THE CLIENT PROTECTION FUND OF THE BAR OF MARYLAND
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

What is the purpose of the assessments?

The Attorney Grievance Commission (AGC) handles complaints of neglect against
Maryland lawyers and all resulting disciplinary cases. Its assessment for the current
fiscal year is $105. Its budget is set by the Court of Appeals of Maryland.

The Client Protection Fund of the Bar of Maryland ("CPF" or Fund) handles and decides
claims against Maryland lawyers alleging theft of client or fiduciary funds. Its
assessment for the current fiscal year is $20 per lawyer as fixed by the Court of Appeals
of Maryland and by statute. The Maryland Professionalism Center (MPC) guides and
supports the principles of professionalism for all judges and lawyers. Its assessment
for the current fiscal year is $5 as fixed by the Court of Appeals.

What is the Client Protection Fund fiscal year and what is the amount of the current

year’'s assessments?

Both AGC, CPF and the MPC have a July 1 thru June 30 fiscal year. CPF sends a joint
assessment invoice on or about July 1 of each year to each active status Maryland
lawyer for $130 ($105 AGC, $20 CPF and $5 MPC) for the fiscal year commencing July
1.

If admitted in December you are assessed the full amount of $130 on or about
December 31 and invoiced again July 1 of the following fiscal year in the amount set
by the Court of Appeals.

Are there late fees and when are they charged?

No late fee is imposed if CPF receives payment of $130 on or before August 31. A $25
late fee will be assessed against you, for a total charge of $155, if your payment is
not RECEIVED on or before August 31.

Furthermore, if your $130 payment and/or $25 late fee is not RECEIVED in full by the
Fund on or before December 31, an additional late fee of $50 will be assessed on
any outstanding balance.

For those admitted in December your assessment payment of $130 must be received
no later than March 31, 2015 to avoid a late fee of $50 to be assessed on April 1,
2015.

What happens if my check is returned by the bank?

Any bad check to the Fund for any payment will cause an additional penalty (currently
$50) to be assessed against you and may also result in temporary suspension and loss
of your privilege to practice law in Maryland.

What excuses are accepted for late payment or non-payment of the assessments?
The CPF Regulations permit no excuse for late payment or non-payment. All invoices
are mailed by
July 1, (January 1, if a December admittee). If you do not receive same it is your
responsibility to contact us.

What does temporary suspension mean?

"Temporary Suspension"” means the entry of an Order by the Court of Appeals
prohibiting you from the practice of law in Maryland (see Rule 16-811.6) for A) failure
to provide your Social Security Number, B) failure to provide your federal tax
identification number or a statement that you have no such number, or C) failure to
pay your assessment or any related charges. The temporary suspension process
commences on or about February 15 and a thirty day notice is sent to all attorneys.
To avoid temporary suspension, compliance and/or payment must be accomplished by
the specified date.
What is my obligation for change of address and how do I accomplish this?



Rule 16-811.5(b) states, "It is your obligation to give written notice to the trustees of
every change in the lawyer’s residence address, business address, or telephone
numbers within 30 days of the change. The trustees shall have the right to rely on
the latest information received by them for all billing and other correspondence.”
Notice to the Maryland State Bar Association, Pro Bono Resource Center, Maryland
Legal Services Corporation (IOLTA), your local bar association, a newspaper or legal
directory is not notice to the Fund. Additionally, it is required that at least one of the
two addresses provided be a physical street address, PO box addresses only are
not permitted. The mailing address for change of address is Client Protection Fund,
200 Harry S. Truman Pkwy, Ste 350, Annapolis, MD 21401. You can also print a
change of address form from our website at http://www.mdcourts.gov/cpf. This form
can be sent by facsimile or mail.
If my name has changed, what should I do?
To change your name on the CPF records you must submit a written request to do so
to the Court of Appeals of Maryland. Be specific as to how you wish your name to
appear, e.g., “from Jane Anne Smith to Jane Smith Johnson” or “from Jane Anne Smith
to Jane A. Johnson,” etc. You must also include a certified (raised seal) copy of the
document that changes your name (marriage certificate, divorce decree, name change
order). Do not send your only certified copy as what you provide to them is kept for
the Court’s records. The Court will notify the Client Protection Fund of the Bar of
Maryland and the Maryland State Bar Association of your name change and their
records will be amended to reflect this change. Submit the written request to: Court
of Appeals of Maryland, Robert C. Murphy Courts of Appeal Building, 361 Rowe Blvd.,
4% Floor, Annapolis, MD 21401.
If I am no longer practicing law do I still need to pay the assessment?

If you have stopped practicing in Maryland and wish to go on Inactive/Retired Status,
which preserves your Maryland eligibility for future return to practice, but meanwhile
excuses you from annual assessments, you must do two things:

(1) Furnish a sworn affidavit of non-practice and unavailability for employment
as a Maryland lawyer (Affidavit of Inactive/Retired Status is enclosed)

AND
(2) Pay all past due assessments and charges through June 30 of the previous
fiscal year.

The original notarized Affidavit of Inactive/Retired Status must be received by the
Client Protection Fund office no later than August 31 of the current fiscal year. Upon
approval of inactive status you will receive a letter confirming same.
December admittees must complete and return the Affidavit of Inactive/Retired
Status on or before
March 31 in order to be in effect for the current fiscal year.
If I am currently a full-time judicial law clerk do I have to pay the assessment?
If you are a full time judicial law clerk, submit a letter on your respective Judge’s
letterhead informing us of your status as a judicial law clerk and duration of same.
Completion of the enclosed Affidavit of Inactive/Retired Status is not required nor is
payment of any portion of the assessment.
If I return to active practice, having been placed on inactive/retired or law clerk
status what am I required to do?
Each lawyer returning to active practice, either full or part-time or "of Counsel", must
give written notice to the Trustees, and must pay the current fiscal year’s assessment,


http://www.mdcourts.gov/cpf

without prorating. This includes law clerks entering practice, Judges returning to
practice or inactive/retired attorneys wanting to reactivate their status.

Is anyone exempt from paying into the fund?
Yes. As long as this “inactive, exempt status” is approved by their own respective
agencies - Federal and Maryland Judges, U.S Magistrates, Maryland Masters in
Chancery, Maryland Juvenile Masters, Maryland Orphan’s Court Judges, Administrative

Agency Hearing Officers, and Administrative Law Judges with the Maryland Office of
Administrative Hearings.
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