E-Recording for Land Records

Order filed January 21, 2016:
In the Matter of the Implementation of Electronic Filing of Real Property Instruments in the Circuit Courts

The land records e-recording pilot was established in October 2014 as a collaborative effort by the Administrative Office of the Courts (AOC), the Baltimore County Circuit Court Clerk’s Office, Baltimore County Department of Budget and Finance, and Maryland Department of Assessments and Taxation. The pilot project started in the spring of 2015 to allow customers to electronically record, or e-record, land record documents.

On January 21, 2016, the Court of Appeals of Maryland issued an Order that there is no longer a pilot program and that Land Record E-Recording Programs may be expanded to other circuit courts.

Work to implement additional counties is underway. Currently, e-recording is available in the following circuit courts:

  • Anne Arundel
  • Baltimore County
  • Carroll County
  • Cecil County
  • Charles County
  • Harford County
  • Howard County
  • Prince George's County
  • Queen Anne's County
  • Talbot County
  • Washington County
  • Montgomery County
  • Worcester County
  • Wicomico County