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West's Vermont Statutes Annotated
Title Fifteen. Domestic Relations (Refs & Annos)

Chapter 11. Annulment and Divorce (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 3. Proceedings Generally

Article 1. General Provisions

15 V.S.A. § 594

§ 594. Representation and testimony of child

Currentness

(a) The court may appoint an attorney to represent the interest of a minor or dependent child with respect to child support and
the allocation of parental rights and responsibilities.

(b) The court shall appoint an attorney for a minor child before the minor child is called as a witness in a proceeding under this
chapter. The child may only be called as a witness if the court finds after hearing that:

(1) the child's testimony is necessary to assist the court in determining the issue before it;

(2) the probative value of the child's testimony outweighs the potential detriment to the child; and

(3) the evidence sought is not reasonably available by any other means.

(c) The examination of the child may be conducted by the court in chambers in the presence of such other persons as the court
may specify and shall be recorded by a court reporter.

(d) The court shall enter an order for costs, fees and disbursements in favor of the child's attorney. The order shall be made
against either or both parents, except that, if the responsible party is indigent, the costs, fees, and disbursements shall be borne
as provided by rule of court.

Credits
1971, Adj. Sess., No. 238, § 2; 1985, Adj. Sess., No. 181, § 9.

Notes of Decisions (7)

15 V.S.A. § 594, VT ST T. 15 § 594
The statutes are current through law No. 53 of the First Session of the 2013-2014 Vermont General Assembly (2013), except
for law Nos. 29, 50 and 51, and laws and sections of laws effective July 1, 2013, and later.
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West's Vermont Statutes Annotated
Title Fifteen. Domestic Relations (Refs & Annos)

Chapter 11. Annulment and Divorce (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 3. Proceedings Generally

Article 1. General Provisions

15 V.S.A. § 594a

§ 594a. Temporary relief

Currentness

Either party or both parties to a civil marriage may apply for temporary relief at any time following the separation of the parties
to the marriage coincidental with, or subsequent to the filing of complaint for absolute divorce or legal separation. The court to
which the cause is returnable, or a superior judge, on such notice to the adverse party as the court or judge directs, may make
such orders pending final hearing and further order of the court as the court would be authorized to make upon final hearing.
A prompt hearing will be held, and the evidence shall be recorded by a court reporter. The court or judge shall issue an order
within 10 days from the date of the hearing. Failure of the court or judge to issue an order within 10 days shall not affect the
validity of any order issued after the 10-day period.

Credits
1981, Adj. Sess., No. 247, § 2.

Notes of Decisions (9)

15 V.S.A. § 594a, VT ST T. 15 § 594a
The statutes are current through law No. 53 of the First Session of the 2013-2014 Vermont General Assembly (2013), except
for law Nos. 29, 50 and 51, and laws and sections of laws effective July 1, 2013, and later.
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West's Vermont Statutes Annotated
Title Fifteen. Domestic Relations (Refs & Annos)

Chapter 11. Annulment and Divorce (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 3A. Child Custody and Support

15 V.S.A. § 650

§ 650. Legislative findings and purpose

Currentness

The legislature finds and declares as public policy that after parents have separated or dissolved their civil marriage, it is in the
best interests of their minor child to have the opportunity for maximum continuing physical and emotional contact with both
parents, unless direct physical harm or significant emotional harm to the child or a parent is likely to result from such contact.
The legislature further finds and declares as public policy that parents have the responsibility to provide child support, and that
child support orders should reflect the true costs of raising children and approximate insofar as possible the standard of living
the child would have enjoyed had the family remained intact.

Credits
1985, Adj. Sess., No. 181, § 1; 2003, Adj. Sess., No. 159, § 5.

Notes of Decisions (27)

15 V.S.A. § 650, VT ST T. 15 § 650
The statutes are current through law No. 53 of the First Session of the 2013-2014 Vermont General Assembly (2013), except
for law Nos. 29, 50 and 51, and laws and sections of laws effective July 1, 2013, and later.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.

http://www.westlaw.com/Browse/Home/StatutesCourtRules/VermontStatutesCourtRules?transitionType=DocumentItem&contextData=(sc.Default)&rs=clbt1.0&vr=3.0
http://www.westlaw.com/Browse/Home/StatutesCourtRules/VermontStatutesCourtRules?guid=NB4E5D7E08FD911DD96FAFBA6F4D7972C&transitionType=DocumentItem&contextData=(sc.Default)&rs=clbt1.0&vr=3.0
http://www.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=l&cite=lk(VTSTTFIFTEENR)&originatingDoc=N50A2A7D0A6C811DDBA3BBA27398753C7&refType=CM&sourceCite=15+V.S.A.+%c2%a7+650&originationContext=document&vr=3.0&rs=cblt1.0&transitionType=DocumentItem&pubNum=1000883&contextData=(sc.Default)
http://www.westlaw.com/Browse/Home/StatutesCourtRules/VermontStatutesCourtRules?guid=NBB225ED08FD911DD96FAFBA6F4D7972C&transitionType=DocumentItem&contextData=(sc.Default)&rs=clbt1.0&vr=3.0
http://www.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=l&cite=lk(VTSTTFIFTEENC11R)&originatingDoc=N50A2A7D0A6C811DDBA3BBA27398753C7&refType=CM&sourceCite=15+V.S.A.+%c2%a7+650&originationContext=document&vr=3.0&rs=cblt1.0&transitionType=DocumentItem&pubNum=1000883&contextData=(sc.Default)
http://www.westlaw.com/Browse/Home/StatutesCourtRules/VermontStatutesCourtRules?guid=NBD322C008FD911DD96FAFBA6F4D7972C&transitionType=DocumentItem&contextData=(sc.Default)&rs=clbt1.0&vr=3.0
http://www.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=l&pubNum=1077005&cite=UUID(IC9F6ED30BF-D211D8A74D8-7B95E93B7F0)&originationContext=document&vr=3.0&rs=cblt1.0&transitionType=DocumentItem&contextData=(sc.Default)
http://www.westlaw.com/Link/RelatedInformation/NotesofDecisions?docGuid=N50A2A7D0A6C811DDBA3BBA27398753C7&originationContext=document&vr=3.0&rs=cblt1.0&transitionType=NotesOfDecision&contextData=(sc.Default)


§§ 651, 652. Repealed, VT ST T. 15 § 651

 © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works. 1

West's Vermont Statutes Annotated
Title Fifteen. Domestic Relations (Refs & Annos)

Chapter 11. Annulment and Divorce (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 3A. Child Custody and Support

15 V.S.A. § 651

§§ 651, 652. Repealed

Currentness

15 V.S.A. § 651, VT ST T. 15 § 651
The statutes are current through law No. 53 of the First Session of the 2013-2014 Vermont General Assembly (2013), except
for law Nos. 29, 50 and 51, and laws and sections of laws effective July 1, 2013, and later.
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West's Vermont Statutes Annotated
Title Fifteen. Domestic Relations (Refs & Annos)

Chapter 11. Annulment and Divorce (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 3A. Child Custody and Support

15 V.S.A. § 652

§§ 651, 652. Repealed

Currentness

15 V.S.A. § 652, VT ST T. 15 § 652
The statutes are current through law No. 53 of the First Session of the 2013-2014 Vermont General Assembly (2013), except
for law Nos. 29, 50 and 51, and laws and sections of laws effective July 1, 2013, and later.
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West's Vermont Statutes Annotated
Title Fifteen. Domestic Relations (Refs & Annos)

Chapter 11. Annulment and Divorce (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 3A. Child Custody and Support

15 V.S.A. § 653

§ 653. Definitions

Currentness

As used in this subchapter:

(1) “Available income” means gross income, less:

(A) the amount of spousal support or preexisting child support obligations, including any court-ordered periodic repayment
toward arrearages, actually paid;

(B) the actual cost to a parent of providing adequate health insurance coverage or a cash contribution as provided for in
section 658 of this title for the children who are the subject of the order;

(C) FICA taxes (7.65 percent for regular wage earners and 15.3 percent for self-employed, or any amount subsequently
set by federal law as FICA tax);

(D) state and federal income taxes, calculated as follows:

(i) for custodial parents, using the standard deduction, head of household filing status and exemptions for the parent and
for each of the children who are the subject of the order (not to exceed five children), plus earned income tax credits
if applicable;

(ii) for noncustodial parents, using the standard deduction, single filing status and one exemption;

(iii) for parents who share custody as defined in section 657 of this title, using the standard deduction, head of household
filing status and one exemption for the parent and an equal share of the exemptions attributable to the children who are
the subject of the order, plus earned income tax credits if applicable;

(E) in cases where a child is in the custody of the department for children and families:

(i) the additional housing costs necessary to allow for the child's return where the department for children and families
plan is for reunification with the parents;
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(ii) family division of the superior court or department for children and families mandated out-of-pocket expenses
necessary to comply with the child's case plan.

(2) “Child care costs” means the actual child care costs reasonably incurred by a parent on behalf of the children due to
employment or employment related education. Monthly child care costs shall be calculated based on an annualized amount.
Child care costs shall not include the amount of child care subsidies or child care tax credits if available.

(3) “Court” means the court with jurisdiction over a child support proceeding.

(4) “Extraordinary expenses” means any extraordinary medical or education expenses, including expenses related to the
special needs of a child, incurred on behalf of involved children. Extraordinary medical expenses shall include but not be
limited to uninsured annual medical expenses in excess of $200.00.

(5) “Gross income” means actual gross income of a parent.

(A) Gross income shall include:

(i) income from any source, including, but not limited to, income from salaries, wages, commissions, royalties, bonuses,
dividends, severance pay, pensions, interest, trust income, annuities, capital gains, social security benefits, workers'
compensation benefits, unemployment insurance benefits, disability insurance benefits, gifts, prizes, and spousal support
actually received. Income at the current rate for long-term United States Treasury Bills shall be imputed to nonincome
producing assets with an aggregate fair market value of $10,000.00 or more, other than a primary residence and not
more than $15,000.00 of the value of a motor vehicle;

(ii) expense reimbursements or in-kind payments received by a parent in the course of employment or self-employment
or operation of a business if they reduce personal living expenses;

(iii) the potential income of a parent who is voluntarily unemployed or underemployed, unless:

(I) the parent is physically or mentally incapacitated; or

(II) the parent is attending a vocational or technical education program related to current employment, or a job training
program sponsored by the department of labor, the department of economic development, or the agency of human
services; or

(III) the unemployment or underemployment of the parent is in the best interest of the child;

(iv) gross receipts minus ordinary and necessary expenses where a party is self-employed or derives income from
proprietorship of a business, joint ownership of a partnership or a closely held business operation; and rents, minus
ordinary and necessary expenses. In determining ordinary and necessary expenses, the court may exclude amounts
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allowable by the Internal Revenue Service for the accelerated component of depreciation expenses. The court may also
determine that other business expenses are inappropriate for determining gross income for purposes of calculating child
support.

(B) Gross income shall not include the amount of money received from means tested public assistance programs, including
but not limited to, aid to families with dependent children, supplemental income, food stamps, and general assistance.

(6) “Parental support obligation” means the proportion of total support obligation a parent is ordered to pay in money as
child support.

(7) “Self-support reserve” means the needs standard established annually, and calculated at 120 percent of the United States
Department of Health and Human Services poverty guideline per year for a single individual.

(8) “Support guideline” means the guideline for child support established by the secretary of human services under section
654 of this title.

(9) “Total support obligation” means the sum of money determined by adding:

(A) amounts derived from the support guideline appropriate to the parties' available income;

(B) child care costs; and

(C) extraordinary expenses.

Credits
1985, Adj. Sess., No. 180, § 1; 1987, No. 54, § 4; 1989, Adj. Sess., No. 220, § 16; 1991, Adj. Sess., No. 204, § 8; 1993, Adj.
Sess., No. 106, § 16; 1995, No. 63, § 139c; 1999, Adj. Sess., No. 147, § 4; 2005, Adj. Sess., No. 103, § 3; 2005, Adj. Sess.,
No. 174, § 32; 2009, Adj. Sess., No. 154, § 238(c)(4), eff. July 1, 2010; 2009, Adj. Sess., No. 156, § E.319.2, eff. July 1, 2010;
2011, Adj. Sess., No. 119, § 3, eff. July 1, 2012.

Notes of Decisions (26)

15 V.S.A. § 653, VT ST T. 15 § 653
The statutes are current through law No. 53 of the First Session of the 2013-2014 Vermont General Assembly (2013), except
for law Nos. 29, 50 and 51, and laws and sections of laws effective July 1, 2013, and later.
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West's Vermont Statutes Annotated
Title Fifteen. Domestic Relations (Refs & Annos)

Chapter 11. Annulment and Divorce (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 3A. Child Custody and Support

15 V.S.A. § 654

§ 654. Support guideline

Currentness

The secretary of human services shall prescribe by rule a guideline for child support which reflects the percent of combined
available income which parents living in the same household in Vermont ordinarily spend on their children. The rule shall be
based on the concept that children should receive the same proportion of parental income after separation or divorce of their
parents as they would receive if their parents were living together in one household. The rule shall be based on the financial
needs of Vermont children, established by such reliable data as most accurately reflect their needs. The amounts of child support
determined under the guideline shall be expressed in dollars and shall be presumed to be the total support obligation of parents.
The secretary may amend the guideline from time to time as may be necessary, but not less than once every four years. The
secretary shall also prepare and make available forms suitable for calculating amounts payable under this section.

Credits
1985, Adj. Sess., No. 180, § 2; 1989, Adj. Sess., No. 220, § 17.

Notes of Decisions (20)

15 V.S.A. § 654, VT ST T. 15 § 654
The statutes are current through law No. 53 of the First Session of the 2013-2014 Vermont General Assembly (2013), except
for law Nos. 29, 50 and 51, and laws and sections of laws effective July 1, 2013, and later.
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West's Vermont Statutes Annotated
Title Fifteen. Domestic Relations (Refs & Annos)

Chapter 11. Annulment and Divorce (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 3A. Child Custody and Support

15 V.S.A. § 655

§ 655. Total child support obligation

Currentness

In any proceeding to establish or modify child support, the total support obligation shall be presumed to be the amount of child
support needed, from which a parental support obligation shall be calculated and ordered to be paid unless support is established
under section 659 of this title. The court shall review the adequacy of a child support amount agreed to by the parties with
reference to the total support obligation.

Credits
1985, Adj. Sess., No. 180, § 3.

Notes of Decisions (3)

15 V.S.A. § 655, VT ST T. 15 § 655
The statutes are current through law No. 53 of the First Session of the 2013-2014 Vermont General Assembly (2013), except
for law Nos. 29, 50 and 51, and laws and sections of laws effective July 1, 2013, and later.
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West's Vermont Statutes Annotated
Title Fifteen. Domestic Relations (Refs & Annos)

Chapter 11. Annulment and Divorce (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 3A. Child Custody and Support

15 V.S.A. § 656

§ 656. Computation of parental support obligation

Currentness

(a) Except in situations where there is shared or split physical custody, the total child support obligation shall be divided between
the parents in proportion to their respective available incomes and the noncustodial parent shall be ordered to pay, in money,
his or her share of the total support obligation to the custodial parent. The custodial parent shall be presumed to spend his or
her share directly on the child.

(b) If the noncustodial parent's available income is less than the lowest income figure in the support guideline adopted under
section 654 of this title or is less than the self-support reserve, the court shall use its discretion to determine support using the
factors in section 659 of this title and shall require payment of a nominal support amount.

(c) If the noncustodial parent's available income is greater than the self-support reserve but payment of a child support order
based on application of the guideline would reduce the noncustodial parent's income below the self-support reserve, the
noncustodial parent's share of the total support obligation shall be presumed to be the difference between the self-support
reserve and his or her available income. If the noncustodial parent owes arrears to the custodial parent, the court shall not order
the payment of arrears in an amount that, by itself or in combination with the noncustodial parent's share of the total support
obligation, would reduce the noncustodial parent's income below the self-support reserve, unless the custodial parent can show
good cause why the payment of arrears should be ordered despite the fact that such an order would drop the noncustodial parent's
income below the self-support reserve. Such arrears shall remain the responsibility of the noncustodial parent and be subject to
repayment at a time when the noncustodial parent's income is above the self-support reserve.

(d) The court may use its discretion in determining child support in circumstances where combined available income exceeds
the uppermost levels of the support guideline adopted under section 654 of this title.

Credits
1985, Adj. Sess., No. 180, § 4; 1987, No. 54, § 5; 1989, Adj. Sess., No. 220, § 18; 2003, Adj. Sess., No. 159, § 1.

Notes of Decisions (24)

15 V.S.A. § 656, VT ST T. 15 § 656
The statutes are current through law No. 53 of the First Session of the 2013-2014 Vermont General Assembly (2013), except
for law Nos. 29, 50 and 51, and laws and sections of laws effective July 1, 2013, and later.
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West's Vermont Statutes Annotated
Title Fifteen. Domestic Relations (Refs & Annos)

Chapter 11. Annulment and Divorce (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 3A. Child Custody and Support

15 V.S.A. § 656a

§ 656a. Adjustment for additional dependents

Currentness

(a) As used in this section, “additional dependents” means any natural and adopted children and stepchildren for whom the
parent has a duty of support.

(b) In any proceeding to establish or modify child support, the total child support obligation for the children who are the subject
of the support order shall be adjusted if a parent is also responsible for the support of additional dependents who are not the
subject of the support order. The adjustments shall be made by calculating an amount under the guidelines to represent the
support obligation for additional dependents based only upon the responsible parent's available income, without any other
adjustments. This amount shall be subtracted from that parent's available income prior to calculating the total child support
obligation based on both parents' available income as provided in section 655 of this title.

(c) The adjustment for additional dependents shall not be made to the extent that it contributes to the calculation of a support
order lower than a previously existing support order for the children who are the subject of the modification hearing at which
the adjustment is sought.

(d) A motion for modification may not be dismissed or denied solely because the adjustment for additional dependents results
in an increase of child support of ten percent or less if the increase without the adjustment is greater than ten percent.

Credits
1989, Adj. Sess., No. 220, § 19.

Notes of Decisions (8)

15 V.S.A. § 656a, VT ST T. 15 § 656a
The statutes are current through law No. 53 of the First Session of the 2013-2014 Vermont General Assembly (2013), except
for law Nos. 29, 50 and 51, and laws and sections of laws effective July 1, 2013, and later.
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West's Vermont Statutes Annotated
Title Fifteen. Domestic Relations (Refs & Annos)

Chapter 11. Annulment and Divorce (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 3A. Child Custody and Support

15 V.S.A. § 657

§ 657. Shared or split physical custody

Currentness

(a) When each parent exercises physical custody for 30 percent or more of a calendar year, the total child support obligation shall
be increased by 50 percent to reflect the additional costs of maintaining two households. Each parental support obligation shall
be determined by dividing the total support obligation between the parents in proportion to their respective available incomes
and in proportion to the amount of time each parent exercises physical custody. The parental support obligations shall then be
offset, with the parent owing the larger amount being required to pay the difference between the two amounts to the other parent.

(b) When one parent exercises physical custody for 25 percent or more but less than 30 percent of a calendar year, each parent's
respective share of the total support obligation shall be determined in accordance with a shared costs table adopted by the
agency of human services by rule. The shared costs table shall be developed in such a way as to minimize economic disputes
over parent-child contact or visitation and shall reflect the additional costs of maintaining two households by increasing the
total support obligation by 50 percent.

(c) In no event shall a parent be required to pay child support under subsection (a) or (b) of this section in an amount greater
than the amount that would have been ordered under the support guidelines.

(d) For purposes of this section, “physical custody” means keeping the children overnight. The parent having custody for the
greater period of time shall be considered the custodial parent for the purposes of section 661 of this title.

(e) When each parent has physical custody of at least one of the children, a theoretical support payment shall be determined
for each parent for the children in the custody of the other, prorating the obligations among all children in the household. The
obligations shall then be offset, with the parent owing the larger amount being required to pay the difference between the two
amounts to the other parent.

Credits
1985, Adj. Sess., No. 180, § 5; 1989, Adj. Sess., No. 220, § 20.

Notes of Decisions (2)

15 V.S.A. § 657, VT ST T. 15 § 657
The statutes are current through law No. 53 of the First Session of the 2013-2014 Vermont General Assembly (2013), except
for law Nos. 29, 50 and 51, and laws and sections of laws effective July 1, 2013, and later.
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West's Vermont Statutes Annotated
Title Fifteen. Domestic Relations (Refs & Annos)

Chapter 11. Annulment and Divorce (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 3A. Child Custody and Support

15 V.S.A. § 658

§ 658. Support

Currentness

(a) In an action under this chapter or under chapter 21 of this title, the court shall order either or both parents owing a duty of
support to a child to pay an amount for the support of the child in accordance with the support guidelines as set forth in this
subchapter, unless otherwise determined under section 659 of this title.

(b) A request for support may be made by either parent, a guardian, or the department for children and families or the department
of Vermont health access, if a party in interest. A court may also raise the issue of support on its own motion.

(c) The court may order support to be continued until the child attains the age of majority or terminates secondary education,
whichever is later.

(d) The court or magistrate may order an obligor or a parent who will become the obligor pending an anticipated child support
order to participate in employment, educational, or training-related activities if the court finds that participation in such activities
would assist in providing support for a child, or in addressing the causes of the default. The court may also order the parent to
participate in substance abuse or other counseling if the court finds that such counseling may assist the parent to achieve stable
employment. Activities ordered under this section shall be consistent with, and may be more rigorous than, any requirements
of a state or federal program in which the parent is participating. For the purpose of this subsection, “employment, educational,
or training-related activities” shall mean:

(1) unsubsidized employment;

(2) subsidized private sector employment;

(3) subsidized public sector employment;

(4) work experience (including work associated with the refurbishing of publicly assisted housing) if sufficient private sector
employment is not available;

(5) on-the-job training;

(6) job search and job readiness assistance;
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(7) community service programs;

(8) vocational educational training (not to exceed 12 months with respect to any individual);

(9) job skills training directly related to employment;

(10) education directly related to employment, in the case of a recipient who has not received a high school diploma or a
certificate of high school equivalency;

(11) satisfactory attendance at secondary school or in a course of study leading to a certificate of general equivalence, in the
case of a recipient who has not completed secondary school or received such a certificate;

(12) the provision of child care services to an individual who is participating in a community service program; and

(13) an employment services program, which may provide referrals for employment, training, counseling, or other services.
Any report provided from such a program shall be presumed to be admissible without the appearance of a witness from the
program in accordance with the provisions in 4 V.S.A. § 466(f).

(e) A consent to the adoption of a child or the relinquishment of a child, for the purpose of adoption, covered by a child support
order shall terminate an obligor's duty to provide future support for the adopted child without further order of the court. Unpaid
support installments accrued prior to adoption are not discharged and are subject to the jurisdiction of the court. In a case
involving a child covered by a Vermont child support order, the probate division of the superior court shall also file the consent
or relinquishment with the family division of the superior court in the case in which the support order was issued and shall
notify the office of child support of any order terminating parental rights and of the final adoption decree. Upon receipt of the
consent or relinquishment, the office of child support shall terminate the obligor's duty to provide further support.

(f)(1) The court shall order either or both parents owing a duty of support to provide a cash contribution or medical coverage
for a child, provided that medical coverage is available to the parent at a reasonable cost. Medical coverage is presumed to be
available to a parent at a reasonable cost only if the cost of adding the child to an existing insurance or health benefit plan or
the difference between providing coverage to the individual alone and family coverage under an existing insurance or health
benefit plan is five percent or less of the parent's gross income.

(2) If private health insurance or an employer-sponsored health benefit plan is not available at a reasonable cost, the court
may order one or both parents owing a duty of support to contribute a cash contribution of up to five percent of gross income.
The court also may order a cash contribution if a child receives coverage or health benefits under Medicaid, a Medicaid
waiver program, Dr. Dynasaur, or is uninsured. A cash contribution under this section shall be considered child support for
tax purposes.

(3) The court, in its discretion, may order a parent to provide a cash contribution or coverage under a public or private
insurance or health benefit plan even if the cost exceeds five percent of the parent's gross income, if the cost is deemed
reasonable under the totality of the circumstances after considering the factors pursuant to section 659 of this title.
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(g) Repealed by 2007, Adj. Sess., No. 118, § 2, effective July 1, 2012.

Credits
1985, Adj. Sess., No. 180, § 6; 1989, Adj. Sess., No. 220, § 21; 1993, Adj. Sess., No. 228, § 7; 1995, No. 59, § 5; 1995, Adj.
Sess., No. 161, § 3; 1997, No. 63, § 7; 2003, Adj. Sess., No. 159, § 6; 2005, Adj. Sess., No. 174, § 33; 2005, Adj. Sess., No.
215, § 131; 2007, Adj. Sess., No. 118, § 1, eff. July 1, 2008; 2009, Adj. Sess., No. 154, § 126, eff. July 1, 2010; 2009, Adj.
Sess., No. 156, §§ E.319.I, I.18, eff. July 1, 2010; 2009, Adj. Sess., No. 154, § 126a, eff. Feb. 1, 2011; 2011, Adj. Sess., No.
119, § 4, eff. July 1, 2012.

Notes of Decisions (43)

15 V.S.A. § 658, VT ST T. 15 § 658
The statutes are current through law No. 53 of the First Session of the 2013-2014 Vermont General Assembly (2013), except
for law Nos. 29, 50 and 51, and laws and sections of laws effective July 1, 2013, and later.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Vermont Statutes Annotated
Title Fifteen. Domestic Relations (Refs & Annos)

Chapter 11. Annulment and Divorce (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 3A. Child Custody and Support

15 V.S.A. § 659

§ 659. Child support order

Currentness

(a) The total support obligation shall be presumed to be the amount of child support needed. Upon request of a party, the
court shall consider the following factors in respect to both parents. If, after consideration of these factors, the court finds that
application of the guidelines is unfair to the child or to any of the parties, the court may adjust the amount of child support:

(1) The financial resources of the child.

(2) The financial resources of the custodial parent.

(3) The standard of living the child would have enjoyed had the marital relationship not been discontinued.

(4) The physical and emotional condition of the child.

(5) The educational needs of the child.

(6) The financial resources and needs of the noncustodial parent.

(7) Inflation.

(8) The costs of meeting the educational needs of either parent, if the costs are incurred for the purpose of increasing the
earning capacity of the parent.

(9) Extraordinary travel and other travel-related expenses incurred in exercising the right to parent-child contact.

(10) Any other factors the court finds relevant.

(b) If the parties agree, the court may include in the child support order an additional amount designated for the purpose of
providing for postsecondary education.

http://www.westlaw.com/Browse/Home/StatutesCourtRules/VermontStatutesCourtRules?transitionType=DocumentItem&contextData=(sc.Default)&rs=clbt1.0&vr=3.0
http://www.westlaw.com/Browse/Home/StatutesCourtRules/VermontStatutesCourtRules?guid=NB4E5D7E08FD911DD96FAFBA6F4D7972C&transitionType=DocumentItem&contextData=(sc.Default)&rs=clbt1.0&vr=3.0
http://www.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=l&cite=lk(VTSTTFIFTEENR)&originatingDoc=N55963400A6C811DDBA3BBA27398753C7&refType=CM&sourceCite=15+V.S.A.+%c2%a7+659&originationContext=document&vr=3.0&rs=cblt1.0&transitionType=DocumentItem&pubNum=1000883&contextData=(sc.Default)
http://www.westlaw.com/Browse/Home/StatutesCourtRules/VermontStatutesCourtRules?guid=NBB225ED08FD911DD96FAFBA6F4D7972C&transitionType=DocumentItem&contextData=(sc.Default)&rs=clbt1.0&vr=3.0
http://www.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=l&cite=lk(VTSTTFIFTEENC11R)&originatingDoc=N55963400A6C811DDBA3BBA27398753C7&refType=CM&sourceCite=15+V.S.A.+%c2%a7+659&originationContext=document&vr=3.0&rs=cblt1.0&transitionType=DocumentItem&pubNum=1000883&contextData=(sc.Default)
http://www.westlaw.com/Browse/Home/StatutesCourtRules/VermontStatutesCourtRules?guid=NBD322C008FD911DD96FAFBA6F4D7972C&transitionType=DocumentItem&contextData=(sc.Default)&rs=clbt1.0&vr=3.0


§ 659. Child support order, VT ST T. 15 § 659

 © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works. 2

Credits
1985, Adj. Sess., No. 180, § 7; 1989, Adj. Sess., No. 220, § 22; 1995, No. 59, § 6.

Notes of Decisions (30)

15 V.S.A. § 659, VT ST T. 15 § 659
The statutes are current through law No. 53 of the First Session of the 2013-2014 Vermont General Assembly (2013), except
for law Nos. 29, 50 and 51, and laws and sections of laws effective July 1, 2013, and later.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Vermont Statutes Annotated
Title Fifteen. Domestic Relations (Refs & Annos)

Chapter 11. Annulment and Divorce (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 3A. Child Custody and Support

15 V.S.A. § 660

§ 660. Modification

Currentness

(a)(1) On motion of either parent, the office of child support, any other person to whom support has previously been granted,
or any person previously charged with support, and upon a showing of a real, substantial and unanticipated change of
circumstances, the court may annul, vary, or modify a child support order, whether or not the order is based upon a stipulation
or agreement. If the child support order has not been modified by the court for at least three years, the court may waive the
requirement of a showing of a real, substantial, and unanticipated change of circumstances.

(2) The office of child support may independently file a motion to modify child support or change payee if providing services
under Title IV-D of the Social Security Act, if a party is or will be incarcerated for more than 90 days, if the family has
reunited or is living together, if the child is no longer living with the payee, or if a party receives means-tested benefits.

(b) A child support order, including an order in effect prior to adoption of the support guideline, which varies more than
ten percent from the amounts required to be paid under the support guideline, shall be considered a real, substantial, and
unanticipated change of circumstances.

(c) The following shall be considered a real, substantial, and unanticipated change of circumstances:

(1) Receipt of workers' compensation, disability benefits, or means-tested public assistance benefits.

(2) Unemployment compensation, unless the period of unemployment was considered when the child support order was
established.

(3) Incarceration for more than 90 days, unless incarceration is for failure to pay child support.

(d) A motion to modify a support order under subsection (b) or (c) of this section shall be accompanied by an affidavit setting
forth calculations demonstrating entitlement to modification and shall be served on other parties and filed with the court. Upon
proof of service, and if the calculations demonstrate cause for modification, the magistrate shall enter an order modifying the
support award in accordance with the calculations provided, unless within 15 days of service of, or receipt of, the request for
modification, either party requests a hearing. The court shall conduct a hearing within 20 days of the request. No order shall
be modified without a hearing if one is requested.
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(e) An order may be modified only as to future support installments and installments which accrued subsequent to the date of
notice of the motion to the other party or parties. The date the motion for modification is filed shall be deemed to be the date
of notice to the opposing party or parties.

(f) Upon motion of the court or upon motion of the office of child support, the court may deem arrears judicially unenforceable
in cases where there is no longer a duty of support, provided the court finds all of the following:

(1) The obligor is presently unable to pay through no fault of his or her own.

(2) The obligor currently has no known income or has only nominal assets.

(3) There is no reasonable prospect that the obligor will be able to pay in the foreseeable future.

(g) Upon motion of an obligee or the office of child support, the court may set aside a judgment that arrears are judicially
unenforceable based on newly discovered evidence or a showing of a real, substantial, and unanticipated change in
circumstances, provided the court finds any of the following:

(1) The obligor is presently able to pay.

(2) The obligor has income or has only nominal assets.

(3) There is a reasonable prospect that the obligor will be able to pay in the foreseeable future.

Credits
1985, Adj. Sess., No. 180, § 8; 1989, Adj. Sess., No. 220, § 23; 1995, No. 59, § 8; 1997, No. 63, §§ 6a, 8; 2003, Adj. Sess.,
No. 159, § 7; 2011, Adj. Sess., No. 119, § 5, eff. July 1, 2012.

Notes of Decisions (98)

15 V.S.A. § 660, VT ST T. 15 § 660
The statutes are current through law No. 53 of the First Session of the 2013-2014 Vermont General Assembly (2013), except
for law Nos. 29, 50 and 51, and laws and sections of laws effective July 1, 2013, and later.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Vermont Statutes Annotated
Title Fifteen. Domestic Relations (Refs & Annos)

Chapter 11. Annulment and Divorce (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 3A. Child Custody and Support

15 V.S.A. § 661

§ 661. Child support maintenance supplement

Currentness

(a) A party may request a child support maintenance supplement to be paid while a child support obligation arising out of an
action for support exists. After considering the respective financial circumstances of the parties, including gross income, assets,
liabilities, including tax liabilities, and the obligation to pay child support, the court shall order payment of a child support
maintenance supplement to the obligee to correct any disparity in the financial circumstances of the parties if the court finds
that the disparity has resulted or will result in a lower standard of living for the child than the child would have if living with
the noncustodial parent.

(b) Any sum awarded under this section shall be taken into consideration in making an order under section 752 of this title.

(c) On motion of either parent, a person to whom a child support maintenance supplement has previously been granted, a
person previously charged with paying a child support maintenance supplement, and upon a showing of a real, substantial, and
unanticipated change of circumstances, the court may annul, vary, or modify a supplement order, whether or not the order is
based on a stipulation or agreement. A real, substantial, unanticipated change of circumstances shall be deemed to exist if the
proportion of income of the parties varies more than 15 percent from the time the order was issued, or if either parent's gross
income changes by more than 15 percent.

(d) This section shall not apply to orders or modifications made prior to April 1, 1987.

Credits
1985, Adj. Sess., No. 180, § 9; 2003, Adj. Sess., No. 159, § 8.

Notes of Decisions (10)

15 V.S.A. § 661, VT ST T. 15 § 661
The statutes are current through law No. 53 of the First Session of the 2013-2014 Vermont General Assembly (2013), except
for law Nos. 29, 50 and 51, and laws and sections of laws effective July 1, 2013, and later.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Vermont Statutes Annotated
Title Fifteen. Domestic Relations (Refs & Annos)

Chapter 11. Annulment and Divorce (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 3A. Child Custody and Support

15 V.S.A. § 662

§ 662. Income statements

Currentness

(a) A party to a proceeding under this subchapter shall file an affidavit of income and assets which shall be in a form prescribed
by the court administrator. A party shall provide the affidavit of income and assets to the court and the opposing party on or
before the date of the case management conference scheduled or, if no conference is scheduled, at least five business days
before the date of the first scheduled hearing before the magistrate. Upon request of either party, or the court, the other party
shall furnish information documenting the affidavit. The court may require a party who fails to comply with this section to pay
an economic penalty to the other party.

(b) If a party fails to provide information as required under subsection (a) of this section, the court shall use the available
evidence to estimate the noncomplying parent's income. Failure to provide the information required under subsection (a) of this
section may create a presumption that the noncomplying parent's gross income is 150 percent of the most recently available
annual average covered wage for all employment as calculated by the department of labor.

(c)(1) Upon a motion filed by either party or the office of child support, the court may relieve a party from a final judgment or
child support order upon a showing that the income used in a default child support order was inaccurate by at least 10 percent.
A showing that the court used incorrect financial information shall be considered a mistake for the purposes of Rule 60 of the
Vermont Rules of Civil Procedure.

(2) The motion in subdivision (1) of this subsection shall be filed within one year of the date the contested order was issued.

Credits
1985, Adj. Sess., No. 180, § 10; 1989, Adj. Sess., No. 220, § 24; 2005, Adj. Sess., No. 103, § 3; 2011, Adj. Sess., No. 119,
§ 6, eff. July 1, 2012.

Notes of Decisions (2)

15 V.S.A. § 662, VT ST T. 15 § 662
The statutes are current through law No. 53 of the First Session of the 2013-2014 Vermont General Assembly (2013), except
for law Nos. 29, 50 and 51, and laws and sections of laws effective July 1, 2013, and later.
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West's Vermont Statutes Annotated
Title Fifteen. Domestic Relations (Refs & Annos)

Chapter 11. Annulment and Divorce (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 3A. Child Custody and Support

15 V.S.A. § 663

§ 663. Support orders; required contents

Currentness

(a) Every order for child support made or modified under this chapter shall be issued in a standardized format and sent to the
registry in the office of child support. The order shall include:

(1) The name, address, Social Security number, and employer of both parents.

(2) The name and address of children who are the subject of the order.

(3) An annualized amount of child support.

(4) Frequency of the child support payment.

(5) Total arrearages, if any, and the periodic amount ordered for payment of arrearages.

(6) Any other information which may affect the obligation to pay child support.

(b) Child care costs shall be specifically stated in the order for the purpose of providing information on the amount of child
care costs used to compute the total support obligation.

(c) Every order for child support made or modified under this chapter on or after July 1, 1990, shall:

(1) include an order for immediate wage withholding or, if not subject to immediate wage withholding, include a statement
that wage withholding will take effect under the expedited procedure set forth in section 782 of this title;

(2) require payments to be made to the registry in the office of child support unless subject to an exception under 33 V.S.A.
§ 4103;

(3) require that every party to the order must notify the registry in writing of their current mailing address and current residence
address and of any change in either address within seven days of the change, until all obligations to pay support or support
arrearages or to provide for visitation are satisfied;
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(4) include in bold letters notification of remedies available under section 798 of this title;

(5) include in bold letters notification that the parent may seek a modification of his or her support obligation if there has
been a showing of a real, substantial and unanticipated change of circumstances.

(d) The parent under a medical support order shall notify his or her employer of such obligation in writing within 10 days of the
date of the order. If the parent is not employed or is self-employed, the parent shall notify his or her insurer of such obligation
in writing within 10 days of the date of the order. If a parent under a medical support order fails to give notice as provided in
this subsection, he or she shall be liable for all health care expenses of the child subsequent to the date of the order until the
order is modified by the court with respect to medical support.

(e) A child support order shall include the following language: “A PARENT OR ANY OTHER PERSON TO WHOM
SUPPORT HAS BEEN GRANTED, OR ANY PERSON CHARGED WITH SUPPORT, MAY FILE A MOTION FOR A
MODIFICATION OF A CHILD SUPPORT ORDER UNDER 15 V.S.A. § 660. A MODIFICATION MAY BE GRANTED
UPON A REAL, SUBSTANTIAL, AND UNANTICIPATED CHANGE OF CIRCUMSTANCES, INCLUDING LOSS OF
EMPLOYMENT OR A CONSIDERABLE REDUCTION OR INCREASE IN SALARY OR WAGES. AN OBLIGOR IS
RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY REQUIRED PAYMENTS SET FORTH IN AN ORDER UNLESS THE ORDER IS VACATED
OR MODIFIED BY A COURT. THUS, ANY SUBSEQUENT AGREEMENT BETWEEN THE PARTIES THAT DIFFERS
FROM THE ORDER IS NOT LEGALLY BINDING, AND THE OBLIGOR IS STILL LEGALLY REQUIRED TO PAY
THE AMOUNT ORDERED BY THE COURT.”

Credits
1985, Adj. Sess., No. 180, § 11; 1989, Adj. Sess., No. 220, § 25; 1993, Adj. Sess., No. 231, § 3; 1995, No. 59, § 9; 2003,
Adj. Sess., No. 159, § 2.

Notes of Decisions (4)

15 V.S.A. § 663, VT ST T. 15 § 663
The statutes are current through law No. 53 of the First Session of the 2013-2014 Vermont General Assembly (2013), except
for law Nos. 29, 50 and 51, and laws and sections of laws effective July 1, 2013, and later.
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West's Vermont Statutes Annotated
Title Fifteen. Domestic Relations (Refs & Annos)

Chapter 11. Annulment and Divorce (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 3A. Child Custody and Support

15 V.S.A. § 664

§ 664. Definitions

Currentness

As used in this subchapter:

(1) “Parental rights and responsibilities” means the rights and responsibilities related to a child's physical living arrangements,
parent child contact, education, medical and dental care, religion, travel and any other matter involving a child's welfare
and upbringing.

(A) “Legal responsibility” means the rights and responsibilities to determine and control various matters affecting a child's
welfare and upbringing, other than routine daily care and control of the child. These matters include but are not limited
to education, medical and dental care, religion and travel arrangements. Legal responsibility may be held solely or may
be divided or shared.

(B) “Physical responsibility” means the rights and responsibilities to provide routine daily care and control of the child
subject to the right of the other parent to have contact with the child. Physical responsibility may be held solely or may
be divided or shared.

(2) “Parent child contact” means the right of a parent who does not have physical responsibility to have visitation with the
child.

Credits
1985, Adj. Sess., No. 181, § 2.

Notes of Decisions (8)

15 V.S.A. § 664, VT ST T. 15 § 664
The statutes are current through law No. 53 of the First Session of the 2013-2014 Vermont General Assembly (2013), except
for law Nos. 29, 50 and 51, and laws and sections of laws effective July 1, 2013, and later.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Vermont Statutes Annotated
Title Fifteen. Domestic Relations (Refs & Annos)

Chapter 11. Annulment and Divorce (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 3A. Child Custody and Support

15 V.S.A. § 665

§ 665. Rights and responsibilities order; best interests of the child

Currentness

(a) In an action under this chapter the court shall make an order concerning parental rights and responsibilities of any minor
child of the parties. The court may order parental rights and responsibilities to be divided or shared between the parents on such
terms and conditions as serve the best interests of the child. When the parents cannot agree to divide or share parental rights
and responsibilities, the court shall award parental rights and responsibilities primarily or solely to one parent.

(b) In making an order under this section, the court shall be guided by the best interests of the child, and shall consider at least
the following factors:

(1) the relationship of the child with each parent and the ability and disposition of each parent to provide the child with love,
affection and guidance;

(2) the ability and disposition of each parent to assure that the child receives adequate food, clothing, medical care, other
material needs and a safe environment;

(3) the ability and disposition of each parent to meet the child's present and future developmental needs;

(4) the quality of the child's adjustment to the child's present housing, school and community and the potential effect of any
change;

(5) the ability and disposition of each parent to foster a positive relationship and frequent and continuing contact with the
other parent, including physical contact, except where contact will result in harm to the child or to a parent;

(6) the quality of the child's relationship with the primary care provider, if appropriate given the child's age and development;

(7) the relationship of the child with any other person who may significantly affect the child;

(8) the ability and disposition of the parents to communicate, cooperate with each other and make joint decisions concerning
the children where parental rights and responsibilities are to be shared or divided; and
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(9) evidence of abuse, as defined in section 1101 of this title, and the impact of the abuse on the child and on the relationship
between the child and the abusing parent.

(c) The court shall not apply a preference for one parent over the other because of the sex of the child, the sex of a parent or
the financial resources of a parent.

(d) The court may order a parent who is awarded responsibility for a certain matter involving a child's welfare to inform the
other parent when a major change in that matter occurs.

(e) The jurisdiction granted by this section shall be limited by the Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction and Enforcement Act,
if another state has jurisdiction as provided in that act. For the purposes of interpreting that act and any other provision of law
which refers to a custodial parent, including but not limited to 13 V.S.A. § 2451, the parent with physical responsibility shall
be considered the custodial parent.

Credits
1985, Adj. Sess., No. 181, § 3; 1993, Adj. Sess., No. 228, § 6; 2011, No. 29, § 3, eff. July 1, 2011.

Notes of Decisions (274)

15 V.S.A. § 665, VT ST T. 15 § 665
The statutes are current through law No. 53 of the First Session of the 2013-2014 Vermont General Assembly (2013), except
for law Nos. 29, 50 and 51, and laws and sections of laws effective July 1, 2013, and later.
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West's Vermont Statutes Annotated
Title Fifteen. Domestic Relations (Refs & Annos)

Chapter 11. Annulment and Divorce (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 3A. Child Custody and Support

15 V.S.A. § 665a

§ 665a. Conditions of parent-child contact in cases involving domestic violence

Currentness

(a) If within the prior ten years, one of the parents has been convicted of domestic assault or aggravated domestic assault against
the other parent, or has been found to have committed abuse against a family or household member, as defined in section 1101
of this title, the court may award parent-child contact to that parent if the court finds that adequate provision can be made for
the safety of the child and the parent who is a victim of domestic violence.

(b) In a parent-child contact order issued under subsection (a) of this section, a court may:

(1) order an exchange of a child to occur in a protected setting;

(2) order parent-child contact supervised by another person or agency;

(3) order the perpetrator of domestic violence to participate in, to the satisfaction of the court, a program of intervention for
perpetrators, where available, or other designated counseling as a condition of the visitation;

(4) if alcohol or drugs were involved in the domestic abuse, order the perpetrator of domestic violence to abstain from being
under the influence of alcohol or controlled substances without a prescription during the visitation and for 24 hours preceding
parent-child contact;

(5) order the perpetrator of domestic violence to pay a fee to defray the costs of supervised parent-child contact, provided
that the perpetrator can afford to pay the fee;

(6) prohibit overnight parent-child contact;

(7) impose any other condition that is deemed necessary or appropriate to provide for the safety of the child, the victim of
domestic violence, or another family or household member.

(c) Whether or not parent-child contact is allowed, the court may order the address of the child and the victim to be kept
confidential.
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(d) If a court allows a family or household member to supervise parent-child contact, the court shall establish conditions to be
followed during parent-child contact.

Credits
2007, Adj. Sess., No. 174, § 13, eff. July 1, 2008.

15 V.S.A. § 665a, VT ST T. 15 § 665a
The statutes are current through law No. 53 of the First Session of the 2013-2014 Vermont General Assembly (2013), except
for law Nos. 29, 50 and 51, and laws and sections of laws effective July 1, 2013, and later.
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West's Vermont Statutes Annotated
Title Fifteen. Domestic Relations (Refs & Annos)

Chapter 11. Annulment and Divorce (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 3A. Child Custody and Support

15 V.S.A. § 666

§ 666. Agreements between parents

Currentness

(a) Any agreement between the parents which divides or shares parental rights and responsibilities shall be presumed to be in
the best interests of the child.

(b) An agreement between the parties which is a complete agreement on parental rights and responsibilities shall include
provisions that address at least the following:

(1) physical living arrangements;

(2) parent child contact;

(3) education of the minor child;

(4) medical, dental and health care;

(5) travel arrangements;

(6) procedures for communicating about the child's welfare; and

(7) if parental rights and responsibilities are to be shared or divided, procedures for resolving disputes. Such procedures may
include but shall not be limited to mediation and binding arbitration.

(c) If the court finds that an agreement between the parents is not in the best interests of the child or if the court finds that an
agreement was not reached voluntarily the court shall refuse to approve the agreement.

Credits
1985, Adj. Sess., No. 181, § 4.

Notes of Decisions (8)
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15 V.S.A. § 666, VT ST T. 15 § 666
The statutes are current through law No. 53 of the First Session of the 2013-2014 Vermont General Assembly (2013), except
for law Nos. 29, 50 and 51, and laws and sections of laws effective July 1, 2013, and later.
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West's Vermont Statutes Annotated
Title Fifteen. Domestic Relations (Refs & Annos)

Chapter 11. Annulment and Divorce (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 3A. Child Custody and Support

15 V.S.A. § 667

§ 667. Evidence

Currentness

(a) Evidence of conduct of a parent not related to the factors in section 665 of this title shall only be admissible for the purposes
of determining parental rights and responsibilities if it is shown that the conduct affects the parent's relationship with the child.

(b) Reports prepared by a person qualified as an expert under the Vermont Rules of Evidence, evaluating the best interests
of the child shall be admissible for the purposes of determining parental rights and responsibilities provided that the expert is
available for cross-examination.

Credits
1985, Adj. Sess., No. 181, § 5.

Notes of Decisions (4)

15 V.S.A. § 667, VT ST T. 15 § 667
The statutes are current through law No. 53 of the First Session of the 2013-2014 Vermont General Assembly (2013), except
for law Nos. 29, 50 and 51, and laws and sections of laws effective July 1, 2013, and later.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Vermont Statutes Annotated
Title Fifteen. Domestic Relations (Refs & Annos)

Chapter 11. Annulment and Divorce (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 3A. Child Custody and Support

15 V.S.A. § 668

§ 668. Modification of order

Currentness

(a) On motion of either parent or any other person to whom custody or parental rights and responsibilities have previously
been granted, and upon a showing of real, substantial and unanticipated change of circumstances, the court may annul, vary
or modify an order made under this subchapter if it is in the best interests of the child, whether or not the order is based upon
a stipulation or agreement.

(b) Whenever a judgment for physical responsibility is modified, the court shall order a child support modification hearing to
be set and notice to be given to the parties. Unless good cause is shown to the contrary, the court shall simultaneously issue a
temporary order pending the modification hearing, if adjustments to those portions of any existing child support order or wage
withholding order that pertain to any child affected by the modification are necessary to assure that support and wages are paid
in amounts proportional to the modified allocation of responsibility between the parties.

Credits
1985, Adj. Sess., No. 181, § 6; 2011, Adj. Sess., No. 119, § 7, eff. July 1, 2012.

Notes of Decisions (152)

15 V.S.A. § 668, VT ST T. 15 § 668
The statutes are current through law No. 53 of the First Session of the 2013-2014 Vermont General Assembly (2013), except
for law Nos. 29, 50 and 51, and laws and sections of laws effective July 1, 2013, and later.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Vermont Statutes Annotated
Title Fifteen. Domestic Relations (Refs & Annos)

Chapter 11. Annulment and Divorce (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 3A. Child Custody and Support

15 V.S.A. § 668a

§ 668a. Enforcement of visitation

Currentness

(a) When a noncustodial parent who is ordered to pay child support or alimony and who is awarded visitation rights fails to pay
child support or alimony, the custodial parent shall not refuse to honor the noncustodial parent's visitation rights.

(b) When a custodial parent refuses to honor a noncustodial parent's visitation rights, the noncustodial parent shall not fail to
pay any ordered child support or alimony.

(c) If a custodial parent refuses to honor a noncustodial parent's visitation rights, the court shall enforce such rights unless it
finds good cause for the failure or that a modification of the visitation rights is in the best interests of the child. Unless restoration
of the visitation is not in the best interests of the child, enforcement of the visitation rights shall include the restoration of
the amount of visitation improperly denied. When a party files a motion for enforcement of parent-child contact under this
subsection, the court shall conduct a hearing within 30 days of service of the motion.

(d) A person who violates this section may be punished by contempt of court or other remedies as the court deems appropriate,
including awarding attorney's fees and costs to the prevailing party.

(e)(1) If a custodial parent refuses to honor a noncustodial parent's visitation rights without good cause, the court may modify
the parent-child contact order if found to be in the best interests of the child. Good cause shall include:

(A) a pattern or incidence of domestic or sexual violence;

(B) a reasonable fear for the child's or the custodial parent's safety; or

(C) a history of failure to honor the visitation schedule agreed to in the parent-child contact order.

(2) A custodial parent, upon a showing of good cause as defined in subdivision (1)(A) or (B) of this subsection, may receive
an ex parte order suspending a noncustodial parent's visitation rights until a court hearing is held. A hearing shall be held
within 10 days from the issuance of the order.

(f) All parent-child contact orders issued by the family division of the superior court in connection with a divorce or parentage
proceeding shall bear the following statement:
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“A PERSON WHO FAILS TO COMPLY WITH ALL TERMS OF THE CURRENT ORDER GOVERNING PARENT-CHILD
CONTACT MAY BE SUBJECT TO CONTEMPT OF COURT CHARGES. THE COURT MAY IMPOSE ADDITIONAL
REMEDIES, INCLUDING A MODIFICATION OF THE CURRENT PARENT-CHILD CONTACT ORDER IF FOUND TO
BE IN THE BEST INTERESTS OF THE CHILD.”

Credits
1989, Adj. Sess., No. 220, § 27a; 1995, No. 59, § 10; 2003, Adj. Sess., No. 159, § 3; 2007, Adj. Sess., No. 174, § 10, eff. July
1, 2008; 2009, Adj. Sess., No. 154, § 238(c)(4), eff. July 1, 2010.

Notes of Decisions (1)

15 V.S.A. § 668a, VT ST T. 15 § 668a
The statutes are current through law No. 53 of the First Session of the 2013-2014 Vermont General Assembly (2013), except
for law Nos. 29, 50 and 51, and laws and sections of laws effective July 1, 2013, and later.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Vermont Statutes Annotated
Title Fifteen. Domestic Relations (Refs & Annos)

Chapter 11. Annulment and Divorce (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 3A. Child Custody and Support

15 V.S.A. § 669

§ 669. Guardian ad litem

Currentness

In all cases involving parental rights and responsibilities the court may appoint a guardian ad litem to represent the best interests
of the child.

Credits
1985, Adj. Sess., No. 181, § 7.

Notes of Decisions (2)

15 V.S.A. § 669, VT ST T. 15 § 669
The statutes are current through law No. 53 of the First Session of the 2013-2014 Vermont General Assembly (2013), except
for law Nos. 29, 50 and 51, and laws and sections of laws effective July 1, 2013, and later.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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West's Vermont Statutes Annotated
Title Fifteen. Domestic Relations (Refs & Annos)

Chapter 11. Annulment and Divorce (Refs & Annos)
Subchapter 3A. Child Custody and Support

15 V.S.A. § 670

§ 670. Access to records

Currentness

Access to records and information pertaining to a minor child, including but not limited to medical, dental, law enforcement and
school records shall not be denied to a parent solely because that parent has not been awarded parental rights and responsibilities.
The court may order that access to all or a portion of the records or information shall be denied if access is not in the best interest
of the child or if access may cause detriment to the other parent including but not limited to abuse.

Credits
1985, Adj. Sess., No. 181, § 8.

Notes of Decisions (1)

15 V.S.A. § 670, VT ST T. 15 § 670
The statutes are current through law No. 53 of the First Session of the 2013-2014 Vermont General Assembly (2013), except
for law Nos. 29, 50 and 51, and laws and sections of laws effective July 1, 2013, and later.

End of Document © 2013 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.
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