AIS-Annual Compliance Requirements
Four yearly requirements for Maryland attorneys
To maintain a license to practice law in Maryland, attorneys must fulfill four compliance requirements every year:
- Register with and maintain current contact information in AIS. Maintaining your information includes confirming your Tax Identification Number. (Step-by-step instructions – Update Personal Details tab / TIN Reporting in AIS)
- Pay annual Client Protection Fund (CPF) assessment. (Step-by-step instructions – Pay Assessments tab in AIS)
- Report annually on pro bono activity. (Step-by-step instructions – File Pro Bono report tab in AIS)
- Report annually on IOLTA accounts. (Step-by-step instructions – File IOLTA report tab in AIS)
Failure to pay the CPF assessment or to timely complete pro bono or IOLTA reporting may result in your temporary suspension or decertification from the practice of law. For more information on the requirements and for guidance on reinstatement, see the attorney compliance requirements web page.
Upcoming important dates
For a list of all 2021-2022 dates, see Notices web page.
- July 10 (on or before): AIS-generated email sent to attorneys with compliance information.
- August 31: Deadline for submitting a notarized Affidavit of Inactive/Retired Status for the current assessment year to the Client Protection Fund of the Bar of Maryland.
- September 10 (on or about): A $25 late fee assessed to attorneys who have not paid assessments. Pro bono and IOLTA reports due.
- January 10 (on or before): A 2nd late fee of $50 assessed to attorneys who have not paid assessments.
Last updated: November 2021