
 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE 

NON-RESIDENT MARRIAGE APPLICATION 
 
 

1. Must state both parties’ full names (first, middle and last). 
 

2. Must state both parties’ social security numbers – this is required by law. 
 

3. Include exact date and place of each divorce or death for all previous marriages. 
 

4. Check to make sure that each section is complete and that the information is spelled correctly. Make sure to 
state if there is any relationship between the two contracting parties. Complete addresses (residences) must 
be given, including zip codes.  Military or Post Office boxes are not accepted. 

 
5. Once the application is completed, it must be signed and sealed by an official who can issue marriage 

licenses in your area. 
 

6. A certified check or money order made payable to the Clerk of the Court must accompany this application. 
For Visa or Mastercard, please sign the authorization and provide credit card information below * and return 
this form with the application. 

 
7. Notify us whether the license will be (a) picked up or (b) mailed to you. 

 
8. The license will be in effect 48 hours after the application is issued from our office. There will be six 

months from that date to have a ceremony performed in Cecil County. 
 
 
 

* I hereby authorize a credit card charge in the amount of $50.00. 
 
 

  

Signature Telephone Number (include Area Code) 
 

Type of Card: Visa or MC Cardholder’s Name:    
Please Print 

 
Cardholder’s Address:           

Street City State Zip 
 

Account Number:   Expiration Date:    



 

STATE OF MARYLAND 
NON-RESIDENT MARRIAGE APPLICATION 

PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT 
 

To the Clerk of the Circuit Court for Cecil County, Maryland: 
 

APPLICATION  LICENSE NO.    
 

I HEREBY MAKE APPLICATION FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE TO BE ISSUED IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE ACT 

OF ASSEMBLY IN SUCH CASES MADE AND PROVIDED, AND DO MAKE THE FOLLOWING STATEMENTS UNDER 

OATH, TO WIT: 
 

Party 1:   Age: 
 

First Middle Last 

Residence:  Birth State/Country:      
 

   Social Security No.:       
(Mandatory – Not displayed to public) 

MARITAL STATUS 
  Single or Divorced  or Widowed        

(List All)   Month Day Year State 

  Divorced  or Widowed    
Month Day Year State 

  _ Divorced  or Widowed    
Month Day Year State 

(Attach additional page if necessary) 
 

Consenting person for Party 1 age 15 to 17    

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx 

 
Party 2:   Age: 

 

First Middle Last 

Residence:  Birth State/Country:     
 

   Social Security No.:     
(Mandatory – Not displayed to public) 

MARITAL STATUS 
  Single or Divorced  or Widowed        

(List All)   Month Day Year State 

  Divorced  or Widowed    
Month Day Year State 

  _ Divorced  or Widowed    
Month Day Year State 

(Attach additional page if necessary) 
 

Consenting person for Party 2 age 15 to 17    

 
Blood relationship to each other, if any:    

 
X   X  _ 

Signature of Party 1   Signature of Party 2 
 

 

Sworn to and Subscribed before me this Day of at  o’clock  m. 

 
Printed Name     

Signature of comparable official 
{SEAL} 

Court/Office               
Note: This document is authorized under the Maryland Annotated Code - Family Law Article - A Notary Public is NOT a comparable official under 
the laws governing Marriage Licenses for Maryland.  A Clerk of any court that issues Marriage Licenses would be a comparable official.  The Clerk 
of the Circuit Court requests your cooperation and assistance. Telephone 410-996-5376. 



 

A clerk is not to issue a license until compliance with all applicable Maryland laws. 
License cost of $30.00 must be submitted by Money Order or Certified Check payable to CLERK OF THE COURT. For credit card charges, please complete 
authorization and account information on the Instruction sheet and return with application. Mail to:  Cecil County Circuit Court, Marriage Department, 129 East 
Main Street, Elkton, Maryland 21921. 
Civil Marriages are performed between 9:00 to 11:00 am and 1:00 to 3:30 pm for a fee of $30.00. 

To schedule your civil ceremony at the Courthouse, please call 410-996-5376. Courthouse ceremonies will be performed in the Ceremonial Room located at 
129 East Main Street, Elkton, Maryland 21921. 

 
YOU MUST APPLY IN THE COUNTY WHERE YOU WISH TO BE MARRIED - Contact the office below for appropriate fees and 
Marriage information: 

 
Allegany County (301)777-5922 Harford County (410)638-3586 
Anne Arundel County (410)222-1397 Howard County (410)313-2111 
Baltimore City (410)333-3780 Kent County (410)778-7431 
Baltimore County (410)887-2601 Montgomery County (240)777-9460 
Calvert County (410)535-1660 Prince George’s County (301)952-5030 
Caroline County (410)479-1811 Queen Anne’s County (410)758-1773 
Carroll County (410)386-2642 Somerset County (410)845-4840 
Cecil County (410)996-5376 St. Mary’s County (301)475-7844 
Charles County (301)932-3240 Talbot County (410)822-2611 
Dorchester County (410)228-0480 Washington County (301)733-8660 
Frederick County (301)694-1976 Wicomico County (410)543-6551 
Garrett County (301)334-1937 Worcester County (410)632-5500 

 

Marriage License will be Picked up 
  Mailed to person authorized in writing by either party to accept delivery 

 
 

Contact phone number if questions: 
Tentative Marriage Date: 

 

MARRIAGE OF MINORS, Maryland Code, Family Law Article §2-301 
An individual 16 or 17 years old may not marry unless: 

(1) the individual has the notarized consent of a parent or guardian and the parent or guardian swears that the individual is at least 16 years old; or 

(2) if the individual does not have the consent of a parent or guardian, either party to be married gives the clerk a certificate* from a licensed 
physician or nurse practitioner stating that the physician or nurse practitioner has examined the woman to be married and has found that she is 
pregnant or has given birth to a child. 

An individual 15 years old may not marry unless: 

(1) the individual has the consent of a parent or guardian; and 
(2) either party to be married gives the clerk a certificate* from a licensed physician or nurse practitioner stating that the physician or nurse 

practitioner has examined the woman to be married and has found that she is pregnant or has given birth to a child. 
*Certificate to be sealed and, except on order of court, remain sealed. 
An individual under the age of 15 may not marry. 

 
PARENTAL CONSENT TO ISSUANCE OF MARRIAGE LICENSE 

In support of the application having been made to the Clerk of the Circuit Court for Cecil County, Maryland, for a marriage license to be issued to 
  _ (name of minor), a minor under the age of 18 years, I/we      
(name(s) of parent/guardian(s) giving consent) of said (name of minor), who is aged (age of minor) years hereby 
give our assent for the marriage of our son/daughter/ward to the said  (name of person to whom minor is marrying), and 
hereby direct the Clerk of the said Circuit Court for Cecil County, Maryland to issue the license for such marriage. 

 
  (SEAL)  (SEAL) 

(Parent or Guardian) (Parent or Guardian) 

ACKNOWLEDGMENT 

State of    
County of     

 

On this the day of 20   , before me, the undersigned officer, personally appeared known 
to me (or satisfactorily proven) to be the person whose name is subscribed to within the instrument and acknowledged that he/she executed the same for the purpose 
therein contained. 

 
In witness hereof I hereunto set my hand and official seal. 

 

 
 

[Signature of Notary Public] 
[Notary Seal] 

 
 

[Name of Notary Public typewritten or printed] 
 

My Commission expires:    
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