
MEMORANDUM

TO: APPLICANTS

FROM: MARY ANN SHORTALL, CLERK OF THE CIRCUIT COURT

SUBJECT: NON-RESIDENT AFFIDAVIT FOR MARRIAGE LICENSE

The enclosed blank affidavit should be taken to the Clerk of the Circuit Court or
other comparable official in your jurisdiction where marriage licenses are issued. 
(Please note that a Notary Public is NOT a comparable official under the laws
governing Marriage Licenses for Maryland).

The affidavit should be typed, or printed legibly, filled out completely and
information verified by the official signing it.  It should be sworn to under oath
and then signed by the applicant(s) in the presence of  the official completing the
document.  Please check the spelling of names and make sure all the information
is accurate.  Your Marriage License will be prepared from this affidavit.   Please
also make sure the upper portion of the second page of the form is completed for
the Authorization for Delivery for the license.  We need your contact information
in case there are any questions.

Once completed by the Clerk of Circuit Court (or other marriage license agent),
the affidavit should be mailed with the appropriate fees ($35.00 application
fee/$25.00 ceremony fee if to be performed by a Judge) and a copy of Proof of
Identification for both applicants to the Clerk of the Circuit Court, 11 N.
Washington Street, Suite 16, Easton, MD 21601.  Fee must be paid by MONEY
ORDER or CASHIER’S CHECK.  
NO PERSONAL CHECKS ACCEPTED .

Once a fully completed affidavit is received, the Marriage License will be issued
immediately but will not be able to be used until after 6:00 a.m. on the second
calendar day after the license is issued.  If the affidavit is incomplete, the license
will not be issued and you may have to begin the process again.

The Clerk of the Circuit Court requests your cooperation and assistance.  For
additional information regarding the requirements for marriage in Talbot County,
Maryland, please write to the Clerk of the Circuit Court at 11 N. Washington St.,
Suite 16, Easton, Maryland 21601 or call (410) 822-2611 Ext. 5.
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 LICENSE NO._______________

NON-RESIDENT AFFIDAVIT FOR MARRIAGE LICENSE 

To the Clerk of the Circuit Court for TALBOT COUNTY, MARYLAND:

Party 1:
________________________________________________Age_____ Birthplace____________
   ( Full Name)                                                                                     (State or Country)

Social Security No.____________________________(Mandatory 06/01/03)

Residence_____________________________________________________________
                                                       (Street Address)                                                                       (City,  State & Zip Code)

Marital Status:   Never Married __________
                           Widowed ________________________________________________
                                                                     (Please list exact date of death/s and County & State where death/s took  place)

    Divorced _________________________________________________
 (If previously married list exact date of divorce and County & State where divorce was granted  for  all  previous marriages)

Party 2:
________________________________________________Age_____ Birthplace____________
   (Full Name)                                                                                                (State or Country)

Social Security No.____________________________(Mandatory 06/01/03)

Residence ____________________________________________________________
                                                            (Street Address)                                                                                (City, State & Zip Code)                         
                     

Marital Status:   Never Married __________
                           Widowed ________________________________________________
                                                                     (Please list exact date of death/s and County & State where death/s took  place)

    Divorced_________________________________________________
 (If previously married list exact date of divorce and County & State where divorce was granted  for  all  previous marriages)

Are parties related in any way?     Yes______    No _____ Relationship, if
Yes:________________

*Name of Person Consenting if Party 1 is a Minor___________________________________
                                                                                          (Parent or Guardian)

*Name of Person Consenting if Party 2 is a Minor___________________________________
                                                                                                                                      (Parent or Guardian)

(*Consent Form under oath must be completed - See Reverse Side)

_______________________________________          _________________________________
     Witness (by Clerk’s Office employee) Applicant’s Full Name (must be signed)

_______________________________________          _________________________________
     Witness        (by Clerk’s Office employee) Applicant’s Full Name (must be signed)

Sworn to and Subscribed before me this_________day of _________________, A.D., ______
 
          

________________________________________
Signature of Clerk of the Court or other Comparable
For the County of _____________________________ 
In the State of ________________________________
_____________________________________________
_____________________________________________

            (Give complete address & affix Court Seal)

AFFIDAVIT FILED:___________________________, 20______, at ___________  .M.
                                         
LICENSE ISSUED:____________________________, 20______, at ___________  .M.
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AUTHORIZATION FOR DELIVERY

CONTACT INFORMATION: ___________________________________PHONE #:_________

WILL PICK UP ______________    MAIL TO_______________________________________

MAIL TO MINISTER __________________________________________________________
                                                                                              (NAME AND ADDRESS)

WILL A JUDGE BE PERFORMING YOUR MARRIAGE CEREMONY?
___Yes (Please include an additional $25.00 civil ceremony fee, made payable to the Clerk of the
Circuit Court, with your application)
___ No (no additional action needed)
*****************************************************************************
FAMILY LAW ARTICLE, SECTION 2-301 - MARRIAGE OF MINORS

(A)    MINORS OVER SIXTEEN - A MALE OVER THE AGE OF 16 YEARS AND UNDER
THE AGE OF 18 YEARS, OR A FEMALE OVER THE AGE OF 16 YEARS AND UNDER THE AGE
OF 18 YEARS MAY MARRY, WITH THE CONSENT OF THE PARENT OR GUARDIAN, IF THE
PARENT OR GUARDIAN SWEARS OR AFFIRMS THAT THE CHILD OR WARD IS OVER THE
AGE OF 16 YEARS.  A MALE OVER THE AGE OF 16 YEARS OR A FEMALE OVER THE AGE
OF 16 YEARS MAY MARRY WITHOUT PARENTAL OR GUARDIAN’S CONSENT, WHERE
REQUIRED, UPON PRESENTING 
A CERTIFICATE FROM A LICENSED PHYSICIAN STATING THAT HE HAS EXAMINED
THE FEMALE AND POSITIVELY ASCERTAINED THAT SHE IS PREGNANT OR HAS
GIVEN BIRTH TO A CHILD.

(B) MINORS UNDER SIXTEEN - A MALE UNDER THE AGE OF 16 YEARS OR A
FEMALE UNDER THE AGE OF 16 YEARS MAY NOT MARRY EXCEPT AS ALLOWED BY THIS
PARAGRAPH.  SUCH A MARRIAGE SHALL BE MADE ONLY WITH THE CONSENT OF THE
PARENT OR GUARDIAN OF THE MALE UNDER 16 YEARS AND/OR THE FEMALE UNDER 16
YEARS, AS THE CASE MAY BE, UPON THE PRESENTATION OF A CERTIFICATE FROM A
LICENSED PHYSICIAN STATING THAT HE HAS EXAMINED THE FEMALE AND
POSITIVELY ASCERTAINED THAT SHE IS PREGNANT OR HAS GIVEN BIRTH TO A
CHILD.
*****************************************************************************

CONSENT OF PARENT OR GUARDIAN

I/WE HEREBY GIVE MY/OUR CONSENT TO THE ISSUANCE OF A MARRIAGE LICENSE 

TO ______________________________________________________________________________

TO MARRY ______________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________ __________________________________________
( Signature of Party 1’s Father/Guardian) (Signature of Party 2’s Father/Guardian)

_____________________________________ __________________________________________
(Signature of Party 1’s Mother/Guardian) (Signature of Party 2’s Mother/Guardian)

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO BEFORE ME, THIS __________ DAY OF ____________, _____.

__________________________________________

(Signature & Seal of Authorized Court Personnel)
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