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Domestic Violence 6:  
Enforcing or Changing a Protective Order TIP57 

 
 
Protective Orders are court orders that require one person to refrain 
from doing certain acts against another person. It’s Maryland’s version of 
a restraining order or stay-away order. The protective order process can 
be a dangerous time for a victim of domestic violence. Stay alert and find 
help at mdcourts.gov/dv or call a Maryland Court Help Center at 410-
260-1392.  

Enforcement 

 It’s a crime to violate certain conditions of a protective order. 
Those conditions usually have to do with contacting, harassing, or 
abusing someone. If you call police, they may arrest a Respondent who violates an order. You may also 
file criminal charges at a commissioner’s office. 

 If the Respondent is charged with the crime of violating a protective order, you may be asked to testify 
at their trial. If found guilty, they may be jailed for up to 90 days and fined up to $1,000. 

 When someone disobeys a court order it’s called contempt. You may file for contempt if a Respondent 
violates ANY provision of the protective order. Submit to the clerk a Petition for Contempt (Violation of 
Protective Order) or form CC-DC-DV-007. 

 At the hearing, expect to testify and present evidence. There is no specific penalty if the court finds 
someone in contempt, but a judge may order whatever is necessary to enforce a protective order. This 
may include jail time. 

 Violations of child custody provisions may be complicated. Consider speaking with a lawyer before 
taking steps to enforce custody terms. Visit mdcourt.gov/dv or mdcourts.gov/custody for legal 
resources. Or, speak to a lawyer at the Maryland Court Help Center by calling 410-260-1392.   

Modification 

 As long as a protective order has not expired, you may ask the court to modify it. That includes asking 
the court to rescind or extend it. Complete a Petition to Modify/Rescind/Extend, or form CC-DC-DV-
006.   

 The clerk will notify the Respondent and schedule a hearing within 30 days. There are specific rules 
about notice when extending a protective order. Consider talking with a lawyer.   

https://mdcourts.gov/dv
https://www.courts.state.md.us/sites/default/files/import/courtforms/joint/ccdcdv007.pdf
https://www.courts.state.md.us/sites/default/files/import/courtforms/joint/ccdcdv007.pdf
https://mdcourts.gov/dv
https://mdcourts.gov/custody
https://mdcourts.gov/sites/default/files/court-forms/courtforms/joint/ccdcdv006.pdf/ccdcdv006.pdf
https://mdcourts.gov/sites/default/files/court-forms/courtforms/joint/ccdcdv006.pdf/ccdcdv006.pdf
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