May 17, 2020

Government Relations and Public Affairs
187 Harry S. Truman Parkway
Annapolis, Maryland 21401


District Court in Baltimore County (temporary Towson Courthouse location) will be closed Monday, May 18, 2020

CATONSVILLE, Md. – The temporary Towson Courthouse location for the District Court in Baltimore County, located at 1 Rolling Cross Road in Catonsville, will be closed on Monday, May 18, 2020, to allow for proper cleaning of the courthouse building.

An employee of the District Court of Maryland in Baltimore County, who works in the temporary Towson Courthouse, has tested positive for the coronavirus (COVID-19). As a result, the courthouse will be closed to essential court staff and the public on Monday, May 18. 

The Judiciary does not believe the individual had contact with members of the public. All employees and individuals believed to have contact with this individual have been notified. The Maryland Judiciary has since reported the case to the Baltimore County Department of Health, the Maryland Department of Health, and the Maryland Department of General Services.

The commissioner's office, located within the temporary Towson Courthouse in Catonsville, will remain open on Monday, May 18, to hear emergency petitions. These emergency petitions include: protective orders, peace orders, emergency evaluation, extreme risk protective orders, and applications for statements of charges. The commissioner’s office is located within the courthouse building, but it has a separate entrance for those seeking access to the commissioners.

On Monday, appropriate areas of the courthouse will be sealed and sanitized. The temporary Towson Courthouse is scheduled to re-open to essential staff on Tuesday, May 19, after it has been properly cleaned.

Maryland courts remain closed to the public through June 5, per the Fourth Amended Administrative Order Expanding Statewide Judiciary Restricted Operations Due to the COVID-19 Emergency issued on May 4. For more information about the impact on the Maryland Judiciary due to COVID-19 and the latest updates, please visit:



Nadine Maeser
Public Information Officer

Terri Charles
Asst. Public Information Officer