(as of February 2, 2010)

Howard County District Judge Neil Edward Axel received an Award of Excellence from the Bar Foundation of Howard County. Judge Axel was presented with the award at the Foundation’s annual Meeting of Fellows on in recognition for “his service and leadership in the legal community and his long-term commitment to community involvement both personally and from the Bench which has improved not only the administration of justice but also the quality of life for Howard County residents.”

Chief Judge Robert M. Bell of the Maryland Court of Appeals received the Distinguished Service Award from the Asian Pacific American Bar Association of Maryland at its annual scholarship dinner. Judge Bell received the award, which is the APABA-MD’s highest honor, for his service to the Asian Pacific American community.

Washington County Circuit Judge W. Kennedy Boone, III, received the “Commitment to Community” award from the county’s Department of Social Services. The award is the agency’s highest honor for a community leader who has provided services that benefit vulnerable children, adults and families in Washington County.

Ramona B. Buck, MACRO public policy director, received the Robert M. Bell Award from the ADR Section of the Maryland State Bar Association for her outstanding contributions to alternative dispute resolution in Maryland. The award is named in honor of Maryland’s Chief Judge Robert M. Bell for his work in promoting the use of alternative dispute resolution programs and activities in the Maryland Judiciary, schools, government and communities.

Chief Judge Ben C. Clyburn of the District Court of Maryland was the keynote speaker for MADD Maryland’s annual event to honor law enforcement officers on the Eastern Shore who have worked toward a “common mission to stop drunk driving, support the victims of this violent crime and prevent underage drinking.”

The District Court of Maryland received the Commitment to Conflict Resolution award from Community Mediation Maryland during CMM’s fourth annual gala. The District Court received the award for its work “with CMM and community mediation centers throughout Maryland to ensure that people have access to mediation before they file court charges, once they file and before they go to court and even on the day of the trial.”

Baltimore City Orphans’ Court Judge Karen C. Friedman was named to the Board of Trustees of the University of Maryland College Park.

MACRO Deputy Executive Director Lou Gieszl was elected president of the national Association for Conflict Resolution (ACR). Gieszl will serve a one-term term for 2010-2011.

Retired Baltimore County Circuit Judge John O. Hennegan received the National Child Support Enforcement Association’s 2009 Judicial Excellence Award. Judge Hennegan was praised for his development and management of the Baltimore County Circuit Court’s Family Employment and Support program, which the association said, “is the type of program that sets an excellent example for courts and agencies across the United States.”

Baltimore City District Judge C. Yvonne Holt-Stone was named a 2009 “Leadership in Law” honoree by the Maryland Daily Record.

Cheryl L. Jamison, Quality Assurance Director for MACRO (Mediation and Conflict Resolution Office), has been appointed to a three-year term on the board of directors of the national Association for Conflict Resolution (ACR).

Prince George’s County District Judge Patrice Lewis was named a 2009 “Leadership in Law” honoree by the Maryland Daily Record.

Retired Court of Appeals Judge Irma S. Raker received the Maryland State Bar Foundation 2009 Annual H. Vernon Eney Award, the highest award given by the Foundation, for outstanding leadership in working to improve government and the administration of justice. The award was created in 1984 as a tribute to H. Vernon Eney, who recommended and led the effort for significant changes in government at the state and local levels.

Retired Court of Special Appeals Judge Andrew L. Sonner was named the recipient of the Maryland State Bar Association J. Joseph Curran Award. The award is given to the government or public interest lawyer who selflessly serves the public good and furthers the goals of better government and societal standards.

Baltimore County District Judge Robert Steinberg received the MSBA Anselm Sodaro Judicial Civility Award. The Sodaro Award is presented to a judge who has demonstrated exceptional judicial temperament, patience, civility and courtesy. The MSBA established this award in 1998 in honor of Judge Anselm Sodaro.

Retired Howard County Circuit Judge Dennis M. Sweeney was named as one of 60 Influential Marylanders of 2010 by the Maryland Daily Record.

Baltimore City Circuit Judge David Young was named a 2009 “Leadership in Law” honoree by the Maryland
Daily Record.