THE JUDICIAL COUNCIL'S RETIRED AND RECALLED JUDGES COMMITTEE

PURPOSE

The Retired and Recalled Judges Committee will advise the Chief Judge of the Court of Appeals and other members of the Court on matters relevant to retired/recalled judges.

SCOPE OF ACTIVITY

The Committee will monitor changes to laws, rules, and policies that impact retired/recalled judges. It will ensure retired/recalled judges are apprised of those changes and that they receive the requisite training to effectively address the same. The Committee also will ensure retired/recalled judges receive the tools necessary to perform their duties. The Committee will report on its initiatives and other activities, at least annually, to the Judicial Council.

COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP

Hon. James A. Kenney, III, Chair

NAME TERM

Hon. Deborah Eyler (Vice Chair)	January 1, 2015 – December 31, 2016
Hon. Diane O. Leasure, (Ret., Circuit Court, Howard County)	January 1, 2015 – December 31, 2016
Hon. Nancy B. Shuger (Ret., District Court, Baltimore City)	January 1, 2016 – December 31, 2017
Hon. Gale E. Rasin (Ret., District Court, Baltimore City)	January 1, 2016 – December 31, 2017
Hon. Steve P. Johnson (Ret., District Court, Montgomery County)	January 1, 2015 – December 31, 2016
Hon. Thurman H. Rhodes (District Court, Prince George's County)January 1, 2016 – December 31, 2017
Hon. Daniel M. Long (Circuit Court, Somerset County)	January 1, 2015 – December 31, 2016
Hon. Lynne A. Battaglia (Court of Appeals)	January 1, 2015 – December 31, 2016
Hon. Barbara Kerr Howe (Ret., Circuit Court, Baltimore County)	January 1, 2016 – December 31, 2017
Hon. Glenn T. Harrell (Court of Appeals)	January 1, 2016 – December 31, 2017
Hon. Leonard Eiswert (Ret., District Court, Garrett County)	January 1, 2015 – December 31, 2016
Hon. Irma S. Raker, (Ret., Court of Appeals)	January 1, 2016 – December 31, 2017
Hon. Jean Baron, (Ret., District Court, Prince George's County)	January 1, 2016 – December 31, 2017
Hon. Philip Caroom, (Ret., Circuit Court, Anne Arundel County)	January 1, 2016 – December 31, 2017
Sondra Battle, Court Administrator, Prince George's County	May 2, 2016 – May 1, 2018
Roberta Warnken, Chief Clerk, District Court Headquarters	January 1, 2015 – December 31, 2016

Jenny Henderson, *Staff* Sharon Wright, Staff

SUBCOMMITTEE

NAME: <u>LEGISLATIVE SUBCOMMITTEE</u>

NATURE AND PURPOSE

Review and monitor legislation that affects retired judges generally and recalled judges in particular.

Rev. 6/2/2016

MEMBERSHIP

Hon. Daniel M. Long

WORK PRODUCT

Advice to the Judicial Legislative Committee.

EXPECTED DURATION

Operates during the legislative session.

WORKGROUPS

NAME: <u>NEWSLETTER WORKGROUP</u>

NATURE AND PURPOSE

The Newsletter Workgroup will create a quarterly newsletter that could be used on an ongoing basis to provide timely and relevant information to the retired judges as a whole.

MEMBERSHIP

Hon. Thurman Rhodes, Chair

Hon. Deborah Eyler Hon. James Kenney

Sharon Wright, Staff

WORK PRODUCT

Quarterly newsletter to be distributed to retired judges.

DURATION

Indefinite