions recorded against its residents that occurred in a participating state as though they had occurred in the home state;
- (6) Extend cooperation to its fullest extent among the participating states for enforcing compliance with the terms of a wildlife citation issued in one participating state to a resident of another participating state;
- (7) Maximize effective use of law enforcement personnel and information; and
 - (8) Assist court systems in the efficient disposition of wildlife violations.
 - (c) The purpose of this Compact is to:
- (1) Provide a means through which participating states may join in a reciprocal program to effectuate the policies enumerated in subsection (b) of this article in a uniform and orderly manner; and
- (2) Provide for the fair and impartial treatment of wildlife violators operating within participating states in recognition of violators' rights to due process and the sovereign status of a participating state.

ARTICLE II

Definitions

As used in this Compact, unless the context requires otherwise, the following words have the meanings indicated:

(a) "Citation" means a summons, complaint, summons and complaint, ticket,

penalty assessment, or other official document issued to a person by a wildlife officer or other law enforcement officer for a wildlife violation that contains an order requiring the person to respond.

- (b) "Collateral" means cash or other security deposited to secure an appearance for trial in connection with the issuance by a wildlife officer or other law enforcement officer of a citation for a wildlife violation.
- (c) "Compliance" with respect to a citation means the act of answering a citation through an appearance in a court or tribunal, or through the payment of fines, costs, and surcharges, if any.
- (d) (1) "Conviction" means a conviction, including a court conviction, for an offense related to the preservation, protection, management, or restoration of wildlife that is prohibited by state statute, law, regulation, rule, or ordinance.
- (2) "Conviction" includes the forfeiture of bail, bond, or other security deposited to secure the appearance of a person charged with having committed the offense, the payment of a penalty assessment, a plea of nolo contendere, and the imposition of a deferred or suspended sentence by the court.
 - (e) (1) "Court" means a court of law.
 - (2) "Court" includes a magistrate's court.
 - (f) "Home state" means the state of primary residence of a person.
- (g) "Issuing state" means the participating state that issues a wildlife citation to the violator.
- (h) "License" means a license, permit, or other public document that conveys to the person to whom it was issued the privilege of pursuing, possessing, or taking any wildlife regulated by statute, law, regulation, rule, or ordinance of a participating state.
- (i) "Licensing authority" means the governmental unit in each participating state that is authorized by law to issue or approve licenses or permits to hunt, fish, trap, or possess wildlife.
- (j) "Participating state" means a state that enacts legislation to become a member of this wildlife Compact.
- (k) "Personal recognizance" means an agreement by a person made at the time of issuance of the wildlife citation that the person will comply with the terms of the citation.
- (l) "State" means a state, territory, or possession of the United States, the District of Columbia, and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.
- (m) "Suspension" means a revocation, denial, or withdrawal of any or all license privileges, including the privilege to apply for, purchase, or exercise the benefits conferred by a license.
- (n) "Terms of the citation" means the conditions and options expressly stated in the citation.

- (o) "Wildlife" means all species of animals including, but not limited to, mammals, birds, fish, reptiles, amphibians, mollusks, and crustaceans, that are defined as "wildlife" and are protected or otherwise regulated by statute, law, rule, regulation, or ordinance in a participating state. Species included in the definition of "wildlife" vary from state to state. The determination of whether a species is "wildlife" for the purposes of this Compact shall be based on the law of the issuing state.
- (p) "Wildlife law" means a statute, law, regulation, rule, or ordinance developed and enacted for the management of and uses of wildlife resources.
- (q) "Wildlife officer" means an individual who is authorized by a participating state to issue a citation for a wildlife violation.
- (r) "Wildlife violation" means a cited violation of a statute, law, regulation, rule, or ordinance developed and enacted for the management and uses of wildlife resources.

ARTICLE III

Procedures for Issuing State

- (a) When issuing a citation for a wildlife violation, if the wildlife officer receives the recognizance of the person that the person will comply with the terms of the citation, a wildlife officer:
- (1) Shall issue a citation to a person whose primary residence is in a participating state in the same manner as to a person residing in the issuing state; and
- (2) May not require the person to post collateral to secure appearance, subject to the exceptions noted in subsection (b) of this article.
 - (b) Personal recognizance is acceptable:
 - (1) If not prohibited by local law or the Compact manual; and
- (2) If the violator provides adequate proof of identification, including an identification document that contains the person's picture, to the wildlife officer.
- (c) (1) On conviction or failure of a person to comply with the terms of a wildlife citation, the appropriate official shall report the conviction or failure to comply to the licensing authority of the participating state where the wildlife citation was issued.
 - (2) The report shall:
 - (i) Be made in accordance with procedures specified by the issuing
- (ii) Contain information as specified in the Compact manual as minimum requirements for effective processing by the home state.
- (d) On receiving the report of conviction or noncompliance under subsection (c) of this article, the licensing authority of the issuing state shall transmit to the licensing authority of the home state of the violator the information in the form and content prescribed in the Compact manual.

ARTICLE IV

state; and

2	(a) (1	l) On 1	receiving a report from the licensing authority of the issuing state		
3	reporting the failure of a violator to comply with the terms of a citation, the licensing				
4	authority of the home state shall:				
5		(i)	Notify the violator;		
6		(ii)	Initiate a suspension action in accordance with the home state's		
7	suspension prod	cedures; a	nd		
8		(iii)	Suspend the violator's license privileges until satisfactory		
9	evidence of con	mpliance	with the terms of the wildlife citation has been furnished by the		
10	issuing state to	the home	state licensing authority.		
11	(2	2) Due	process safeguards shall be accorded to the violator.		
12	(b) O	n receivir	ng a report of conviction from the licensing authority of the issuing		
13	state, the licensing authority of the home state shall:				
14	(1	l) Ente	er the conviction in its records; and		
15	(2	2) Trea	at the conviction as though the conviction had occurred in the home		
16	state for the pur	rposes of	the suspension of license privileges.		
17	(c) T	he licensi	ng authority of the home state shall:		
18	(1	l) Mai	ntain a record of actions taken; and		
19	(2	2) Mak	te reports to issuing states as provided in the Compact manual.		
20			ARTICLE V		
21			Reciprocal Recognition of Suspension		
22	(a) A	All particip	ating states shall recognize the suspension of license privileges of		
23	a person by a participating state as though the violation resulting in the suspension had				
24	occurred in their	ir state and	d could have been the basis for suspension of license privileges in		
25	their state.				
26	(b) E	ach partic	cipating state shall communicate suspension information to other		
27	participating sta	ates in a fo	orm and content prescribed in the Compact manual.		
28			ARTICLE VI		
29			Applicability of Other Laws		
30	Except a	s expressl	y required by provisions of this Compact, nothing in this Compact		
31	may be construc	ed to affe	et the right of a participating state to apply any of its laws relating		
32	to license privileges to any person or circumstance or to invalidate or prevent any agreement				
33	or other cooperative arrangement between a participating state and a nonparticipating state				
34	concerning wild	dlife law e			
35			ARTICLE VII		
36			Board of Compact Administrators		
37	` ' '		the purpose of administering the provisions of this Compact and to		
38	serve as a gove	rning bod	y for the resolution of all matters relating to the operation of this		

Procedure for Home State

Compact, a Board of Compact Administrators is established. The Board shall be composed of one representative from each of the participating states to be known as the Compact Administrator.

- (2) The Compact Administrator shall be appointed by the head of the licensing authority of each participating state and shall serve and be subject to removal in accordance with the laws of the state that the Compact Administrator represents.
- (3) A Compact Administrator may provide for an alternate to discharge the Compact Administrator's duties and perform the Compact Administrator's functions as a Board member. An alternate may not be entitled to serve unless written notification of the alternate's identity has been given to the Board.
- (b) Each member of the Board of Compact Administrators shall be entitled to one vote. An action of the Board may not be binding unless taken at a meeting at which a majority of the total number of the Board's votes are cast in favor of the action. Action by the Board may be taken only at a meeting at which a majority of the participating states are represented.
- (c) The Board shall elect annually from its membership a chairman and vice chairman.
- (d) The Board shall adopt bylaws not inconsistent with the provisions of this Compact or the laws of a participating state for the conduct of its business and shall have the power to amend and rescind its bylaws.
- (e) The Board may accept for any of its purposes and functions under this Compact any and all donations and grants of moneys, equipment, supplies, materials, and services, conditional or otherwise, from any state, the United States, or any governmental unit, and may receive, utilize, and dispose of those grants and donations.
- (f) The Board may contract with, or accept services or personnel from, any governmental or intergovernmental unit, individual, firm, or corporation, or any private not-for-profit organization or institution.
- (g) The Board shall formulate all necessary procedures and develop uniform forms and documents for administering the provisions of this Compact. All procedures and forms adopted in accordance with Board action shall be contained in a Compact manual.

ARTICLE VIII

Entry into Compact and Withdrawal

- (a) This Compact shall become effective when it is adopted in a substantially similar form by two or more states.
- (b) (1) Entry into the Compact shall be made by resolution of ratification executed by the authorized officials of the applying state and submitted to the chairman of the Board.
 - (2) The resolution shall substantially be in the form and content as provided

- in the Compact manual and shall include the following:
 - (i) A citation of the authority from which the state is empowered to become a party to this Compact;
 - (ii) An agreement of compliance with the terms and provisions of this Compact; and
 - (iii) An agreement that Compact entry is with all states participating in the Compact and with all additional states that legally become parties to the Compact.
 - (3) The effective date of entry shall be specified by the applying state but shall not be less than 60 days after notice has been given:
 - (i) By the chairman of the Board of Compact Administrators; or
 - (ii) By the secretariat of the Board of each participating state that the resolution from the applying state has been received.
 - (c) (1) A participating state may withdraw from this Compact by official written notice to each participating state, but the withdrawal may not become effective until 90 days after the notice of withdrawal is given.
 - (2) The notice shall be directed to the Compact Administrator of each member state.
 - (3) A withdrawal of any state may not affect the validity of this Compact as to the remaining participating states.

ARTICLE IX

Amendments to the Compact

- (a) This Compact may be amended from time to time. Each proposed amendment shall be presented in resolution form to the chairman of the Board of Compact Administrators and shall be initiated by one or more participating states.
- (b) Adoption of an amendment shall require endorsement by all participating states and shall become effective 30 days after the date of the last endorsement.
- (c) Failure of a participating state to respond to the Compact chairman within 120 days after receipt of a proposed amendment shall constitute endorsement of the proposed amendment.

ARTICLE X

Construction and Severability

This Compact shall be liberally construed so as to effectuate the purposes stated in the Compact. The provisions of this Compact shall be severable and if any phrase, clause, sentence, or provision of this Compact is declared to be contrary to the constitution of a participating state or of the United States, or its applicability to any government, unit, individual, or circumstance is held invalid, the validity of the remainder of this Compact may not be affected by that invalidity. If this Compact shall be held contrary to the constitution of a participating state, the Compact shall remain in full force and effect as to the remaining

(Compiled: 11/3/03)

states and in full force and effect as to the affected participating state as to all severable 1 2 matters. ARTICLE XI 3 4 Title 5 This Compact shall be known as the "Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact". **State Government Article** 6 Title 10. Governmental Procedures 7 8 Subtitle 6. Records. 9 Part III. Access to Public Records. 10 § 10-616. 11 Unless otherwise provided by law, a custodian shall deny inspection of a public (a) 12 record, as provided in this section. 13 Except as provided in paragraph (4) of this subsection and subject to the 14 (q) (1) provisions of paragraph (5) of this subsection, unless otherwise ordered by the court, files 15 and records of the court pertaining to an arrest warrant issued pursuant to Maryland Rule 16 4-212(d)(1) or (2) and the charging document upon which the arrest warrant was issued may 17 not be open to inspection until either: 18 19 the arrest warrant has been served and a return of service has (i) 20 been filed in compliance with Maryland Rule 4-212(g); or 90 days have elapsed since the arrest warrant was issued. 21 (ii) 22 (2) Except as provided in paragraph (4) of this subsection and subject to the provisions of paragraph (5) of this subsection, unless otherwise ordered by the court, files 23 and records of the court pertaining to an arrest warrant issued pursuant to a grand jury 24 25 indictment or conspiracy investigation and the charging document upon which the arrest 26 warrant was issued may not be open to inspection until all arrest warrants for any co-conspirators have been served and all returns of service have been filed in compliance 27 with Maryland Rule 4-212(g). 28 (3) Subject to the provisions of paragraphs (1) and (2) of this subsection, 29 unless sealed pursuant to Maryland Rule 4-201(d), the files and records shall be open to 30 31 inspection. 32 (4) Subject to subparagraph (ii) of this paragraph, the name, address, (i) birth date, driver's license number, sex, height, and weight of an individual contained in an 33

1	arrest warrant issued pursuant to Maryland Rule 4-212(d)(1) or (2) or issued pursuant to a					
2	2 grand jury indictment or conspiracy investigation may b	grand jury indictment or conspiracy investigation may be released to the Motor Vehicle				
3	3 Administration for use by the Administration for purpose	Administration for use by the Administration for purposes of § 13-406.1 or § 16-204 of the				
4	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·					
5	5 (ii) Except as provided in subp	Except as provided in subparagraph (i) of this paragraph,				
6						
7	7 released to the Motor Vehicle Administration.					
8	8 (5) The provisions of paragraphs (1) and	(2) of this subsection may not be				
9	9 construed to prohibit:					
10	10 (i) the release of statistical inform	nation concerning unserved arrest				
11	11 warrants;					
12	12 (ii) the release of information by	a State's Attorney or peace officer				
13	concerning an unserved arrest warrant and the charging	document upon which the arrest				
14	warrant was issued; or					
15	15 (iii) inspection of files and reco	rds, of a court pertaining to an				
16	unserved arrest warrant and the charging document upon w	hich the arrest warrant was issued,				
17	17 by:					
18	1. a judicial officer;					
19	19 2. any authorized court p	ersonnel;				
20	20 3. a State's Attorney;					
21	21 4. a peace officer;					
22	5. a correctional officer v	who is authorized by law to serve				
23	an arrest warrant;					
24	24 6. a bail bondsman, sures	y insurer, or surety who executes				
25	bail bonds who executed a bail bond for the individual v	bail bonds who executed a bail bond for the individual who is subject to arrest under the				
26	arrest warrant;					
27	27 7. an attorney authorized	by the individual who is subject to				
28	arrest under the arrest warrant;					
29	29 8. the Department of Publ	ic Safety and Correctional Services				
30	or the Department of Juvenile Justice for the purpose of	or the Department of Juvenile Justice for the purpose of notification of a victim under the				
31	•	provisions of § 11-507 of the Criminal Procedure Article; or				
32	32 9. a federal, State, or local	l criminal justice agency described				
33	under Title 10, Subtitle 2 of the Criminal Procedure Artic	under Title 10, Subtitle 2 of the Criminal Procedure Article.				
34	34 ****					
25						
35	35 Transportation Article	;				

Title 16. Vehicle Laws - Drivers' Licenses

(Compiled: 11/3/03)

36

Subtitle 7. Driver License Compact.

2	§ 16-703.
3	Article I
4	Findings and Declaration of Policy
5	(a) The party states find that:
6	(1) The safety of their streets and highways is materially affected by the
7	degree of compliance with state laws and local ordinances relating to the operation of motor
8	vehicles.
9	(2) Violation of such a law or ordinance is evidence that the violator
10	engages in conduct which is likely to endanger the safety of persons and property.
11	(3) The continuance in force of a license to drive is predicated upon
12	compliance with laws and ordinances relating to the operation of motor vehicles, in
13	whichever jurisdiction the vehicle is operated.
14	(b) It is the policy of each of the party states to:
15	(1) Promote compliance with the laws, ordinances, and administrative rules
16	and regulations relating to the operation of motor vehicles by their operators in each of the
17	jurisdictions where such operators drive motor vehicles.
18	(2) Make the reciprocal recognition of licenses to drive and eligibility
19	therefor more just and equitable by considering the overall compliance with motor vehicle
20	laws, ordinances and administrative rules and regulations as a condition precedent to the
21	continuance or issuance of any license by reason of which the licensee is authorized or
22	permitted to operate a motor vehicle in any of the party states.
23	Article II
24	Definitions
25	As used in this Compact:
26	(a) "State" means a state, territory or possession of the United States, the District
27	of Columbia, or the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.
28	(b) "Home state" means the state which has issued and has the power to suspend
29	or revoke the use of the license or permit to operate a motor vehicle.
30	(c) "Conviction" means a conviction of any offense related to the use or operation
31	of a motor vehicle which is prohibited by state law, municipal ordinance or administrative
32	rule or regulation, or a forfeiture of bail, bond or other security deposited to secure
33	appearance by a person charged with having committed any such offense, and which
34	conviction or forfeiture is required to be reported to the licensing authority.
35	Article III
36	Reports of Conviction
37	The licensing authority of a party state shall report each conviction of a person from

another party state occurring within its jurisdiction to the licensing authority of the home state of the licensee. Such report shall clearly identify the person convicted; describe the violation specifying the section of the statute, code or ordinance violated; identify the court in which action was taken; indicate whether a plea of guilty or not guilty was entered, or the conviction was a result of the forfeiture of bail, bond or other security; and shall include any special findings made in connection therewith.

Article IV

Effect of Conviction

- (a) The licensing authority in the home state, for the purposes of suspension, revocation or limitation of the license to operate a motor vehicle, shall give the same effect to the conduct reported, pursuant to Article III of this Compact, as it would if such conduct had occurred in the home state, in the case of convictions for:
- (1) Manslaughter or negligent homicide resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle:
- (2) Driving a motor vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or a narcotic drug, or under the influence of any other drug to a degree which renders the driver incapable of safely driving a motor vehicle;
 - (3) Any felony in the commission of which a motor vehicle is used;
- (4) Failure to stop and render aid in the event of a motor vehicle accident resulting in the death or personal injury of another.
- (b) As to any other convictions, reported pursuant to Article III, the licensing authority in the home state shall record the conviction on the individual's driving record, but may not assess points for the conviction.
- (c) If the laws of a party state do not provide for offenses or violations denominated or described in precisely the words employed in subdivision (a) of this article, such party state shall construe the denominations and descriptions appearing in subdivision (a) hereof as being applicable to and identifying those offenses or violations of a substantially similar nature, and the laws of such party state shall contain such provisions as may be necessary to ensure that full force and effect is given to this article.

Article V

Applications for New Licenses

Upon application for a license to drive, the licensing authority in a party state shall ascertain whether the applicant has ever held, or is the holder of a license to drive issued by any other party state. The licensing authority in the state where application is made shall not issue a license to drive to the applicant if:

(1) The applicant has held such a license, but the same has been suspended by reason, in whole or in part, of a violation and if such suspension period has not terminated.

(2) The applicant has held such a license, but the same has been revoked by reason, in whole or in part, of a violation and if such revocation has not terminated, except that after the expiration of 1 year from the date the license was revoked, such person may make application for a new license if permitted by law. The licensing authority may refuse to issue a license to any such applicant if, after investigation, the licensing authority determines that it will not be safe to grant to such person the privilege of driving a motor vehicle on the public highways.

(3) The applicant is the holder of a license to drive issued by another party state and currently in force unless the applicant surrenders such license.

Article VI

Applicability of Other Laws

Except as expressly required by provisions of this Compact, nothing contained herein shall be construed to affect the right of any party state to apply any of its other laws relating to licenses to drive to any person or circumstance, nor to invalidate or prevent any driver license agreement or other cooperative arrangement between a party state and a nonparty state.

Article VII

Compact Administrator and Interchange of Information

- (a) The head of the licensing authority of each party state shall be the administrator of this Compact for his state. The administrators, acting jointly, shall have the power to formulate all necessary and proper procedures for the exchange of information under this Compact.
- (b) The Administrator of each party state shall furnish to the Administrator of each other party state any information or documents reasonably necessary to facilitate the administration of this Compact.

Article VIII

Entry into Force and Withdrawal

- (a) This Compact shall enter into force and become effective as to any state when it has enacted the same into law.
- (b) Any party state may withdraw from this Compact by enacting a statute repealing the same, but no such withdrawal shall take effect until 6 months after the executive head of the withdrawing state has given notice of the withdrawal to the executive heads of all other party states. No withdrawal shall affect the validity or applicability by the licensing authorities of states remaining party to the Compact of any report of conviction occurring prior to the withdrawal.

Article IX

Construction and Severability

This Compact shall be liberally construed so as to effectuate the purposes thereof. The

- provisions of this Compact shall be severable and if any phrase, clause, sentence or provision 1 of this Compact is declared to be contrary to the constitution of any party state or of the 2 United States or the applicability thereof to any government, agency, person or circumstance 3 is held invalid, the validity of the remainder of this Compact and the applicability thereof to 4 any government, agency, person or circumstance shall not be affected thereby. If this 5 Compact shall be held contrary to the constitution of any state party thereto, the Compact 6 shall remain in full force and effect as to the remaining states and in full force and effect as 7 to the state affected as to all severable matters. 8
 - Subtitle 8. Maryland Commercial Driver's License Act.

10 **§ 16-803.**

9

11

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

23

2425

26

27

28

29

30 31 (a) In this subtitle the following words have the meanings indicated.

12

- (c) "Conviction" means a final unvacated adjudication of guilt, or a determination that an individual has violated or failed to comply with the law in a court of original jurisdiction or by an authorized administrative tribunal, an unvacated forfeiture of bail or collateral deposited to secure the person's appearance in court, a plea of guilty or nolo contendere accepted by the court, the payment of a fine or court cost, or violation of a condition of release without bail, regardless of whether or not the penalty is rebated, suspended, or probated.
- Title 26. Vehicle Laws Parties and Procedure on Citation, Arrest, Trial, and Appeal
- Subtitle 4. Venue, Court Procedure, Bail, and Charging Documents.

22 **§ 26-402.**

- (a) This section does not apply if the alleged offense is any of the offenses enumerated in § 26-202(a)(3)(i), (ii), (iii), and (iv) of this title.
- (b) If a police officer arrests a person and takes him before a District Court commissioner as provided in this title, the person shall be released on issuance of a written citation if:
 - (1) A commissioner is not available;
- (2) A judge, clerk, or other public officer, authorized to accept bail for the court is not available; and
 - (3) The person charged gives his written promise to appear in court.
- 32 **§ 26-403.**

A District Court commissioner may not set bail in an amount greater than the maximum allowed as a fine for the alleged offense.

§ 26-404.

1 2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

1516

17

18

19

20

21

22

2324

25

26

2728

29

30

3132

33

3435

36

37

- (a) (1) In this section the following words have the meanings indicated.
- (2) "Guaranteed arrest bond certificate" means any certificate that is issued under this section by an insurance company or motor club to provide bail bond services to any of its insureds or members.
- (3) "Insurance company" means an insurance company that is authorized to write automobile liability insurance in this State.
- (4) "Motor club" has the meaning stated in § 26-101 of the Insurance Article.
- (5) "Surety company" means any company designated as a surety company under Title 21 of the Insurance Article.
- (b) Within the limitations of this section, the following persons may issue a guaranteed arrest bond certificate:
 - (1) Any insurance company that is also a surety company; or
- (2) If acting in conjunction with a surety company, any other insurance company or any motor club.
 - (c) A guaranteed arrest bond certificate shall:
 - (1) Specify its expiration date; and
 - (2) Contain printed statements that:
- (i) The issuer and surety company guarantee the court appearance of the person to whom the certificate is issued; and
- (ii) If the person fails to appear in court at the time of the trial, it will pay any fine or forfeiture that is imposed on the person and does not exceed \$1,000.
- (d) Any surety company may become surety for persons posting guaranteed arrest bond certificates, by filing an undertaking to become surety with the Insurance Administration.
- (e) (1) A guaranteed arrest bond certificate may not be delivered or issued for delivery in this State unless the form has been filed with and approved by the Insurance Commissioner.
- (2) Unless the Insurance Commissioner affirmatively approves or disapproves the form within 30 days after it is filed with him, he is considered to have approved it.
- (3) An order of the Insurance Commissioner disapproving the form or withdrawing a previous approval shall state the reasons for the action taken.
 - (f) A guaranteed arrest bond certificate may not be accepted:

Maryland Laws on Bail	Mary	land	Laws	on	Bail
-----------------------	------	------	------	----	------

Page	D-	1	1	4
- 45	_	-	_	

1	(1) As a part of a surety undertaking or bail bond requirement of more than
2	\$1,000; or
3	(2) To guarantee the appearance of any person in a court of this State, if the
4	offense charged is:
5	(i) Driving or attempting to drive while under the influence of
6	alcohol or while driving under the influence of alcohol;
7	(ii) Driving or attempting to drive while impaired by drug, any
8	combination of drugs, or any combination of one or more drugs and alcohol or while
9	impaired by any controlled dangerous substance; or
10	(iii) Any felony.
11	(g) (1) Except as provided in subsection (f) of this section, if the offense
12	allegedly was committed before the expiration date of the certificate, the posting of a
13	guaranteed arrest bond certificate by the person to whom it was issued shall be accepted,
14	instead of cash bail or other bond, to guarantee the appearance in any court in this State, at
15	a time designated by the court, of any person arrested for a violation of:
16	(i) Any provision of the Maryland Vehicle Law; or
17	(ii) Any traffic law or ordinance of any political subdivision of this
18	State.
19	(2) A guaranteed arrest bond certificate posted as bail bond is subject to
20	forfeiture if the person who posted it fails to appear in court at the time of the trial.
21	(3) The provisions of this section apply to both residents and nonresidents
22	of this State.
23	Code of Maryland Regulations
23	Code of Maryland Regulations
24	Title 12. Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services
25	Subtitle 8. Parole Commission
26	Chapter 01. General Provisions.
27	12.08.01.22.
28	D
29	(4) A parolee or mandatory releasee detained by a warrant of the
30	Commission may not be released on bail.
31	****
31	
32	Subtitle 15. Criminal Justice Information System Central Repository.

Chapter 01. Implementation of Criminal Justice Information System Statute.

		_	_		
1 ^	1	_	Λı	1	7
	. I	. T.	"		2.

B. The following noncriminal justice persons and agencies may receive from the Central Repository conviction and nonconviction CHRI for the purpose and under the conditions stated:

7 ****

(3) A bail bondsman may receive this information relating to a client, if authorized by the Maryland Rules of Practice and Procedure of the Court of Appeals.

10 ****

Subtitle 16. Pretrial and Detention Services.

Chapter 01. Home Detention.

12.16.01.05.

A. Pretrial services staff shall screen a defendant who is pending a bail review hearing. If recommended for release, but not released by the reviewing judge, the inmate shall be referred to the Unit, if eligible under Regulation .04A of this chapter.

Title 19A. State Ethics Committee

Opinion No. 85-06.

The Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services (DPSC) has inquired as to whether a correctional classification counselor employed at a Maryland correctional facility (the Employee) may have a private business as a bail bondsman.

This request was presented by the General Counsel of DPSC on behalf of the Department. The request involves an individual who works at the correctional facility (the Facility) as a classification counselor. Basically, the Employee's duties in the Facility involve her working directly with inmates, providing counseling regarding the functioning of individuals within the correctional system. She may advise inmates and otherwise participate in official decisions regarding the level of their security placement in the facility, their work assignment, and family or other leave. She may be involved in parole decisions and "establish contacts with outside social and legal agencies when needed in an inmate's case." According to the General Counsel and the warden of the Facility, the Employee in her duties has access to significant amounts of information from FBI and State criminal justice information

 systems. Her responsibilities apparently also include testifying in federal and State courts regarding escape cases and inmate suits, as well as before the State's Inmate Grievance Commission.

The Employee's private activity involves her ownership and management of a bail bond business that bears her name. The entity was incorporated in the State of Maryland. The Employee is an incorporator and member of the Board of Directors, and is listed as the entity's resident agent. Basically, bail is an amount of money deposited with a criminal court where a defendant is temporarily released pending trial, the money to be returned on the appearance of the bailed person at trial. A bail bond is a form of insurance where a surety undertakes to produce the accused or forfeit a fixed sum of money. Rule 4-217 of the Maryland Rules defines a surety as "a person other than the defendant who, by executing a bail bond, guarantees the appearance of the defendant." A surety may be compensated or uncompensated. A surety insurer means "any person in the business of becoming, either directly or through an authorized agent, a surety on a bail bond for compensation." The Employee's bail business is licensed by the State Insurance Commissioner, and authorized to write bonds through a private surety company.

The Employee is the sole stockholder of the business. In addition to her corporate and ownership affiliations with it, she also performs administrative duties, including preparing reports for the Insurance Commissioner and the private insurance agency. According to the Employee, her daughter is the manager of the business, and the person involved in the day-to-day operation of the business. The Employee indicates she may write some bonds during her evening and off hours, but she states that this does not bring her into direct contact with the bailee, as the bondsman's concern is with the financial status of the indemnitor, and his collateral and ability to pay if the defendant fails to appear for trial. Though some investigation may be required to produce the defendant if he fails to appear, the Employee's business is not licensed as a detective agency. The firm hires a bounty hunter to find the defendant in order to avoid having to pay the amount due under the bond. According to the Maryland State Police Licensing Division, bail bondsmen are not generally licensed as detective agencies.

The Employee has both an employment and interest relationship with her bail bond business.* Section 3-103(a)(1) of the Public Ethics Law (Article 40A, Sec. 3-103(a)(1), Annotated Code of Maryland, the Ethics Law) prohibits an employee or official from being employed by or having an interest in an entity that is under the authority of or contracts with his agency (subsection (a)(1)(i)), or from having any other employment that would impair his impartiality or independence of judgment (subsection (a)(1)(ii)). The Employee's relationship

^{*}See our Opinions No. 84-22, No. 84-14, No. 84-12, No. 83-34, and No. 83-28 for examples of Opinions dealing with relationships of individuals to sole proprietorship business entities.

with her bond business would therefore be covered by Sec. 3-103(a)(1) if the entity had regulatory or contractual relationships with her agency, or if her employment relationship with it were viewed as impairment of her impartiality or independence of judgment. The entity's primary interface appears to be with the court system or with the Insurance Commissioner, and it does not contract with DPSC. The firm apparently does not engage in investigative activities that would require licensing by the Maryland State Police, though it may have activities in detention facilities that are regulated by DPSC.

It is not clear whether this situation would come within the strictly worded prohibition of Sec. 3-103(a)(1)(i). In our view this issue need not be resolved, however, as we believe disposition of this inquiry can be based solely on application of the more general inconsistent employment provision of Sec. 3-103(a)(1)(ii). We have viewed this provision as a complement to the strict contractual and authority provisions of subsection (a)(1)(i), designed specifically to deal with situations where these relationships do not exist, but where the total circumstances present relationships between State and private activities that raise real concerns about the ability of an employee to carry out his State duties impartially. In this situation there appear to be few direct relationships between the business and the agency. However, the Employee in her State position has very sensitive duties involving a client population that is in and out of the criminal justice system and thus could very well be also involved in her private business activity. It would be possible that inmates, parolees, or probationers (all under the continuing authority of DPSC) could be customers of the bail bond company.

Moreover, the Employee indicates that the business of a bail bondsman is developed primarily by word of mouth. This particular circumstance raises issues under another provision of the Law, Sec. 3-104, which prohibits an official or employee from using the prestige of his office for his own benefit or that of another. We believe that the situation presented here is similar to that presented in our Opinion No. 84-22, involving employees of the Clerk of the Court who anticipated they would establish private process service businesses through "word of mouth." Here, as there, it is difficult to visualize how the "word of mouth" within a population that overlaps significantly with her agency population would not include identification of her official position "on the inside" as a significant factor. This will be especially true as her business develops and more of the individuals she has bonded work their way through the criminal justice system to a correctional facility.

This situation also presents issues under other provisions of the Law that could be of concern in view of this overlap in clientele between the Employee's private and DPSC duties. For example, the Sec. 3-101 participation provisions could be at issue if she were to be involved with inmates who had been her bond clients. Issues could also arise under Sec. 3-107, given her access to significant non-public information that could be relevant to bonding decisions. These provisions and the limitations of Sec. 3-103(a)(1)(ii) and 3-104 are

 specific limitations in implementation of the express legislative finding in Sec. 1-201(b) of the Ethics Law that the conduct of the State's business should not be "subject to improper influence or even the appearance of improper influence." In interpreting these provisions, we have not generally applied the Law's conflict of interest provisions to absolutely bar activities merely because some potential abuse was possible in a particular situation. We believe, however, that this request presents the type of situation where real conflict of interest concerns are raised that could be held by reasonable members of the public as contemplated in Sec. 1-201(b) of the Law.

The Employee here fills a sensitive and important position that involves her personal interaction with a population of individuals within the correctional system that could very well also have been served by her bond business. As she bonds more and more individuals over a period of years, it will become increasingly difficult for her to perform her official duties without encountering individuals or relatives with whom she has had private bond dealings. Monitoring of this situation, either by her or her agency, to avoid conflicts of interest will be extremely difficult, given the fluid nature of this population. Under all of these circumstances, we believe that continued maintenance of her private business would be inconsistent with the impairment provisions of Sec. 3-103(a)(1)(ii) and the prestige provision of Sec. 3-104, and would also present significant issues under other provisions of the Law. At our consideration of this request, the Employee indicated that she would surrender her license and discontinue writing bonds. We agree that she should terminate or sell the business entirely, and should do this within 90 days of Commission action on this request. The business, if sold, should not carry her name and she should provide the Commission with documentation of this action as soon as it is complete.

- 24 Date: June 19, 1985
- 25 (12:16 Md. R. 1630)
- 26 Herbert J. Belgrad, Chairman
- 27 Reverend John Wesley Holland
- 28 Betty B. Nelson
- 29 Barbara M. Steckel
- Thomas D. Washburne

Opinion No. 90-13

An advisory opinion has been requested concerning whether a correctional officer at the Maryland Reception, Diagnostic and Classification Center (the Reception Center or the Center) may have private employment as a bail bondsman. We advise the Requestor that this activity is allowable based on the factual circumstances as they are now described by him.

The Reception Center is a correctional facility within the Division of Correction (DOC, part of the Department of Public Safety & Correctional Services, DPSC). It is located

in Baltimore City and receives and processes all male inmates as they enter the prison system. The inmates are transferred to DOC management either from a local jail where they have been held for trial or they are men who have recently been free on bail while on trial or pending sentencing. Prisoners generally are at the Reception Center for classification as to their security status and where they will be assigned in the system. Some inmates at the facility may be at the Reception Center if they are on their way to or from court in Baltimore City.

Correctional officers at the Reception Center may be assigned to either the Transportation or Custody Unit. Officers, such as the Requestor, who work in the custody unit basically serve as guards who supervise inmates in the facility. They stand certain posts and have the responsibility of limiting the movement of prisoners and access to them by civilians. They control on a practical day-to-day basis what the inmate can do in accordance with agency regulations. The guards conduct inspections and searches of inmates and inmate access and work areas for drugs, weapons and other unauthorized materials, and enforce rules of conduct, security, and labor standards. They write up disciplinary actions as to prisoners, and may use physical force to subdue a prisoner if necessary.

In the criminal justice system, bail is an amount of money deposited with a criminal court where a defendant is released pending trial. A bail bond is a form of insurance where a surety undertakes to produce the accused or forfeit a fixed sum of money. Rule 4-217 of the Maryland Rules defines a surety as "a person other than the defendant who, by executing a bail bond, guarantees the appearance of the defendant". A surety insurer is "any person in the business of becoming, either directly or through an authorized agent, a surety on a bail bond for compensation". Bail bond businesses are licensed by the State Insurance Commissioner. Though the need for the bondsman to produce the defendant at trial or forfeit bail may result in some investigatory work to produce the defendant, bail bond businesses are not generally licensed by the Maryland State Police as detective agencies.

This request is presented by a correctional officer at the Reception Center who wants to engage in private employment as a bail bondsman. He had been advised by the Division of Correction based on prior Commission Opinion No. 85-6 that this employment would not be permissible. Opinion No. 85-6 involved a DOC classification counselor who owned a bail bonding business. We concluded in that Opinion that the employment activity constituted inconsistent employment under the Ethics Law, since the private activity involved significant dealings with the same population (and its representatives) with which the employee would interact in her official duties. The Requestor believes that his situation is distinguishable, however, and has pursued a formal advisory opinion as to his individual circumstances. We agree with the Requestor.

In particular, the Requestor maintains that his position as a custodial corrections officer is primarily ministerial and that he has very little discretion in the conduct of his

duties. His job, he says, involves custody and security but very little interaction with inmates. He states that he is not an advisor or counselor, makes no parole decisions or recommendations, and has no access to inmate records. Moreover, Requestor describes his private work as ministerial, also, particularly noting that unlike the prior Opinion, he is not an owner but an employee only. He is paid a salary (not commission) and has no economic interest in the business generally or in particular bond transactions. He says also that his interaction is not with a defendant but with family or others putting up collateral for a bond. He advises that neither he nor his private employer have a personal interest or relationship in the defendant even if the defendant does not appear at trial, because it is just a matter of claiming the collateral put up by someone else. Also, the bond transaction is a past transaction as to inmates within his official authority, as all are incarcerated after a guilty verdict when bond is no longer a factor in a case.

The agency personnel indicate that the correctional officer spends the most time of any correctional personnel with the inmate and has the obligation to protect inmates from each other and to protect guards from the inmates. The correctional officer controls the inmates' movements and activities within the facility and is the person on the spot to enforce the system's rules and regulations.

This request involves application of the outside employment provisions of the Public Ethics Law (Article 40A, Annotated Code of Maryland, the Ethics Law). Section 3-103(a) of the Law prohibits an employee from being employed by or having an interest in an entity that contracts with or is under the authority of his agency (subsection (a)(1)(i)), and from having any other employment relationship that would impair his impartiality or independence of judgment (subsection (a)(1)(ii)). Bail bond businesses' primary interface with the State government seems to be with the courts and with the State Insurance Commissioner, and they do not appear to contract with or be regulated by either DOC or the DPSC. There would thus appear to be no issues regarding application of the strict prohibition of subsection (a)(1)(i), and the question is therefore whether the more general impairment provision of subsection (a)(1)(ii) would apply to bar or otherwise limit the Requestor's proposed employment.

In interpreting the impairment provision of the Law we have generally viewed it as a complement to the strict provision, designed to deal with situations where there are no contractual or regulatory relationships, but where the circumstances raise clear and serious concerns about the ability of an individual to engage in the private activity or affiliation and continue to perform his State duties with impartiality and independence of judgment. We have therefore in applying this provision to particular circumstances evaluated the actual circumstances of an individual's State duties and the proposed private activity to determine if there is any relationship between the two that suggests that the private work would impact on his performance of his official duties.

Based on applying these principles to the facts presented here, the Requestor may

- therefore engage in the bonding employment he describes. This advice would apply only as
- long as no situations develop where a prior bail bonding relationship becomes an issue or a
- factor in his manner of dealing with an inmate subject to his authority as a correctional
- 4 officer, and as long as he has no dealings with inmates or their families or associates that can
- 5 be viewed as recommending, marketing or advertising his availability as a bondsman. We
- also note that if the agency believes that the particular administrative and substantive factors
- 7 regarding these relationships require agency rules, Sec. 1-103 of the Law specifically
- 8 provides that agency regulations may be applied that are more restrictive than the Ethics Law.
- 9 We conclude as a matter of Law that the Requestor would not be impaired in his State duties
- by his bail bond work. We therefore advise that this employment is not prohibited by the
- employment provisions of the Ethics Law.
- 12 Date: September 19, 1990
- 13 (17:22 Md. R. 2676)
- William J. Evans, Chairman
- 15 Mark C Medairy, Jr.
- Robert C. Rice, Ph.D.
- 17 Mary M. Thompson

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28 29

30

31

32

33

34

35

36 37

Opinion No. 94-07

A request has been presented as to whether a Correctional Officer II at the Maryland Pre-Release Unit for Women (PRUW) may have secondary employment in the bail bond business. Though we have substantial concerns about the possibility of a conflict here, both as a technical and functional matter, we believe that current activity can continue under the current facts presented to the Commission. Any change in these facts is likely to change the result of this opinion. For example, when a central booking facility is established in Baltimore City, we believe that the Law and the facts will require the opposite result. Additionally, as a general matter, we believe that Division of Correction personnel under almost all fact situations would be prohibited from engaging in this activity.

The Requestor is a Correctional Officer II (CO II) with the Division of Correction in the Department of Public Safety. The CO II is a non-supervisory position involving custody, security and supervision of adult inmates. The duties of this position include maintaining control and discipline of inmates, conducting inspections and searches, enforcing rules of conduct, subduing and restraining inmates and observing inmate behavior. The Requestor works at the Pre-Release Unit for Women (PRUW) in Baltimore, a facility that houses 136 female inmates. About 100 are in the main building and 36 at the Annex, and all come to the facility from the Maryland Correctional Institute for Women, a maximum security facility. According to the Warden at the PRUW none of its inmates come from the court or directly from the City Jail. While all of the inmates at PRUW are nearing the end of their prison term,

the 36 inmates housed at the Annex on Park Heights Avenue are more likely to be in work release or on a release program that allows them to go to school. These inmates are able to leave the facility for work or school, but must return all other times and are still considered prisoners. The Requestor works the day shift at the Annex and is primarily a custody officer. She supervises the inmates and makes sure they follow rules. She files incident reports when problems occur. She makes rounds and does room inspections and audits equipment. Where there is an escape or a walk-off the Requestor's duties include notifying the proper law enforcement authorities, first calling 911 and the Baltimore City Police, and then the State Police. Then she prepares her reports. According to the Warden the Correctional Officer has no further role in this type of situation. The person when apprehended would go directly to the Baltimore City Jail and from there to a maximum security prison.

The outside employment at issue here is the Requestor's work for a local bail bond company (the Bail Bond Company). In the criminal justice system, bail is an amount of money deposited with a criminal court where a defendant is released pending trial. A bail bond is a form of insurance where a surety undertakes to produce the accused or forfeit a fixed sum of money. Bail may be posted at the time bail is set by a court commissioner or judge. If bail is not posted at that time a bail review hearing takes place before a judge in which the DPSC's Division of Pretrial Detention and Services may make a recommendation as to the bail or the defendant's release on his own recognizance. If as a result of this hearing the defendant is not released, then bail may be posted at any time prior to the trial.

Rule 4-217 of the Maryland Rules defines a surety as "a person other than the defendant who, by executing a bail bond, guarantees the appearance of the defendant." A surety insurer is "any person in the business of becoming, either directly or through an authorized agent, a surety on a bail bond for compensation." Bail bond businesses are licensed by the State Insurance Commissioner. Though the need for the bondsman to produce the defendant at trial or forfeit bail may result in some investigatory work to produce the defendant, bail bond businesses are not licensed by the Maryland State Police as detective agencies.

The Requestor indicates that she heard about this work through friends when she needed to earn extra money. She says that she is a licensed surety by the Insurance Commissioner, and is available to write bonds during the evenings until 11 p.m. and on weekends. She carries a beeper and is available by phone during those times. She says that the person wanting a bond (or their family or representative) goes to the Bail Bond Company office and provides information and is interviewed regarding their likelihood of appearing for trial. According to the Requestor's supervisor at the Company, the decision of whether the bond will be written is made by the Bail Bond Company and then the Requestor is called by the Company Secretary. She is given the basic information necessary to write the bond (name, address, etc.). She then appears before a Commissioner with a power of attorney to

insure the bond. She says that given her hours she seldom goes to court and never would go to a detention center or correctional institution. She indicates that she does not interact directly with the defendant.

According to the Requestor she is paid a 2 percent commission for each bond she writes (of a total ten percent fee to the defendant). She has no ownership or economic interest in the company and says that she does not generate any customers. The Requestor indicates that she is paid weekly by the Bail Bond Company based on the bonds written during the week. She says that if a defendant skips bail then the Company gets a bounty hunter to find them. This does not impact on her income and she is not in any way involved in this process. She advises that she has no dealings in her private business with attorneys involved with the DOC and has no access to the agency's computer system or access to the inmate criminal history file.

The Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services continues to believe that its correctional personnel should not engage in private employment activities that involve them in providing services to or otherwise interacting with persons in the criminal justice system. It is concerned that inmates tend to be in and out of the system, and tend to be represented by attorneys who interface with the many aspects of the system managed by the Department. Correctional personnel who provide services to defendants or who serve as law enforcement personnel may become known by families and other persons who are affiliated with inmates within their jurisdiction in a correctional facility. It is also possible that they may have to go into facilities controlled by the Department, or otherwise deal with Department staff.

In the situation here, the representative of the agency has also advised that the Department is currently engaged in construction of a central booking facility to serve Baltimore City. When this facility is completed (anticipated sometime during 1995) all pre-trial detention, booking, and bail bond activities for the City will be centralized at the same facility, which will be operated, maintained and secured by the Department of Public Safety. The Department has serious concerns about the Requestor serving as a bail bondsman and entering into an agency facility in this connection. It has reservations about her ability to maintain a distance between her private and official positions if she would encounter fellow correctional officers in the context of her private bail bonding work. We believe that the Department's concerns are valid and need to be considered in the application of the Ethics Law and in any agency policy developed to control the conduct of its employees.

Section 3-103(a) of the Public Ethics Law (Article 40A, § 3-103(a), Annotated Code of Maryland, the Ethics Law) prohibits an employee from being employed by or having an interest in an entity that contracts with or is subject to the authority of their agency (subsection (a)(1)(i)), and further bars any other employment that would impair the individual's impartiality or independence of judgment (subsection (a)(1)(ii)). We have issued

two prior opinions regarding bail bond work by DOC employees (No. 85-6 and No. 90-13), both based substantially on considerations arising under the § 3-103(a)(1)(ii) employment impairment provision, given the apparent absence of contractual or regulatory relationships that would bring the strict employment provisions into play.

In Opinion No. 85-6 we prohibited a correctional classification officer in a correctional facility from being an owner-employee of a bail bond business. This opinion reflected the Commission's concerns regarding the sensitivity of the individual's State position, her access to information, and the fact that inmates, parolees and probationers could be customers of her private bail bond business. The concern was the fluidity of the population in the criminal justice system and her likely interaction with the population in both her official duties and private duties. This approach was strongly supported by the Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services, which has historically taken the position that its correctional officers should not have private employment that involves the criminal justice system.

The second opinion, No. 90-13, involved a correctional officer at the Maryland Reception Center. He was not an owner of the bail bond business, but was paid a salary and had no economic interest in the business or in particular bond transactions. The individual in that request also took the strong position that his duties as a custodial corrections officer were primarily ministerial, involving very little discretion. He maintained that his duties involved custody and security but very little interaction with inmates. He argued that the bond transaction is a past transaction as to inmates within his official authority, as all inmates are incarcerated after a guilty verdict when bond is no longer a factor in the case.

In considering the situation in Opinion No. 90-13, the Department maintained its position opposing bail bond employment by its correctional officers. Nevertheless, the Commission concluded that the determination under § 3-103(a)(1)(ii) must be made based on evaluation of the facts of a particular situation, advising that the individual would not be impaired in his official duties by his bail bond work. We stated particularly, however, that the advice applied "only as long as no situations develop where a prior bail bonding relationship becomes an issue or a factor in his manner of dealing with an inmate subject to his authority as a correctional officer, and as long as he has no dealings with inmates or their families or associates that can be viewed as recommending, marketing or advertising his availability as a bondsman."

Our decision in Opinion No. 90-13 reflected the approach that such situations would depend on each set of facts, allowing the employment in that situation based on the employee's description of his interaction with inmates and the facts maintained by him that he would have no occasion to deal with inmates in any of his private bail bond work. In evaluating the circumstances here as well as in other situations in view of our conclusion in Opinion No. 90-13, we have concluded that the earlier opinion must be clarified to reflect

our continuing concerns and understanding regarding employment of correctional personnel in private activities, such as bail bond work, that involve interaction with the criminal justice system. There appears to be a dynamic interrelationship between inmates and their families and attorneys with various aspects of the criminal justice system over which the employee's agency has jurisdiction.

In rare circumstances, such as those presented here, we acknowledge that the facts may support a limited and narrowly defined activity in the bail bond area. We advise, however, that neither the result here nor the conclusion reached in Opinion No. 90-13 should be read as a general rule that employment in the bail bond area is allowable for DOC correctional personnel. Rather, we concur with the agency's view that employment by correctional personnel in criminal justice positions, for example, as bail bondsmen or law enforcement personnel, would as a general matter be barred by the inconsistent employment provision of § 3-103(a)(1)(ii), and also present issues under the participation and prestige provisions of §§ 3-101 and 3-104 of the Law. Also, depending on the facts, § 3-103(a)(1)(i) would be involved, particularly if the individual were required to enter a DPSC facility to carry out the private business.

Based on the particular and very narrowly defined circumstances presented by the Requestor, we conclude that her situation can be viewed as an exception to this general rule, at least until the opening of the agency's Baltimore City central booking facility. For example, we note that the Requestor works in a very small facility that houses women only, who represent a small part of the criminal justice population. Also, they are inmates who are near release and whose interaction with the bail bond system has been well in the past. When there is an escape or a walk-off the Requestor has some interaction with the law enforcement agencies, but this is apparently limited to notification of the escape. The Requestor states that she has never encountered in her official duties any person with whom she has dealt in her private bond work.

Also, as the Requestor describes her private work, she has very little interaction with the defendant or even with the defendant's family, since she writes the bond based on substantive evaluation by the bonding company. She is a contractual worker for the firm, with no ownership involvement or name association with the bonding company. Her private employer also indicates that the Requestor has no involvement in the bonding decision; she does not deal directly with any inmates and does not enter any correctional facility. She also indicates that she does not interact with any attorneys or inmate families that she may see in her State position.

Under all of these circumstances, and as long as they continue to be true, we advise the Requestor that this employment can be continued. One additional constraint to be followed is that the Requestor needs to avoid any involvement in bail matters relating to defendants for whom a bail review hearing has been held and the Division of Pretrial

3

4

5 6

7

8

9

10

11 12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

31

32

33 34

Detention and Services has made a recommendation or otherwise become involved with the defendant. The Requestor must be very careful to ensure that these facts and understandings do in fact continue to be the case, and be aware that if circumstances require her assignment to a different facility with a broader inmate population base, then a different result would be required. Also, we believe that this advice only applies as long as the existing decentralized booking system exists in Baltimore City (which is the primary area for the Requestor's activity). While we recognize that the precise operational and management plans are not yet determined for that facility, it does appear that this will be operated totally as a DPSC facility. Persons entering it for business or related purposes will need to be credentialed by the agency and meet a variety of security requirements, possibly involving interaction with correctional officers.

In this situation the Requestor would be engaged in a private employment activity bringing her directly within the authority of her agency. In our view this added aspect of what we consider at best to be a close situation would render the situation untenable under the employment impairment provision and would also appear to result in the application of the strict employment prohibition under § 3-103(a)(1)(i). Even the current facts combined with the agency view would not support an exception to allow this activity under these circumstances. Therefore, as the plans for the central facility are now described to us, we believe that she should plan to discontinue this employment at the time that the central facility becomes operational.

- 20
- Date: September 28, 1994 21
- 21:24 Md. R. 2029 22
- 23 Mark C. Medairy, Jr., Chairman
- Michael M. May 24
- 25 Robert J. Romadka
- April E. Sepulveda 26
- 27 Title 31. Maryland Insurance Administration.
- Subtitle 3. Agents, Brokers, and Other Insurance Professionals. 28
- 29 Chapter 3. Bail Bonds.
- 31.03.05.01. 30
 - A. This chapter does not apply to property bail bondsmen.
 - This chapter does not apply to bail bondsmen engaged in bail bond business В. in a State judicial circuit that by rule of court prescribes the terms and conditions for bail bonds filed in the circuit courts for that county as authorized by Criminal Procedure Article

27, § 5-203, Annotated Code of Maryland, and Maryland Rule of Procedure 16-817.

31.03.05.02.

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

2122

23

24

25

26

2728

29

30

31

32

3334

- A. In this chapter, the following terms have the meanings indicated.
- B. Terms Defined.
- (1) "Bail bondsman" means a surety agent who is appointed by an insurer to solicit, procure, negotiate, and effectuate bail bonds on behalf of that insurer.
- (2) "Licensee" means an insurer which is authorized in this State to engage in the business of surety insurance, either directly or through an appointed surety agent.
- (3) "Property bail bondsman" means a person who pledges currency or real or personal property as security for a bail bond in connection with a judicial proceeding.
- (4) "Surety agent" means an agent who holds a valid certificate of qualification from the Commissioner for the sale of surety insurance and is appointed by an authorized insurer to act as its agent in the sale of surety insurance.

31.03.05.03.

- A. An insurer may not directly or indirectly pay any commission, fee, reward, or other consideration for procuring or influencing the procurement of any bail bond to any person unless that person is a surety agent, as defined in Regulation .02B(4) of this chapter and is appointed by the insurer.
- B. A person acting as a bail bondsman or on behalf of a bail bondsman may not in any manner solicit, procure, negotiate, or effectuate for another any kind of bail bond in this State unless that person is a surety agent, as defined in Regulation .02B(4) of this chapter.

31.03.05.04.

The business of a surety agent may be conducted by an individual, partnership, or corporation, provided that an individual who solicits, procures, negotiates, or effectuates surety business shall be a surety agent.

31.03.05.05.

- A. A bail bondsman shall:
- (1) Before conducting business as a bail bondsman, be appointed by an authorized insurer to act as the insurer's agent in the placement of bail bonds; and
- (2) File with the Commissioner and with the Chief Clerk of the District Court of Maryland the general power of attorney executed by or on behalf of the surety insurer evidencing the authorization of the surety agent to conduct business as a bail bondsman on behalf of the insurer.

B. A surety insurer which terminates the appointment of any surety agent shall immediately file a written notice of termination with the Commissioner and with the Chief Clerk of the District Court of Maryland.

31.03.05.06.

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8 9

10 11

12

13

14

15

16 17

18

19

2021

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

31

32

33

34

35

A surety agent who intentionally makes a misleading or false representation to a court or to a public official for the purpose of avoiding a forfeiture of bail, having a forfeiture set aside, or obtaining the release of a defendant on his own recognizance, shall be considered to have violated Insurance Article, §§ 10-126(a)(6), (13), and (14), Annotated Code of Maryland.

31.03.05.07.

- A. Except for motor clubs, a surety agent or licensee may not execute a bail bond without charging a specific premium for the transaction.
- B. In instances where a specific premium is charged, the actual premium charged may not differ from the premium rate approved by the Commissioner pursuant to Insurance Article, Title 11, Subtitle 2, Annotated Code of Maryland.

31.03.05.08.

- A. A surety agent shall maintain records of all bail bonds executed, in sufficient detail to enable the Commissioner to obtain all necessary information concerning each transaction. These records shall be made available for inspection by the Commissioner for at least 1 year after termination of the surety liability.
- B. A surety agent's records shall include a daily bond register. The register shall set forth, at a minimum:
 - (1) The number of the power of attorney form;
 - (2) The date the bond was executed;
 - (3) The name of the principal;
 - (4) The amount of the bond;
 - (5) The premium charged;
 - (6) The premium reported to the surety company and the date reported;
 - (7) A description, including the date and amount, of any collateral received;
 - (8) A description, including the date and amount, of any collateral returned;
 - (9) The indemnity agreement, if any; and
 - (10) The disposition of the bond, including the date of disposition.
 - C. A surety agent shall retain:
- (1) Evidence of the return of any security or collateral, including a receipt evidencing the return or repayment of the security or collateral, for a minimum of 1 year from

1 the date of return;

2

3

4 5

6

7

8

9 10

11

12

13 14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

2627

28

29

30

31

32

33

34

- (2) Copies of all affidavits made in connection with indemnity agreements or collateral received, for a minimum of 1 year from the date of the termination of the surety liability; and
- (3) Copies of all written representations made to any court or to any public official for the purpose of avoiding a forfeiture of bail, setting aside a forfeiture, or causing a defendant to be released on his own recognizance, for a minimum of 1 year from the date of the termination of the surety liability.

31.03.05.09.

- A. A surety agent shall provide a numbered receipt to bail bond purchasers. A copy of the receipt shall be retained by the surety agent.
 - B. The receipts, at a minimum, shall contain the following information:
- (1) The name, place of business, address, and telephone number of the surety agent;
- (2) An itemized statement of the amount of bail and the jurisdiction for which the bond is being written;
 - (3) An itemized statement of the premium charged;
 - (4) The amount collected by the surety agent;
 - (5) The unpaid balance, if any; and
 - (6) The amount, value, and description of any collateral received.

31.03.05.10.

A surety agent shall, in an affidavit, describe in detail any collateral received in connection with a bail bond transaction and the terms of any indemnity or collateral agreement.

31.03.05.11.

- A. Immediately upon the discharge of a bond, the licensee or surety agent shall return any collateral held by the licensee or the surety agent. Upon receiving a request for return of collateral, the licensee or surety agent shall promptly determine whether the obligation has been discharged.
- B. The licensee or surety agent may deduct any unpaid premiums due on the bail bond from any collateral being returned.

31.03.05.12.

In instances where a licensee or surety agent executes a bail bond in anticipation of pretrial release of a defendant and the defendant does not subsequently qualify for pretrial

release, then the licensee shall refund all premiums or fees received and all collateral held within 5 working days.

Public Local Laws

Anne Arundel County

Article V. The Executive Branch.

§ 542.

3

4

5

6

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19 20

21

22

2324

25

30

The Plumbing Commission, the Board of Examiners and Supervisors (or the Board of Electrical Examiners and Supervisors), the Board of Bail Bond License Commissioners and other boards, commissions and agencies connected with the functions of the Department of Inspections and Permits shall be administered as units of said Department. Nothing in this Charter contained shall be held or construed as preventing the County Council by ordinance from reorganizing, reconstituting or abolishing any of such boards, commissions or agencies provided that as of the operative date of this Article the appointing authority for members of all such boards, commissions and agencies shall be the County Executive. All employees of such boards, commissions and agencies shall become employees of the Department of Inspections and Permits subject to the provisions of Article VIII of this Charter and the funds in the custody of the boards, commissions and agencies shall be paid into the treasury of the County. Administrative functions of any board, commission or agency existing or created for the regulation, examination or inspection of the qualifications or work of occupational groups or the issuing of licenses or permits shall be performed by employees of the Department of Inspections and Permits. Rules and regulations of such boards, commissions and agencies not inconsistent with this Charter shall remain in force and effect unless and until changed by ordinance. Members of such boards, commissions or agencies shall receive no compensation for their services except reasonable and necessary expense as may be provided in the budget.

26 Article 16. Licensing

27 Title 4. Bail Bonds.

28 Subtitle 1. Definitions.

29 **§ 4-101.**

(a) In this title the following words have the meanings indicated.

- 1 (b) "Bond" means a corporate or individual bond or any form of collateral, including cash.
 - (c) "Bondsman" means a person engaged in the business or activity of becoming a surety for compensation on bonds in criminal cases and the person's agent, employee, or representative.

§ 4-102.

- (a) This title does not affect the right of an individual to be a recognizor for that individual on the posting of proper security.
- (b) Each person who pledges security for bail, including the bond of a corporate surety licensed by the State Insurance Commissioner, and obtains compensation for pledging security, is considered to be engaged in the business or activity of becoming surety for compensation on bonds in criminal cases, and as such, shall comply with the regulatory and penal provisions of this title.
- (c) Except for the licensing provisions, provisions of this title that define criminal offenses or impose criminal penalties are effective without exception as to all bondsmen.

§ 4-103.

An alphabetically arranged list of persons licensed under this title shall be posted in a conspicuous place in each police station, the sheriffs office, the detention center, and every other place in which persons in custody of the law are detained. Whenever a person who is detained in custody requests the name of a bondsman or to be put in communication with a bondsman, the list shall be furnished to that person.

Subtitle 2. Licensing.

§ 4-201.

- (a) Except as provided in subsection (b) of this section, a person may not engage in the business or activity of becoming a surety for compensation on bonds in criminal cases, and an agent, employee, or representative of such a person may not participate in the solicitation of such business or activity without a license issued by the Director.
 - (b) A license is not required for:
- (1) a motor vehicle liability insurance company or carrier or of a bona fide and recognized automobile club or association that may secure or advise as to a bond for one of its customers or members as an incidental part of its main functions;
- (2) an insurance company or agent for an insurance company authorized by the State Insurance Division that has capital stock of not less than \$500,000 and approved assets of at least \$500,000 in excess of its capital stock reserves, and all other liabilities; or

- (3) corporate sureties licensed by the State Insurance Commissioner and their agents and employees who conduct, operate, or participate in the conduct or operation of the business or activity of becoming surety for compensation in criminal cases strictly and exclusively as an agent, officer, employee, or representative of a corporate surety licensed by the State Insurance Commissioner.
- (c) If applicable State law is changed so as to permit the licensing of corporate sureties by political subdivisions of the State, then those corporate sureties and their agents and employees engaged as bondsmen in this County shall be required to obtain such a license without further legislative action.

§ 4-202.

The annual fee for the license required by this title is \$1,000 for a person engaged in the business or activity as principal and \$500 for a person engaged as an agent, representative, or employee of a principal.

§ 4-203.

The Director shall refer applicants to the Police Chief for investigation of the applicant's character. The Police Chief shall submit the results of the investigation to the Director, along with a recommendation as to whether the applicant should be accepted. The Director shall deny a license to an applicant whenever the Director finds that the applicant is not an individual of good moral character.

§ 4-204.

A license issued in accordance with this title may be suspended or revoked whenever the Director finds that:

- (1) the licensee is not an individual of good moral character;
- (2) the licensee has violated this title;
- (3) the licensee has violated the rules and regulations adopted in respect to the conduct of bondsmen by the United States District Court for the District of Maryland, the Court of Appeals of Maryland, and the State Insurance Commissioner;
- (4) the licensee has made a false statement or a material misstatement concerning information required to be submitted by him to the Director;
- (5) the licensee has been suspended or disqualified from giving bail by the United States District Court for the District of Maryland, the District Court for the County, or by other proper authorities in the State; or
 - (6) the licensee is in default of satisfying a forfeiture of a bail bond.

§ 4-205.

- (a) Before denying, revoking, or suspending a license, the Director shall give notice to the applicant or licensee specifying the reason for the proposed action. The notice shall direct the applicant or licensee to appear before the Director at a time to show cause why the license should not be denied, suspended, or revoked. On failure or refusal of the applicant or licensee to appear or based on findings at the hearing, the Director may issue an order or notice denying, suspending, or revoking the license. An order or notice by the Director shall be served on the applicant or licensee by certified mail at the address shown on the license application or by personal delivery. Whenever the applicant or licensee cannot be found, the Director may post a copy of the order or notice on the County Courthouse door.
- (b) A person aggrieved by any decision or action of the director in denying, suspending, or revoking a license required by § 4-204 of this subtitle may appeal to the County Board of Appeals by filing a written application within 30 days after the effective date of the action or decision.

§ 4-206.

- (a) Persons licensed under this title shall keep a monthly cumulative record on forms obtained from the Director of:
 - (1) the amount of bail pledged;
 - (2) the type of security for bail posted;
- (3) The total amount of compensation charged by the licensee and bondsman;
- (4) the amount of money or other property actually received as compensation from the principal;
 - (5) the name and address of the principal;
 - (6) the date the security for bail was posted;
 - (7) the court in which the security for bail was posted;
- (8) the name and address of the attorney representing the principal at the time the security is posted; and
- (9) the amounts of bail for which each piece of real property of the licensees and bondsmen has been pledged as security showing the date of termination of the obligation and the current balance authorized by the Director to be pledged on each property.
- (b) The records required by subsection (a) of this section shall be produced for inspection on request by the Director or by authorized agents, investigators, or employees of the Director.
- (c) On or before the fifth day of each month, each licensee and each bondsman shall file a monthly report of information required by subsection (a) of this section with the Director.
 - (d) Within 48 hours after posting collateral or bail with the clerk or officer

authorized by a court to accept it, each person licensed under this title and each bondsman shall mail a copy of the surety bond, receipt or other document pertaining to the form and amount of collateral to the Director.

Subtitle 3. Prohibited Acts.

§ 4-301.

A person licensed under this title may not maintain an office with a door that is within 600 feet of the door of a place of detention from which a person under arrest may be released on bail, unless the office was in existence on January 1, 1965. An office may not be relocated with the relocation of a place of detention so as to be within the 600-foot restriction.

§ 4-302.

- (a) A person licensed under this title may not charge as compensation for a bail bond more than 10% of the total bail set by the court or \$25, whichever is greater.
- (b) A bondsman may not charge, accept, or receive any thing of value other than the regular fee for bonding for executing a bond or performing another service in connection with an indictment, information, or charge on which the person is bailed or held.

§ 4-303.

- (a) A bondsman may not give, donate, lend, contribute, or promise to give, donate, loan, or contribute money, property, entertainment, or other thing of value to an attorney-at-law, police officer, sheriff, jailer, probation officer, clerk, or other attache of any court having criminal jurisdiction in the County, public official or employee of any character for procuring or assisting in procuring a person to employ the bondsman to execute as surety any bond for compensation in a criminal case.
- (b) An attorney-at-law, police officer, sheriff, jailer, probation officer, clerk, bailiff, or other attache of any court having criminal jurisdiction in the County or public official or employee may not accept or receive from any such bondsman any money, property, entertainment, or other thing of value whatsoever for procuring or assisting in procuring any person to employ any bondsman to execute as surety any bond for compensation in any criminal court.

§ 4-304.

A bondsman may not directly or indirectly procure, suggest, aid in the procurement of, or the obtaining or employing of an attorney-at-law for any person in a criminal case.

§ 4-305.

A bondsman may not settle or attempt to settle or procure or attempt to procure the dismissal of a warrant, indictment, information, or charge against a person in custody or held on bond with any court or with the prosecuting attorney in a court.

Subtitle 4. Penalties.

§ 4-401.

A person who violates any provision of this title is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to a fine not exceeding \$1,000 or imprisonment not exceeding six months or both.

Baltimore City

Subtitle 22. Circuit Court.

11 Bail

§ 22-13.

The Clerk of the Circuit Court for Baltimore City shall have the power at any time to take bail when authorized by the Court, whether the Court is in session or not, and although the defendant is not present or does not join in the recognizance, but in all cases, before bail is taken by the Clerk, the Court shall fix the amount thereof.

§ 22-14.

Whenever any person charged with a criminal offense desires to be admitted to bail, his recognizor, except as provided for in Section 22-13, shall sign and make oath to an application in which shall be stated the location of his property, his interest therein, its value, ground rent, mortgages, and other recognizances and incumbrances, if any, to which it may be subject, and such other matters as may be inquired of, and required to be inserted in the application by the Clerk to whom such application is made, to enable such Clerk to determine the value of the security offered.

§ 22-15.

The Clerk of the Circuit Court for Baltimore City may, when ordered by the Court, admit any person to bail on that person's own recognizance, or may accept a recognizor without stated property qualifications.

§ 22-16.

It shall be sufficient for recognizances taken in the Circuit Court for Baltimore City, when signed by the judge or the clerk thereof, to conform to the following formula:

"You and each of you acknowledge yourselves to owe and stand indebted to the State of Maryland in the sum of ______ dollars for the appearance of _____ at this Court on the ____ day of _____ 19___ to answer the charge alleged against that person, and to attend this Court thereafter from day to day until discharged therefrom in due course of law."

§ 22-17.

Every recognizance taken in any criminal proceeding in Baltimore City shall be a lien upon the property of the recognizor mentioned in the recognizor's application from the date of the acknowledgment of such recognizance, unless such recognizance shall have been acknowledged before a District Court Commissioner or before a court upon writ of habeas corpus, in which it shall be a lien from the time it is filed with the Clerk of the Circuit Court for Baltimore City. When any recognizance is forfeited it shall become a judgment, and shall have all the effects of judgments rendered in civil causes, and may be enforced by execution by order of the State's Attorney at any time within six years from the date of the forfeiture, and not afterwards.

§ 22-18.

It shall be the duty of the Clerk of the Circuit Court for Baltimore City immediately to record, in a properly indexed book to be provided for that purpose, the names of the persons who have entered into recognizances, the date of the filing of the recognizances with the Clerk of the Court, if such recognizance has been acknowledged before a District Court Commissioner or before some other court upon writ of habeas corpus, the amount thereof, and the date of the acknowledgment of the same; the location of the property mentioned in the application, and when any recognizance shall be forfeited; and when any forfeiture shall be striken out or discharged, it shall be the duty of the Circuit Court clerk to make an appropriate entry in the recognizance book, showing such disposition of the recognizance or the forfeiture, together with the date thereof.

§ 22-19.

Any officer having power to admit to bail may accept as recognizor any bonding, guarantee or trust company incorporated under the laws of the State of Maryland, or under the laws of any State in the United States, and doing business in the City of Baltimore, which is authorized by its charter to become surety on official bonds.

§ 22-20.

Any person having power to admit to bail under the provisions of this subtitle may accept the accused as his own recognizor, upon cash or other property owned by him, and upon his conforming otherwise to the provisions of this subtitle.

§ 22-21.

The District Court of Maryland shall not accept bail for persons charged with manslaughter, other than charge for manslaughter arising out of a motor vehicle accident, murder or any offense the punishment for which may be death; such court may, in its discretion, accept the bail for any person charged with the commission of any felony other than those mentioned above; and any misdemeanor the punishment for which may be confinement in the penitentiary; and whenever bail is offered for any person charged with the commission of any misdemeanor other than those already set forth, such Court shall accept the same; provided it is satisfied with the security offered.

§ 22-22.

Whenever a person charged with a bailable, criminal offense before the District Court of Maryland desires to be admitted to bail, his recognizor shall sign and make oath to an application in which shall be stated such matters as may be required of and required to be inserted in such application by the Court to enable it to determine the value of the security offered. Any recognizance acknowledged before such Court shall be good, although the defendant does not join in the same.

§ 22-23.

Whenever any person charged with the commission of a criminal offense is admitted to bail by the District Court of Maryland for appearance in the Circuit Court for Baltimore City, the Clerk of the District Court of Maryland shall forthwith deliver the recognizance to the Clerk of the Circuit Court. Such recognizance shall then become a record of the Circuit Court, and may be forfeited, and the forfeiture may be enforced in the same manner as if recognizance has been taken by the Circuit Court.

§ 22-24.

Whenever any person charged with a criminal offense before the District Court of Maryland is admitted to bail for further hearing, if such person does not appear at such hearing according to the tenor of his recognizance, it may be forfeited. If forfeited, the District Court Clerk shall note the forfeiture on the recognizance, and deliver it to the Clerk of the Circuit Court for Baltimore City. The said forfeited recognizance shall then become a record of the Circuit Court, and shall have the same effect and may be enforced in the same manner as if it had been taken and forfeited by the Circuit Court for Baltimore City.

§ 22-53.

1 2

3

4

5

6

7 8

9

10

11

12 13

14

15

17

18

19

20

2122

24

25

27

28

29

In all criminal cases in the said court in which bail shall be forfeited, the person who shall have entered into such recognizance for the appearance of any traverser or prisoner shall be liable forthwith to an attachment for contempt for the nonappearance of said party, which attachment shall be issued by the court in which an indictment against said traverser or prisoner is pending, at the instance of the attorney prosecuting therein.

§ 22-54.

In all cases in which bail as aforesaid is forfeited, the court may, on the return of said attachment, order the person attached to stand committed until the amount of said recognizance is fully paid and satisfied, or may order said person to be discharged upon the payment of such lesser sum as it shall, in its discretion, deem proper, provided, such sum be not less than the amount of the costs which may have accrued in the case up to the time of passing such order.

Baltimore County

Title 24. Licenses

16 Article VI.

§ 24-235.

It shall be unlawful for any person towing disabled vehicles to offer to secure or provide bail or to enter into any agreement, oral or written, to secure or provide bail or arrange for the providing of bail to any person involved in a motor vehicle collision or accident in the county, with the exception that this section shall not apply to bona fide automobile clubs, associations, or insurance companies.

23 Harford County

Part Ii General Legislation

Chapter 237. Towing Businesses

26 **§ 237-14.**

It shall be unlawful for any person towing disabled vehicles to offer to secure or provide bail or to enter into any agreement, oral or written, to secure or provide bail or arrange for the providing of bail for any person involved in a motor vehicle collision or accident in the county, with the exception that this section shall not apply to bona fide automobile clubs, associations, or insurance companies.

Montgomery County

Part II. Local Laws, Ordinances, Resolutions, Etc.

Chapter 12. Courts.

Article V. Bail Bonds.

7 § **12-25.**

The business of becoming surety for compensation upon bonds in criminal cases in the county is impressed with a public interest.

§ 12-26.

It shall be unlawful for any person engaged either as principal or as the clerk, agent or representative of a corporation, or another person in the business of becoming surety upon bonds for compensation in the county, either directly or indirectly, to give, donate, lend, contribute, or to promise to give, donate, loan or contribute any money, property, entertainment or other thing of value whatsoever to any attorney at law, police officer, sheriff, jailer, probation officer, clerk or other attache of a criminal court, or public official of any character, for procuring or assisting in procuring, any person to employ such bondsman to execute as surety any bond for compensation in any criminal case in the county. It shall be unlawful for any attorney at law, police officer, sheriff, jailer, probation officer, clerk, bailiff or other attache of a criminal court or public official of any character, to accept or receive from any such person engaged in the bonding business any money, property, entertainment or other thing of value whatsoever for procuring or assisting in procuring any person to employ any bondsman to execute as surety any bond for compensation in any criminal case in the county.

§ 12-27.

It shall be unlawful for any attorney at law, either directly or indirectly, to give, loan, donate, contribute, or to promise to give, loan, donate or contribute any money, property, entertainment or other thing of value whatsoever to, or to split or divide any fee or commission with, any bondsman, the agent, clerk or representative of any bondsman, police officer, sheriff, probation officer, assistant probation officer, bailiff, clerk or other attache of any criminal court for causing or procuring or assisting in causing or procuring any person

to employ such attorney to represent him in any criminal case in the county.

§ 12-28.

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

2122

23

24

25

26

2728

29

30

31 32

33

34

35

It shall be lawful to charge for executing any bond in a criminal case in the county, and it shall be unlawful for any person engaged in the bonding business, either as principal, or clerk, agent, or representative of another, either directly or indirectly, to charge, accept, or receive any sum of money, or other thing of value, other than the regular fee for bonding, from any person for whom he has executed bond for any other service whatever performed in connection with any indictment, information or charge upon which such person is bailed or held in the county. It also shall be unlawful for any person engaged either as principal or as agent, clerk or representative of another in the bonding business, to settle or attempt to settle, procure or attempt to procure the dismissal of any indictment, information or charge against any person in custody or held upon bond in the county, with any court, or with the prosecuting attorney in any court in the county.

§ 12-29.

A typewritten or printed list alphabetically arranged of all persons engaged under the authority of the circuit court for the county in the business of becoming surety upon bonds for compensation in criminal cases shall be posted in a conspicuous place in each police precinct, jail, prisoner's dock, house of detention, and every other place in such county in which persons in custody of the law are detained, and one (1) or more copies thereof kept on hand. When any person who is detained in custody in any such place of detention shall request any person in charge thereof to furnish him the name of a bondsman, or to put him in communication with a bondsman, such list shall be furnished to the person so requesting, without recommendation. It shall be the duty of the person in charge of such place of detention within a reasonable time to put the person so detained in communication with the bondsman so elected, and the person in charge of such place of detention shall contemporaneously with the transaction make in the blotter or book of record kept in any such place of detention, a record showing the name of the person requesting the bondsman, the offense with which the person is charged, the time at which the request was made, the bondsman requested and the person by whom such bondsman was called, and preserve the same as a permanent record in the book or blotter in which entered.

§ 12-30.

All persons engaged in the business of becoming surety upon bonds for compensation in criminal cases shall on June 30, 1945 and on June 30 of each succeeding year, submit a report, under oath, to the circuit court for the county showing the total amount of bonds outstanding together with total assets. The making of a false statement in the annual financial

report shall constitute a violation of this chapter. The circuit court for the county shall pass rules and regulations governing the operation of such business and may, upon consideration of the financial responsibility of the persons required to make a report, prohibit any person from further engaging in such business in the county.

§ 12-31.

Every person who becomes surety upon bonds for compensation in criminal cases shall, within twenty-four (24) hours after becoming surety, mail a copy of the surety bond to the office of the state's attorney for the county.

§ 12-32.

- (a) The clerk of the circuit court for Montgomery County shall appoint a clerk to serve as central bail bond clerk for the circuit court and district court for Montgomery County. The central bail bond clerk shall serve at the pleasure of the clerk of the circuit court of Montgomery County and shall be paid such compensation as provided for in said clerk's budget. The duties of the central bail bond clerk shall include those set forth in this article, and such additional duties as assigned by the clerk of the circuit court or by the administrative judges of the said courts. The bail bond clerk shall give bond for the faithful performance of his duties in the amount of one hundred thousand dollars (\$100,000.00).
- (b) The central bail bond clerk shall maintain all bond agreements and shall be responsible for the funds deposited with the court attendant to such bond agreements. Bail bond agreements and depository funds attendant thereto shall be transmitted to the central bail bond clerk by the judges and clerks of the Montgomery County circuit courts and judges, clerks and commissioners of the Montgomery County district courts. The central bail bond clerk shall keep separate indexes and record books; one (1) for the bonds posted at the district court level and one (1) for the bonds posted at the circuit court level. The central bail bond clerk shall refund all monies upon the satisfaction of the conditions of a bond. The central bail bond clerk shall report periodically to the circuit court and to the district court the status of all outstanding bonds and the bond liabilities of all persons engaged in the business of being surety upon bonds for compensation as set forth in this article.

§ 12-33.

- (a) A judge of the circuit court, a judge of the district court or a commissioner of the district court, may, unless otherwise prohibited by law or rule of court in any criminal or motor vehicle violation, release the defendant on his person recognizance.
- (b) In all criminal or motor vehicle violations for which bond has been set, it may be complied with by a defendant or by a private surety acting in his behalf, by the execution of a bond in the face amount thereof and depositing with the clerk of the court or the

committing magistrate a sum of money equal to ten (10) percent of the penalty of the bond. A judge or commissioner may increase the percentage of cash surety required in a particular case up to one hundred (100) percent, but in no event shall a cash deposit be less than twenty-five dollars (\$25.00). This provision permitting the posting of a percentage of the cash surety required does not apply if the defendant has been arrested for failure to appear in court or for contempt of court. Upon depositing the sum and executing the bond, the person shall be released from custody, subject to the conditions of the said bond. When all conditions of the bond have been performed without default and the defendant has been released from custody in the cause for which the bond was posted, the central bail bond clerk shall return the amount deposited to the person entitled thereto. If the defendant fails to perform any or all of the conditions of the bail bond, it shall be forfeited; and in the event of forfeiture, the liability of the bond shall extend to the full amount of the penalty of the bond set and the amount previously posted as a deposit shall be applied to reduce the liability incurred by the forfeiture.

§ 12-34.

- (a) Any person who owns real estate in Montgomery County may post a property bond. Before the clerk of the circuit court or his deputy or the administrative clerk of the district court or his deputy shall approve or accept such bond, a search of the records of the circuit court, including liens and judgments pertaining to the realty to be offered as security, shall be made by the central bail bond clerk or his designee. Reasonable court costs may be assessed for such search to be paid by the person offering the security. In the absence of negligence or willful dereliction, no clerk or deputy shall be personally liable for any loss sustained upon forfeiture of a property bond. Once the property bond has been posted, the central bail bond clerk shall record the amount of the bond as a lien against the real estate of the person offering the security in Montgomery County.
- (b) Nothing in this article shall affect the right of any person to be his own recognizance upon the posting of proper security.

§ 12-34A.

The clerk of the circuit court for Montgomery County or the administrative clerk of the district court for Montgomery County shall have the power at any time to take bond when authorized by such court, whether the court is in session or not, but in all court cases before bail or bond is taken by the said clerks, a judge or commissioner shall fix the amount thereof.

§ 12-35.

In all criminal or motor vehicle violations in Montgomery County, all bonds shall be executed so as to guarantee the appearance of the defendant at all stages of the proceeding

in the district court and the circuit court.

§ 12-35A.

Once a judge of the circuit court or a judge of the district court has set a bond, no judge shall increase the bond without good cause being shown to warrant said increase upon a motion of the state's attorney of Montgomery County. Nothing contained herein shall limit the power of a judge of the circuit court or a judge of the district court at any stage of the proceedings to reduce the amount of said bond.

§ 12-35B.

The premium or compensation for becoming a surety on a bond shall not exceed five (5) percent of the amount of such bond where the offense charged is a misdemeanor. The premium or compensation for becoming a surety on a bond shall not exceed eight (8) percent of the amount of such bond where the offense charged is a felony.

§ 12-35C.

- (a) Any judge of the circuit court or judge of the district court, or commissioner of the district court or sheriff, deputy sheriff or clerk of any court of Montgomery County receiving or accepting bonds shall forward, within twenty-four (24) hours, copies of all bonds of those persons arrested in Montgomery County to the central bail bond clerk.
- (b) Those persons who are arrested in Montgomery County for a criminal offense for which the setting of bond is required by law shall be taken as soon as possible before a judge of the circuit court or a judge of the district court or a commissioner of the district court in order that bond may be set.
- (c) The central bail bond clerk shall keep a properly indexed record of each defendant for whom a bail bond is received and accepted as aforesaid, the number of the case, indictment, information or warrant, the crime or crimes charged, the amount and type bond and any forfeiture thereof; and it shall be the duty of said central bail bond clerk to enter on writs and process directed to him, affecting a defendant for whom a bail bond has been received and accepted as aforesaid, whether or not the bond of the defendant is in full force and effect or has been forfeited.

Prince George's County

- NOTE: The code was not available.
- 31 Wicomico County

Part Ii General Legislation

Chapter 218. Vagrants

§ 218-2.

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19 20

21

22

2324

Every vagabond, habitual beggar, vagrant or fortune-teller mentioned in §§ 218-1 of this chapter, upon conviction before the Circuit Court for Wicomico or Somerset Counties, or before any Justice of the Peace having criminal jurisdiction, shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be subject to a fine of not less than twenty-five dollars (\$25.) nor more than one hundred dollars (\$100.) or be confined in the Maryland House of Correction for a period of not less than two (2) months nor more than six (6) months, or both fine and imprisonment, within the discretion of the Circuit Court or the Justice of the Peace, provided that any person found to be a vagabond or an habitual beggar who may not be able-bodied, but aged or infirm or seriously crippled, may, in the discretion of the Court or Justice of the Peace, be committed to the almshouse or be paroled, and provided also that any minor committed under this chapter may be sent to any reformatory institution to which minors may be committed under Article 27 of the Code of Public General Laws of Maryland or paroled in the discretion of the Court or Justice of the Peace; provided, however, that if any person when brought before any such Justice of the Peace having jurisdiction in the case shall, before trial for the alleged offense, pray a jury trial, or if the state's attorney for the county shall before trial pray a jury trial on the part of the state, it shall be the duty of said Justice to commit such alleged offender for trial, or to hold him to bail to appear for trial in the Circuit Court of Wicomico or Somerset Counties at its then or next session and to return said commitment or recognizance, with the names and residences of the witnesses for the prosecution endorsed thereon, forthwith to the Clerk of said Court; and the Justice of the Peace before whom the accused is brought to trial shall, prior to the beginning of the trial, inform him or her of his or her right to a jury trial.