## Maryland State Board of Law Examiners STEPS FOR ADMISSION TO THE BAR VIA THE GENERAL BAR EXAMINATION

- 1. **Create and submit the online Bar Application and Notice of Intent** Using the State Board of Law Examiners' (SBLE) online electronic Bar application ("eBar"), create and submit online the Application for Admission and the Notice of Intent to Take a Scheduled General Bar Examination. Complete instructions for using the eBar system are available in PDF and Word format on the SBLE's website.
- 2. **College/undergraduate transcript** File an official transcript or other document which certifies your prelegal education and establishes your eligibility pursuant to Md. Rule 19-201(a)(1). A guidance document regarding the pre-legal education certification is also available on SBLE's website. You must file your college transcript prior to or contemporaneously with your Bar Application.
- 3. **Hard copy filings** Print, sign and file the required hard copies of the Bar Application and Notice of Intent together with the required attachments and fees.
- 4. **Examination**. Take and pass the General Bar Examination (offered last Tuesday and Wednesday in February and July annually). The minimum passing score is 406. Once exam results are mailed, no alteration/reconsideration of exam scores is possible, except to remedy a clerical error.
- 5. **Law School Transcript**. <u>You</u> must arrange to have your law school submit to the Board an official law school transcript reflecting the date of your graduation. The Board must receive the transcript by September 1 (July exam) or March 15 (February exam).
- 6. **Character Investigation** and **Personal Interview**. Following the Character Committee's investigation of the matters disclosed in your Bar Application, complete a personal interview with a member of the Character Committee and receive a favorable recommendation as to character and fitness. *See Md. Rule 19-203*.
- 7. **Affirmation**. Exam passers must return to SBLE's office the Affirmation form included in their results notice. The Affirmation requires the applicant to disclose any changes in information reported on the Bar Application, and to provide then-current contact information. The Affirmation must be submitted to SBLE within 10 days after the date that examination results are mailed, even if there are no changes to report.
- 8. **Mandatory Orientation Program**. Complete the mandatory online Orientation Program given under the authority of the Court of Appeals. Exam passers must complete the orientation prior to being admitted to the Bar. *See Md. Rule 19-210(e)*.
- 9. **Licensing**. Take the prescribed oath or affirmation for admission in open court at the Court of Appeals of Maryland. There is a fee associated with the preparation of the Bar Admission certificate. The Clerk's office of the Court of Appeals will issue the certificate to the candidate following the admission ceremony. Once admitted, you are entitled to practice in all of the State courts in Maryland. You must take the oath of admission not later than 24 months after the date that the Court of Appeals ratifies the Board's report of the examination results. *See Md. Rule 19-211*.