## Caroline County Marriage License Procedure during the COVID-19 Emergency

A Maryland license can be used-- and a marriage ceremony can take place only in the county where the marriage license is issued. The license must be obtained and presented to the official who will be performing the marriage ceremony before the ceremony may take place. It is the responsibility of the parties to know the Maryland county in which the ceremony site is located, and to obtain the marriage license from the Clerk of the Circuit Court for that county or, if in Baltimore City, the Clerk of Circuit Court for Baltimore City.

## Instructions:

- 1. Determine which Maryland county the marriage ceremony will take place. The license must be obtained from the Clerk of the Circuit Court for that county.
- 2. Complete the application.
  - a. Current marital status This section must include information about every previous marriage, including the date and the state or foreign country in which the marriage ended in death or divorce. Attach an additional sheet if there is not enough room on the form for this information.
  - b. You must provide a form of verification of age, either a copy of a driver's license or birth certificate, for both parties.
  - c. If a party to be married is under the age of 18, additional information is required. Please contact the Clerk of Circuit Court in advance to find out what additional documentation will be required. (410-479-1811 ext. 10)
  - d. Sign and date the application. Provide a daytime phone number and email address for at least one of the parties, so you may be contacted if there are any problems with the application, or if additional information is required.
- Please note that the application is a legal document. You are signing under penalty of perjury and affirming that the information you have provided is true and accurate to the best of your knowledge and belief.
- 4. You must include a check or money order in the amount of \$35.00 made payable to the Clerk of the Circuit Court for the license fee.
- 5. You may submit your completed and signed application, along with any additional documentation, to the Clerk by first class mail OR for your convenience, you may use the drop box located at the Courthouse. A failure to fully complete the application and submit payment

- will result in delays. Our mailing address is Circuit Court for Caroline County, P O Box 458, Denton, MD 21629.
- 6. It is recommended that the applicant(s) complete and mail the application at least three weeks before the wedding date to allow time for delivery by the US Post Office, and for resolution of any problems the Clerk may have with the application.
- 7. Once the application is processed, the Clerk will mail the marriage license to the person listed as "Party 1" on the application.
- 8. In Maryland, marriage licenses do not take effect until 6:00 a.m. on the second day after the license is issued, and licenses ordinarily remain valid for 6 months. During the emergency associated with COVID 19, the 6-month time period is tolled. For any marriage license issued during the emergency, the license is valid during the period of emergency and for up to 6 months after the declaration of emergency has been rescinded.
- 9. For obtaining a civil ceremony, please contact the Clerk's office directly at 410-479-1811 for the most current information.