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A "victim" is a person against whom a 
delinquent act has been committed or 
attempted. 

 
A "family member" is an individual who 
is: (1) a family member of a victim, and 
(2) listed in the court file as having 
attended the adjudication for the juvenile 
case. 

The juvenile record expungement statute 
is Maryland Code, Courts and Judicial 
Proceedings, § 3-8A-27.1. 

The juvenile record expungement Rule 
is Maryland Rule 11-506. 

If a record is expunged, it will be: 

• Obliterated; or 

• Moved to a separate and secured area 
from which those without a legitimate 
reason for access are denied access; or 

• If access to the record can be obtained 
only by reference to another court 
record or police record, by the 
expungement of it or the part of it that 
provides access. 

 
Juvenile Record Expungement 

Information for Victims and Family Members 
 

What is Juvenile Record Expungement? 
Maryland law permits a juvenile delinquency record to 
be expunged under certain circumstances. 

 
What are the grounds for juvenile record 
expungement? 
There are several factors that a judge must consider 
before granting an expungement petition (a request to 
the court to expunge a juvenile record). 

 
These factors include that: 

 
• The person requesting expungement must be at least 

18 years old, and 
 

• At least two (2) years must have passed since the last 
official action in the person's juvenile case. 

 
The grounds for juvenile record expungement are on 

the next page. 
 

What are my rights as a victim or a family member? 
Service of the petition. The court is required to have the 
expungement petition served on (given to) each victim 
and family member. 

 
Objection. Any victim or family member who objects to 
the granting of an expungement petition may file an 
objection to the petition with the court. 

 
Hearing. The court must hold a hearing on the 
expungement petition if a victim or family member files 
the objection within 30 days after the petition is served. 

 
How will I be notified if an expungement petition is filed in this case? 
If a juvenile record expungement petition is filed, the court will notify each victim and family member. 

 
********************************************************************************* 
If you want to be notified that an expungement petition is filed, please make sure that the State's Attorney 

has your full name, address and contact information. 
 

Please notify the court and the State's Attorney of any changes to your information. 
 

Contact the clerk at:   

Contact the State’s Attorney at:   
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Grounds for Juvenile Record Expungement 

Before a court can order a juvenile record expungement, the judge must: 
• Find that ANY ONE (1) of the factors listed below in (A) has occurred; and
• Find that EACH of the factors listed below in (B) has occurred; and
• Consider each of the factors listed below in (C).

A. Did ANY one (1) of the following occur in the juvenile case?
1. The State's Attorney entered a nolle prosequi;
2. The delinquency or child in need of supervision (CINS) petition was dismissed;
3. The court held an adjudicatory hearing and in that hearing, did not find that the allegations in the 

delinquency petition, CINS petition, or citation were true;
4. An adjudicatory hearing was not held within two (2) years after the delinquency petition, CINS 

petition, or citation was filed;
5. The court held a disposition hearing and in that hearing, found that the juvenile did not require 

guidance, treatment or rehabilitation; or
6. The court held a disposition hearing and in that hearing, found that the juvenile did require 

guidance, treatment or rehabilitation.

B. Is EACH of the following true about the person who filed the juvenile record expungement 
petition (petitioner)?
1. The petitioner is at least 18 years old;
2. At least two (2) years have passed since the last official action in the petitioner's juvenile record;
3. The petitioner has never been adjudicated delinquent or was only adjudicated delinquent one (1) 

time;
4. The petitioner has not subsequently been convicted of any offense;
5. No delinquency petition or criminal charge is pending against the petitioner;
6. The petitioner has not been adjudicated delinquent for an offense that, if committed by an adult, 

would constitute:
a. A crime of violence;
b. A fourth degree sexual offense; or
c. A felony;

7. The petitioner has not been required to register as a sex offender under Maryland;
8. The petitioner has not been adjudicated delinquent for an offense involving the use of a firearm in 

the commission of a crime of violence; and
9. The petitioner has fully paid any monetary restitution ordered by the court in the delinquency 

proceeding.

C. The court must consider EACH of the following:
1. The petitioner's best interests;
2. The petitioner's stability in the community; and
3. The safety of the public.

There is more information about juvenile record expungement on-line at the People's Law Library 
peoples-law.org/introduction-juvenile-record-expungement 

https://peoples-law.org/introduction-juvenile-record-expungement
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