

Rent Court for Landlords Part 2: I Won in Rent Court, Now What?

Rent Court is a term used to refer to Failure to Pay Rent Cases heard in the Maryland District Court. Below are steps for landlords who won their case in rent court, meaning that the judge determined an amount of rent was due and entered judgment in your favor. This information is intended for residential property only. If your case is about commercial property, talk to a lawyer.

Step 1: File a Warrant of Restitution



- Wait until the fifth business day after trial. If the tenant has still not paid the judgment, file a <u>Warrant of Restitution (DC-CV-081)</u>. Pick up a copy from the courthouse. Copies are available online for informational purposes only and cannot be printed.
- Non-business property owners may receive help completing the form at a Maryland Court Help Center. Call 410-260-1392 or visit <u>mdcourts.gov/courthelp</u> for a list of hours and locations.
- There are two fees associated with the Warrant one fee to file, which may be paid by cash or credit, and a second fee for the cost of serving the tenant, which must be paid by check or money order. Current fee information is available by <u>calling the courthouse</u> or at <u>mdcourts.gov/courts/feeschedules</u>.

Step 2: Schedule Your Eviction

- Once you file the warrant, it will be reviewed by a judge in private. If completed correctly, the judge will sign the warrant. The court will then mail copies of the form to all parties and the sheriff or constable's office.
- When you receive your copy in the mail, contact the sheriff or constable's office to schedule your eviction.
- In most counties, you may decide whether to tell the tenant when the eviction will take place. This is not the case in Baltimore City. There the landlord must provide the tenant a <u>14-day notice by mail and</u> <u>7-day notice by posting</u> of the date and time of the eviction.

Step 3: Right of Redemption

• The right of redemption means that your tenant can stop the eviction if they pay you the amount of rent the judge determined was due, plus the court costs.



Maryland Court Help

Free. Online. In Person. By Phone.

• You cannot refuse to accept a payment from the tenant. If your tenant makes payment in full before the eviction date, then you must call the sheriff or constable's office to cancel the eviction.

Step 4: Your Responsibilities on Eviction Day

- On the eviction day, meet the sheriff or constable outside your property. They will initiate the eviction.
- The sheriff or constable's responsibilities are to remove the tenant from the property and maintain the peace.
- Your responsibilities are:
 - To gain entry to the property either by using a key or having a locksmith present;
 - To remove the tenant's belongings according to local law. In most cases, this means you must move the belongings to the side of the road. The sheriff may require you to have a moving crew present when the eviction occurs to ensure this step is completed; and
 - To change the locks once the eviction is complete.