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	DEFENDING AGAINST A SMALL CLAIM
	CÓMO DEFENDERSE DE UNA DEMANDA DE MENOR CUANTÍA

	In this video, we will discuss the options available to you when someone files a small claim against you in District Court. This is a brief list of the ways you can respond to defend against a small claim.
	En este video, hablaremos de sus opciones cuando le entablan contra usted una demanda de menor cuantía en un Tribunal de Distrito. Esta es una lista breve de cómo defenderse contra una demanda de menor cuantía.

	First, you will be officially notified of the claim against you when you receive the summons and a copy of the complaint. The summons is the document that notifies you that the other side has filed a complaint against you. The complaint is a document that the other side files with the court to start the suit. The summons will give you the time and place of the trial. The party suing you is called the plaintiff. You, the person being sued, are the defendant.
	Primero, la notificación oficial de la demanda contra usted es cuando recibe la citación judicial y una copia de la demanda. La citación judicial es el documento que le avisa que la otra parte le entabló una demanda. La demanda es el documento que presenta la otra parte ante el tribunal para iniciar el juicio. La citación le dice la fecha y lugar del juicio. La parte que lo lleva a juicio es el demandante. Usted, la persona demandada, es el demandado.

	Small claims court is part of the District Court of Maryland. It handles claims for $5,000 or less and is not as formal as other Maryland courts. The rules of evidence and procedure are simplified so that it’s easier to go to court without a lawyer. However, you may have a lawyer if you choose. A judge will decide your case, not a jury.
	El tribunal de menor cuantía es parte del Tribunal de Distrito de Maryland. Atiende reclamos de $5,000 o menos y no es tan formal como otros tribunales de Maryland. Las normas de prueba y el procedimiento son simples para que sea más fácil ir a juicio sin abogado. Pero usted puede tener un abogado si lo desea. El juez, y no un jurado, decide su caso.

	Although small claims court is less formal, you may want to talk with a lawyer if the other person’s claim involves personal injury and medical expenses, a traffic accident, or if you are unable to fill out the necessary forms. You may qualify for free or reduced-cost legal help from one or many organizations. For more information, visit the Maryland People’s Law Library at peoples-law.org. Click “Get Help Now” in the upper left corner.
	Aunque el tribunal de menor cuantía es menos formal, le convendrá hablar con un abogado si le demandan por lesiones personales y gastos médicos, un accidente de tránsito o si no puede llenar los documentos necesarios. Tal vez pueda conseguir ayuda gratuita o de costo reducido de una o más organizaciones. Para más información, visite la Biblioteca Jurídica del Pueblo de Maryland en peoples-law.org. Haga clic en “Búsqueda de ayuda” (“Get Help Now”) en la esquina superior izquierda.

	You have several options when you receive notice that a small claim has been filed against you. You can try to work out the problem without going to trial. Speak directly with the other person or ask if they’re willing to go to mediation. You can argue that the plaintiff did not serve you properly. You can file a notice of intention to defend if you do not believe that you owe the amount of money that the other person claims you owe. You can file a counterclaim if you believe that the other person owes you money. Finally, you can ignore the summons by not doing anything. Keep in mind that if you ignore the summons and do nothing, the court is likely to enter a default judgment against you in favor of the other side. The other side may then take further action to collect the money you owe.
	Tiene varias opciones después de recibir la demanda de menor cuantía contra usted. Puede tratar de resolver el problema sin ir a juicio. Hable directamente con la otra persona o pregunte si está dispuesta a ir a mediación. Usted puede argumentar que el demandante no le notificó correctamente. Puede presentar una notificación de la intención de defenderse si no cree que debe el dinero que le reclama la otra persona. Puede presentar una contrademanda si cree que la otra persona le debe dinero. Por último, puede ignorar la citación judicial y no hacer nada. Tenga presente que si ignora la citación y no hace nada, el juez puede dictar fallo  contra usted y a favor de la otra parte. La otra parte puede entonces tomar medidas adicionales para cobrar el dinero que usted debe.

	Option 1: You can try to settle the dispute before your court date by talking with the other person, if it is appropriate in your case. You can also try to settle the claim by going to mediation.
	Opción 1: Puede tratar de conciliar la disputa antes del juicio hablando con la otra persona, si es apropiado. Puede tratar de conciliar el reclamo yendo a mediación.

	In mediation, a trained, neutral person called a “mediator” can help you and the other side find a solution to which you can all agree. The District Court’s Alternative Dispute Resolution program provides help with mediation. For more information about mediation, ask for the brochure “Mediation – Is Going to Trial Your Best Option?” You can also call the Alternative Dispute Resolution office at (410) 260-1676.
	En la mediación, una persona neutral capacitada, llamada "mediador", les ayuda a usted y a la otra parte a hallar una solución de común acuerdo. El Programa de Resolución Alternativa de Disputas del Tribunal de Distrito ayuda con la mediación. Para más sobre la mediación, pida el folleto "Mediación: ¿Cuál es la mejor manera de resolver una disputa?" También puede llamar a la oficina de Resolución Alternativa de Disputas al (410) 260-1676.

	Option 2: If, under the Maryland rules, you were not served correctly, you can raise this issue with the court in one of two ways. You can file a pre-trial request that the court dismiss the case because you were not served properly under the rules. Or you can make this argument at trial. In either case, the court will postpone the trial, and the other side may have to re-serve you with a new summons.
	Opción 2: Si, bajo las normas de Maryland, no le notificaron correctamente, puede avisarle al tribunal de una de dos formas. Puede presentar una solicitud antes del juicio para que el juez desestime el caso porque no le notificaron correctamente. O puede presentar ese argumento durante el juicio. En ambos casos, el juez aplazará el juicio y la otra parte quizás deba notificarle otra vez con una nueva citación.

	Option 3: You can file a motion to dismiss if the other side’s complaint does not meet certain legal requirements. For example, under Maryland Rule 3-601, the judge can enter a “judgment on affidavit” instead of going through a trial if the other side gives the court certain documents. If the other side did not do so, or if the documents are about “Joe Smith” and your name is “Bob Smith,” you can file a motion to dismiss.
	Opción 3: Usted puede presentar una petición de desestimación si la demanda no reúne ciertos requisitos legales. Por ejemplo, la Regla 3-601 de Maryland dice que el juez puede dictar un "fallo según la declaración jurada" en vez de ir a juicio si la otra parte entrega ciertos documentos. Si la otra parte no lo hizo o si los documentos dicen "José Pérez" y usted se llama "Juan Pérez", puede presentar una petición de desestimación.

	If you believe that you do not owe the money that the other side claims you owe, you must file the notice of intention to defend with the court within 15 days of receiving the complaint. If you live outside of Maryland, then you have 60 days to return the notice. The notice of intention to defend is located on the bottom half of the summons. By filing it, you are stating that you plan to argue that you are not required to pay the money the other person claims you owe him or her.
	Si cree que no debe el dinero que le reclaman, debe presentar al tribunal una notificación de la intención de defenderse dentro de los 15 días de recibir la demanda. Si vive fuera de Maryland, tiene 60 días para enviar la notificación. La notificación de la intención de defenderse está en la parte de abajo de la citación judicial. Al presentarla, usted dice que planea argumentar que no está obligado a pagar el dinero que le reclama la otra parte.

	To return the notice of intention to defend, cut the notice at the perforated line and return it to the court address listed at the top of the summons. You may write on the notice the reasons why you should not have to pay the amount that the other side claims you owe. When you go to court, you will have to prove these reasons to the judge.
	Para enviar la notificación, corte por la línea perforada y devuélvala a la dirección del tribunal indicada en la parte de arriba de la citación judicial. Puede escribir los motivos por los que no tiene que pagar el dinero que le reclama la otra parte. Cuando vaya al tribunal, tendrá que probar esos motivos ante el juez.

	If you believe the other person owes you money, you may file a lawsuit of your own (called a counterclaim). You must be able to prove to the judge that the other person owes you money. File a counterclaim by filing a complaint form in the District Court in your county. See the video Bringing a Small Claim for more information on how to bring a lawsuit of your own.
	Si cree que la otra persona le debe dinero, puede entablar su propio juicio (contrademanda). Usted debe poder demostrarle al juez que la otra persona le debe dinero. Presente la contrademanda con un formulario de demanda en el Tribunal de Distrito de su condado. Para más información, vea el video Cómo entablar una demanda de menor cuantía.

	If you ignore the summons, the judge may enter judgment against you without holding a trial. If this happens, you will receive a notice with the date the judgment was entered, the amount of the judgment, and any additional amounts that you owe. The judgment will be the entire amount that the other person claims you owe in the complaint. However, the judge may decide that the other person did not present enough evidence and decide to schedule a new trial. If this happens, you will receive a notice in the mail with the new date.
	Si ignora la citación judicial, el juez puede dictar un fallo contra usted sin ir a juicio. En ese caso, le enviarán un aviso de la fecha en que se dictó el fallo, la cantidad del fallo y otras cantidades que usted deba. El fallo le hará pagar toda la cantidad que la otra persona le reclama en la demanda. Pero el juez puede decidir que la otra persona no presentó suficiente prueba y decidir la fecha de un nuevo juicio. En ese caso, le avisarán por correo de la nueva fecha.

	If your case goes to trial, prepare for your day in court. You can find court locations and directions on the Maryland Judiciary’s website at mdcourts.gov. Look up the law, and prepare what you are going to say. Organize and present your exhibits, which are documents or other objects that you will present as evidence to the court. Also, choose and prepare any witnesses.
	Si su caso va a juicio, prepárese para su día en el tribunal. Busque la dirección del tribunal y cómo llegar en el sitio web del Poder Judicial de Maryland en mdcourts.gov. Investigue la ley y prepare lo que va a decir. Organice y presente los elementos de prueba, que son documentos u otros objetos que presentará como evidencia al juez. Escoja y prepare a sus testigos.

	For more information, contact the clerk’s office, the District Court Self-Help Center, or visit mdcourts.gov.
	Para más información, contacte la oficina del secretario, el Centro de Autoayuda del Tribunal de Distrito o visite mdcourts.gov.

	For more information, visit mdcourts.gov/mdatjc.
	Para más información, vaya a mdcourts.gov/mdatjc.
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