Maryland State Board of Law Examiners

APPLICANT CHECKLIST FOR ADMISSION TO THE BAR BY OUT-OF-STATE EXAMINATION

- 1. File the application materials, which consists of the following items that must be filed together by the applicable deadline:
- The <u>Petition of Out-of-State Attorney for Admission to the Maryland Bar</u>, which includes an Affirmation that the candidate meets the eligibility standards of Maryland Rule 19-212. The Petition is created, submitted online and printed from SBLE's eBar electronic bar application portal.
- A <u>Certificate of Good Standing</u> issued by the Clerk of the highest court in each State where you are admitted to practice. (A certificate issued by the State Bar does not meet the requirements of the Rule.) (Certificates of Good Standing must be issued within the 6 months immediately prior to filing the application.)
 - A <u>Statement of Professional Qualifications</u> describing the specific duties and responsibilities of your employment as an attorney (or other practitioner of law) that you believe establish your qualifications under Rule 19-212. Further information on the required contents of a Statement of Professional Qualifications is available at: https://www.mdcourts.gov/sites/default/files/import/ble/pdfs/osachecklistpetitioners.pdf.
 - A <u>check or money order in the amount of \$700.00</u> payable to the State Board of Law Examiners.
- The National Conference of Bar Examiners' (NCBE) Character Report Application, which requires disclosure of information regarding the candidate's personal history and serves as the basis for an investigation of educational and professional credentials and the preparation of a character report for use by the Maryland state Board of Law Examiners. The completed NCBE Character Report Application must be accompanied by a check or money order or credit card authorization in the amount of \$450.00 payable to the "National Conference of Bar Examiners."
- **Send or deliver all hard copy documents to the State Board of Law Examiners, 2011-F, Commerce Park Drive, Annapolis, MD 21401. <u>DO NOT</u> send the hard-copy NCBE Character Report Application directly to NCBE.
- 2. **Examination**. Take and pass the Out-of-State Attorneys' Bar Examination. The examination is offered in February and July of each year at the same time as the Essay test for the General Bar Examination.
- 3. **Character Approval**. Receive a favorable character and fitness recommendation from the State Board of Law Examiners following its review of the character report prepared by the NCBE.
- 4. **Mandatory Orientation Program**. After passing the Out-of-State Attorney's Bar Examination, complete the mandatory orientation program required under Rule 19-210 to all applicants who pass the Bar examination. The orientation program is offered online only and there is a separate program fee payable at the time of program registration. Information on completing the orientation program will be distributed at the Examination and by email after Examination results are released.
- 5. **Licensing**. Execute the required oath or affirmation for admission before a notary public and return it to the Clerk's office of the Court of Appeals of Maryland. There is a fee associated with preparation of the Bar Admission certificate. The Clerk's office will then mail the Bar Admission certificate to the candidate. Once you have received the Bar Admission certificate, you are entitled to practice in all of the state courts in Maryland. (You must take the oath of admission not later than 24 months after the date the Court of Appeals ratifies the Board's report of the results of the examination. See Rule 19-211.)