Judiciary Creates Task Force to Study Pretrial
Confinement and Release

Howard County District Court Commissioner sign

In light of the Court of Appeals’ recent decision in DeWolfe vs. Richmond, the Judiciary has created a task force to study pretrial detention processes. Judge John R. Hargrove Jr. will head the new Judiciary Task Force on Pretrial Confinement.

Judge Hargrove was appointed to chair the task force Sept. 27 by District Court of Maryland Chief Judge Ben C. Clyburn. The new task force will study the pretrial detention processes, including the recommendations and rules changes for the implementation of the DeWolfe vs. Richmond decision. Judge Hargrove, who stepped down as administrative judge for the District Court of Maryland, Baltimore City, to launch the task force, will continue to preside over cases as he assumes this new leadership role.

“Judge Hargrove’s experience as an administrative judge, trial judge and commissioner makes him uniquely qualified to head the new Pretrial Task Force,” said Chief Judge Clyburn. “He has presided over the successful implementation of the Early Resolution Court, which is designed for the early disposal of cases involving minor offenses.”

“I am delighted about the opportunity to serve in this capacity,” Judge Hargrove said. “This is a timely issue that all respective branches of government are examining, and to assume a leadership role at this time is exciting.”