

## NOTICE OF REVISION Effective 01/01/2025

The Chief Judge of the District Court of Maryland has revised the following District Court of Maryland Administrative Regulation:

## XLIII. CIVIL PREPAYMENT AMOUNT - WORK ZONE SPEED MONITORING SYSTEMS

**By the authority vested** under Transportation Article Section 21-810 of the Annotated Code of Maryland, the amount which may be paid by any person choosing to prepay the civil penalty without appearing in the District Court of Maryland shall be:

- \$60.00 if the citation alleges that the driver of the motor vehicle exceeded the speed limit by between 12 and 15, inclusive, miles per hour;
- \$80.00 if the citation alleges that the driver of the motor vehicle exceeded the speed limit by between 16 and 19, inclusive, miles per hour;
- \$140.00 if the citation alleges that the driver of the motor vehicle exceeded the speed limit by between 20 and 29, inclusive, miles per hour;
- \$270.00 if the citation alleges that the driver of the motor vehicle exceeded the speed limit by between 30 and 39, inclusive, miles per hour; and
- \$500.00 if the citation alleges that the driver of the motor vehicle exceeded the speed limit by 40 miles per hour or more.

If a citation is for a violation recorded when workers were present in the work zone, the civil penalty shall be double the amount that would otherwise apply. Civil penalties listed above for work zone speed monitoring violations include costs.