For Immediate Release

Office of Communications and Public Affairs
2001-E/F Commerce Park Drive
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Maryland Court of Appeals Releases Uniform Bar Examination
(UBE) Advisory Committee Report and Invites Comment

(ANNAPOLIS, MARYLAND, October 10, 2017) – The Maryland Court of Appeals today announced it has received the report and recommendation of its Advisory Committee* to Explore the Feasibility of Maryland’s Adoption of the Uniform Bar Examination, has authorized the report’s public release, and is accepting written comments.

“This is an issue of importance to the Maryland bar,” noted Maryland Court of Appeals Chief Judge Mary Ellen Barbera.  “On behalf of the Court, I extend our appreciation and gratitude to the Advisory Committee for the rigor of the research and review undertaken and the excellent report produced.”

The report is available on the Maryland Judiciary website:

The Court of Appeals will accept written comments for a 30-day period beginning Tuesday, October 10 through Wednesday, November 8, 2017.  Written comments may be directed to the Clerk of the Court of Appeals at the following address:

Bessie Decker, Clerk of Court
Maryland Court of Appeals
Robert C. Murphy Courts of Appeal Building
361 Rowe Boulevard
Annapolis, Maryland 21401-1699

Written comments also may be emailed to the Clerk of the Court of Appeals:

For more information, visit the UBE Advisory Committee’s webpage:

# # #

*The members of the Advisory Committee are Chair, Hon. Sally D. Adkins (Court of Appeals), Hon. Christopher B. Kehoe (Court of Special Appeals), Hon. Sherrie R. Bailey (Circuit Court for Baltimore County), Sheelagh Allston, Esq., Sara H. Arthur (Maryland State Bar Association President), Jonathan Azrael, Esq. (Chair, State Board of Law Examiners), James D. Bragdon, Esq., Andrew D. Levy, Esq., Matthew T. Mills, Esq. (Member, State Board of Law Examiners), Sydney M. Patterson, Esq., Jeffrey Shipley, Esq. (Secretary to the State Board of Law Examiners), Donald B. Tobin, Esq. (Dean, University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law), Ronald Weich, Esq. (Dean, University of Baltimore School of Law).  JaCina Stanton, Esq., is the Committee’s Judiciary Staff Counsel (Administrative Office of the Courts).